Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 5 - News/Spoilers/Castings etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

An Examiner article is quoted to say:

"Cast and crew members are expected to arrive on April 23 to begin filming the first episode. According to signs posted near the filming areas, there will be simulated gunfire, so the conflict won't be over in the season finale. The first episode of season five will be filmed at a train depot, which is the filming location for Terminus, the sanctuary that has been teased throughout the current season."

"Executive producers have previously revealed that Beth Greene (Emily Kinney) will not have her story resolved quickly, so that should be explained more in season five. Several new characters were introduced in season four, including Abraham Ford, Eugene Porter, Rosita Espinosa and Gareth. Rosita, Abraham and Eugene are expected to be series regulars for season five, and it's possible Gareth will be as well, since producers have given the character the option after having a small but important role in the season four finale."

http://www.examiner.com/article/the-walking-dead-new-details-for-season-5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

^^ From above, hardly much of a surprise, three actors promoted to series regulars for season 5;
    The Hollywood Reporter has the news about Andrew J West's (Gareth - ringleader of the maybe-cannibals at Terminus) promotion, and also reveals that Alanna Masterson (Tara) and Christian Serratos (Rosita) have been upgraded to series regulars as well. Michael Cudlitz and Josh McDermitt, who play Rosita's companions Abraham and Eugene, joined as regulars during Season 4 and will remain so next season.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Ergh, not exactly overjoyed to hear Alanna Masterson is returning as a regular; she has been the weak link, acting wise, throughout her appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

pixelburp wrote: »
    Ergh, not exactly overjoyed to hear Alanna Masterson is returning as a regular; she has been the weak link, acting wise, throughout her appearances.

Jaysus, give her a break - she's hardly been in the series a wet day and only had a handful of lines so far.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

What does it matter how many episodes she has been in? She has been a prominent enough side character so far, and whether it be her or the script, her performances have been pretty poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

I thought she was fine in the first half of season 4. A mouthy and defiant type which the show didn't really have, not in a female anyway.

But in the 2nd half of the season they just didn't give her all that much other than following Glenn around like a depressed puppy. The life was just sucked out of the character, which is understandable I suppose given the trauma she went through.

Really not the actress' fault IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

pixelburp wrote: »
    What does it matter how many episodes she has been in? She has been a prominent enough side character so far, and whether it be her or the script, her performances have been pretty poor.

My bad. I googled her name and the first image (in the News section) that came back was that of Rosita, and I thought that's who you were referring to. Turns out it was Tara and I sort of agree with you :)

It would have been unfair to lay such a claim against Rosita's character, mind

The first official poster from AMC for season 5;

walking%20dead%20season%205%20poster.jpg

Interesting little article here;
    [TV] Walking Dead Showrunner Scott M. Gimple Says Seasons Five And Six Are Planned Out
    Posted by Joseph Lee on 04.02.2014

They know what will happen...

In an interview with Yahoo, The Walking Dead showrunner Scott M. Gimple said that the producers and writers of the series already know what's going to happen through season six. Here are highlights:

On writing the next season: "Yes, since January. I basically was off for Christmas week, but working on the show in some capacity, whether it be closing Season 4 or planning for Season 5 pretty much straight through."

On Terminus: "Yeah, I mean, those candles are lit. If the candles weren't lit and the place was in disrepair, maybe that would be something from the past. But it's obviously some sort of operating memorial, which, of course, just like you said, if these guys are such villains, why does it look like something bad happened to them?"

On how long into season five the motives of Terminus are revealed: "Extremely, extremely quickly. Yeah. I mean, the storyline, that was always the plan. There are kind of plans… whereas we have a pretty good handle on Season 5, we have a fairly good handle on Season 6, too. It's not a great deal of detail for Season 6, but a lot of general stuff for Season 6 is known. And that was the same deal with Season 4, [having a plan going] for Season 5. So as far as Terminus goes, we wanted to get right to a lot of the answers pretty quickly. But I think savvy audience members would know that, too, because it would be bananas to make people wait seven months and then be like, "Hey, hold on another couple episodes." I don't think I'm being shocking by saying that."

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,958 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Looks like Morgan might be back, brilliant news!

http://television.cosmicbooknews.com/content/lennie-james-return-morgan-walking-dead-more-season-5-teases-video
    The Walking Dead showrunner Scott Gimple recently had a sit down with Larry King where the two discussed the series and what is to come.
    Among the more interesting things Gimple had to say is that fan-favorite character Morgan, played by Lennie James, will return to The Walking Dead.
    "I am so determined to make that happen by hook and by crook I can say definitively yes."
    Gimple also offered the following teasers for The Walking Dead Season 5:
    Season 5 looks to pick up right where season 4 left off.
    We'll find out what happened to Beth in season 5: "absolutely."
    Regarding the comics, the show will be a remix of specific content and inspired content.
    Season 5 will be more action heavy.
    Gimple answered "yes" to the question of another romance in season 5 other than Glenn and Maggie.
    Check out more in the following video with Scott Gimple and Larry King talking The Walking Dead.

Read more at http://television.cosmicbooknews.com/content/lennie-james-return-morgan-walking-dead-more-season-5-teases-video#OPSTxpezk2epVwVu.99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Looks like Morgan might be back, brilliant news!
    Fair play to Morgan if he has managed to last this long on his own. I hope for his sake he managed to team up with some people and become a bit more sociable. Last time we saw him he was bordering on psychosis. Being isolated for all that time couldn't have improved his mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭rule supreme

Im surprised he hasnt had a bigger part to play in it so far , always liked his character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,007 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

AMC's The Walking Dead is adding another Wire alum to its cast.

Seth Gilliam has boarded the zombie series as a series regular for its upcoming fifth season Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭mafaa

A better video of the one posted above and extra video too;

AMC are having a Walking Dead marathon for the July 4th weekend airing every single episode and finishing off with a Talking Dead Season 5 Preview show;

So the Talking Dead Preview Show aired last night.
    'The Walking Dead' Season 5: What we learned from AMC's 'Talking Dead' preview

We won't have to wait long to find out what happened to Beth

When we last saw Beth, she was getting kidnapped outside of the funeral home she and Daryl were staying in. Someone we didn't see took Beth away in a car. Fans have speculated that Beth was abducted by Gabriel Stokes, who is a well-known character from the comic book that may be played by "The Wire" alumni Seth Gilliam during the next season. Gimple would not directly respond to Hardwick asking whether Beth is alive or not. However, he did say we wouldn't have to wait long to find out. "Beth's story, whatever it is, will be told," said Gimple. "That question will not linger."

The funeral home Beth and Daryl were in has a backstory

Gimple said the script for the episode where Beth is kidnapped (titled "Alone") originally involved a backstory about an old man who owned the funeral home that died when he was unable to get his Nitroglycerin medication. Gimple said the script was too epic to actually film those scenes.

Everyone will get a shot at some action

Straight from Hardwick's interview with Lauren Cohan (aka Maggie Greene): "You'll see members of the group you didn't know were badass get to be badass." Cohan's words fall in line with a behind the scenes preview released last week that promised Season 5 will feature more action than we can handle.

Terminus = Star Wars, kind of

Gimple got all uber-geek during the "Talking Dead" preview and compared the origins of the people at Terminus to a twist of fate element that is like "Star Wars." Gimple's story suggested that Luke Skywalker could have easily been a Stormtrooper had things gone a little differently. Similarly, anyone from Rick's crew could have wound up like the cannibals at Terminus had things gone another way. Also, it's worth noting that Gimple and company modeled the outfit of Mary, the barbecue queen of Terminus, after Luke Skywalker's aunt Beru's dress. And we know what happens to Beru.

Gareth is a mirror image of Rick

During his interview with Hardwick, Andrew J. West, who plays Terminus leader Gareth, called his character a "real human" who we will get a more in depth look at. "He falls way more towards the Rick character or even Glenn [than The Governor]. He's a way more normal guy who's just trying to survive." I should say that an actor's interpretation of their character can be misleading, or as Chris Hardwick said: "[West] is way too articulate. I do not trust him."

The cast and crew laugh at our "Walking Dead" obsession

The show runners said they get a kick out of the supposed spoilers that hit the Internet on a weekly basis. Some of the favorite (false) rumors include John Hamm appearing as a character and that the show is going to kill off its current cast and restart with a new one.

Negan is coming

Gimple let it slip (casually) that Negan, one of the most ruthless villains from Robert Kirkman's comic book will "eventually" appear on the television show (but probably not this season)

Link

The Walking Dead Season 5 Official Teaser #1 (HD)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

NUTZZ wrote: »
    The Walking Dead Season 5 Official Teaser #1 (HD)

carol drawing a herd towards terminus perhaps ?

New artwork released from AMC;

walking-dead_2000x696.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Perkinstock

cant wait for the season 5 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Tyler Williams has joined the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

Tyler Williams has joined the show.

but he wasn't even in the Wire! ;)

Just in case people didn't know already;

* The Walking Dead season five starts in the US on Sunday the 12th of October, and in the UK on Monday the 13th of October on FOX at 9PM.

* Season 5 will consist of 16 episodes and like Season 4 it will be aired in two parts.

And a new trailer has been released;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

I'd nearly forgotten about the show until I saw these guys at the Santa Monica pier at the weekend.Oh yeah bring it on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Looking forward to this being back, nothing really appealed to me since this and game of thrones ended months ago

nuxxx wrote: »
    Looking forward to this being back, nothing really appealed to me since this and game of thrones ended months ago

Have you watched Z Nation? It's actually a lot better than I thought it would be.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I went to acquire the first episode earlier as I was sure it started back last night. I was really annoyed to find out it wasn't. Must get the Z nation stuff going as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Never heard of Z Nation

*googles*

The Walking Dead has been renewed for a 6th season;
    Days before season five is set to premiere, AMC has granted an early but not surprising renewal to TV's No. 1 drama, The Walking Dead.

The zombie drama based on the comics created by Robert Kirkman will be back for a sixth season, though an exact episode count has not yet been revealed.

"We could not be more excited for Oct. 12 as we share new episodes of The Walking Dead with fans around the globe,” AMC president Charlie Collier said. “In advance of Sunday’s season five premiere, AMC proudly confirms a sixth season order of this extraordinary series. Thank you to Robert Kirkman, Scott Gimple, the terrific executive producers, and the entire team who bring this compelling world and these rich characters to life. There’s plenty more Dead ahead thanks to their impressive, collective effort."

Walking Dead has proven such a hit for AMC that the network is teaming with Kirkman for a second series. The network in September officially ordered its Walking Dead companion series — eyed for 2015 — to pilot. Details are slim about the premise of the project, but it is expected to chronicle the early days of the zombie apocalypse, sources tell THR.

Link

The Walking Dead Season 5 - February 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Was that trailer supposed to create excitement ?

Not particularly, its more of an artistic teaser than a full trailer of the remaining season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

NUTZZ wrote: »
    Not particularly, its more of an artistic teaser than a full trailer of the remaining season.

I wouldn't call it a a teaser either. Just looks like somebody went "eh let's just do a shooting trailer in a forest."

Product placement for National rifle association. :D
    terrible trailer :(
    That cost them about 1.3 million viewers. :rolleyes:

Not a teaser it was filmed after the season finale. Hence Lincoln wearing a fake beard in it

season 5b poster
    the-walking-dead-season-5-new-key-art-2015.jpg

AMC also released a description on the back half along with the poster.
    "After the tragic events of the mid-season finale -- as well as losing the possibility of a cure in Washington, DC -- Rick Grimes' band of survivors find themselves on the road, surviving day-to-day and trying to hold on to their shredded humanity and dwindling hope. Stripped of security and without a direction for the future, some of the group near their breaking point, some find themselves hardened and cold and some just try to grasp onto what little they have left," AMC's description read. "Though they are still breathing, the line between Rick's group and the dead is starting to blur. Could there be anything at this point that brings them back to life?"

The Walking Dead Adds New Series Regular
    The Walking Dead has added yet another series regular, as Ross Marquand is set to join the cast.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, Marquand (Down and Dangerous) will appear in AMC's hit zombie series sometime in the second half of Season 5, and will likely return for The Walking Dead's previously announced sixth season.

While AMC isn't ready to share details on Marquand's character, early speculation suggests that he may play Aaron, an Alexandria resident from The Walking Dead comic series. It's a safe bet as the series' creator, Robert Kirkman, said they'll be introducing a "very prominent gay character from the comic" in the second half of Season 5.

American Horror Story's Alexandra Breckenridge is also set to appear sometime during Season 5.

Ross-Marquand.jpg

Trailer: Another Day: The Walking Dead: Season 5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Can't wait - I heard there's gonna be lots of close up shots of zombies being stabbed/shot/arrowed in the head/face ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭tomo536

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    AMC has renewed for a fifth season Source
    when is season 6 starting?

tomo536 wrote: »

They haven't even started airing the second part of Season 5 yet so there has been no date announced obviously for Season 6. The seasons have premiered every October previously so it will more than likely continue for Season 6.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

tomo536 wrote: »

The second half of season 5 airs Feb 8th in the US, 9th over here.

Jordan Woods-Robinson should appear as Eric tonight according to The Spoiling Dead Fans forum who are very reliable. Be careful though they have a summary for tonights episode. They also have promised more casting information Monday or Tuesday. I will try and keep things updated here.

The Walking Dead’s season five finale will be an extended 90-minute episode airing March 29 at 9 p.m., AMC announced Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭polydactyl

Wasn't sure where else to put this :) I think it applies to fathers too!

http://www.scarymommy.com/ways-motherhood-like-walking-dead/

Whole hape of newbies tonight. Michael Traynor is Nicholas, Breckenridge is Jessie, Major Dodson is Sam; Deanna, Enid, Pete, Olivia and a son of Deanna are all on the show. I can't remember them all. Check the TSDF forum but be careful theres a full episode summary. I think ____ Brill is Pete and ______ Mahoney (must have Irish?) is Olivia......Jessica Szhor and Austin Nichols also expected to appear before season end if not tonight.

Apparently could be 24 characters in 5B..