Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thought Gardai were meant to protect people !!!!

• 27-10-2013 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

I live beside noisy neighbours and have lived here for numerous years and they just moved in .They have made my life hell .I complained the other day through corrospondence and they came to my door and almost banged it down for me to answer,they were drunk when my little boy was with me and screamed in my face that i get hurt if i ever went near them again .My little boy was crying and frightned for his mammy .I closed door on them and in shock rang the guards who came and told them the whole story,they said they would caution her .All my neighbours heard it and called to see if i was ok.A short time after i was coming out of my neighbours house and they were at there door and started calling me and my son who was in my arms, who was so upset disgusting names .I went inside my home and the guards came back and said they rang them and said i was abusing them and my little son was terrified yet again so the guards said 'Sure were getting different stories i think the best thing is have ye all done for breach of peace and let the judge decide.I kept saying i did nothing and the neighbours witnessed all this i was crying my eyes out i said i was afraid that they were all drinking in there and they were going to attack me and my child again and the gaurds said we wont be coming back here again and walked out!!I am terrified and my son had to be taking out of school the next day because he was crying saying the bad people were going to kill his mammy .These people are well known to gardai where as i have never been in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

You could write a letter to the local Garda Superintendent, outlining the problem.

If you need assistance with this or if you need legal advice, go to the legal aid board unless you want to go through a private solicitor.

Also see this article.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

1. Start keeping a diary of their anti social behaviour.
    2. Contact someone in authority at the Garda station, not some young inexperienced or lazy Garda who doesn't want to get involved
    3. If you are in local authority or housing agency homes make a complaint there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭princess 11

Interesting article thanks for sending link their house is local authority mine isn't .I contacted the superindentants office the next day and was told by a garda that' they would find that hard to believe' my god i am totally disgusted and feel like i am a criminal.I also contacted housing and they want a written statement and they they will call them for an interview.im afraid to this because of the retaliation .Lots of the neighbours complained the next day.Im just going to go its not worth it my son is terrified to go out to play now and is very jumpy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

I'm disgusted reading your story by how you've been treated. When the gardai are unhelpful I'm not so sure what your best options are, I'm just surprised there not willing to believe you given the record of who your dealing with.

I'd consider moving or otherwise keep the head down till you find a way to deal with this. I hope you get this sorted soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

colly10 wrote: »
    I'm disgusted reading your story by how you've been treated. When the gardai are unhelpful I'm not so sure what your best options are, I'm just surprised there not willing to believe you given the record of who your dealing with.

I'd consider moving or otherwise keep the head down till you find a way to deal with this. I hope you get this sorted soon

I am not saying the OP is wrong, but remember that AGS hear both sides of the story, I can assure you that the trouble makers have given a totally different version of events, AGS are not judges their job is to investigate the matter and present the evidence to the Court.

To the OP, this is a standard way to deal with these issues, you have nothing to fear. If a summons issues, get a solicitor. In the meantime get all the neighbours who witnessed the event to make a statement. If the matter ever ends up in court your evidence from the neighbours should back your version of events. The judge will more than likely give the other person a warning which should help sort out the matter, also a conviction will give the local authority ammunition.

It may also be an idea to look into mediation to try and stop this matter getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭doublej

infosys wrote: »
    I am not saying the OP is wrong, but remember that AGS hear both sides of the story, I can assure you that the trouble makers have given a totally different version of events, AGS are not judges their job is to investigate the matter and present the evidence to the Court.

To the OP, this is a standard way to deal with these issues, you have nothing to fear. If a summons issues, get a solicitor. In the meantime get all the neighbours who witnessed the event to make a statement. If the matter ever ends up in court your evidence from the neighbours should back your version of events. The judge will more than likely give the other person a warning which should help sort out the matter, also a conviction will give the local authority ammunition.

It may also be an idea to look into mediation to try and stop this matter getting worse.

Why does anyone think that pussyfooting about with anti- social behaviour is the correct response, particularly in a domestic environment.
    The OP and her child are entitled to live in their home and it's surrounding neighbourhood in peace.
    She complained about excessive noise levels and get vile abuse and threats and all we as a society can suggest is a series of measures that won't affect the core problem, the neighbours from Hell.
    This bullying will escalate and the bullies will continue to upset all around them because it's not nipped in the bud.
    Court appearances would frighten many law abiding individuals but don't concern the hardcore anti social elements.
    If they don't live by the rules , they must pay the cost, even when the cost hurts their offspring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

doublej wrote: »
    Why does anyone think that pussyfooting about with anti- social behaviour is the correct response, particularly in a domestic environment.
    The OP and her child are entitled to live in their home and it's surrounding neighbourhood in peace.
    She complained about excessive noise levels and get vile abuse and threats and all we as a society can suggest is a series of measures that won't affect the core problem, the neighbours from Hell.
    This bullying will escalate and the bullies will continue to upset all around them because it's not nipped in the bud.
    Court appearances would frighten many law abiding individuals but don't concern the hardcore anti social elements.
    If they don't live by the rules , they must pay the cost, even when the cost hurts their offspring.

We and AGS only have the OP's story, from what the OP has said AGS have received a complaint about the OP. In the OP's favour their are independent witnesses who can be called to give evidence.

You say that court does not frighten the anti social element, if that is the case what is the solution, I have seen many such incidents sorted by bringing everyone into court.

BTW where did I say anyone is pussyfooting around. I said to the OP to get legal assistance, to gather the evidence against the other party and to present their evidence in court,what is the other solution. I also said mediation might help, if the other party refuse again more evidence for the LA at least of their behaviour.

The point I am making is not directed at your advice but that as a society we are not taking a zero tolerance approach when it comes to anti social behaviour.
    There are numerous instances of today's criminal families having created a living hell for their law abiding neighbours who either left their homes or ended up completely shattered.
    Local Authorities are frequently housing families that refuse to adhere to social mores and norms. Intervention at earliest stages of deviation from letting agreements would show that bad behaviour will not be tolerated.
    The trouble is that in most cases, court and / or eviction consideration is too late in the action lines which allows far too much time for mischief,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Interesting article thanks for sending link their house is local authority mine isn't .I contacted the superindentants office the next day and was told by a garda that' they would find that hard to believe' my god i am totally disgusted and feel like i am a criminal.I also contacted housing and they want a written statement and they they will call them for an interview.im afraid to this because of the retaliation .Lots of the neighbours complained the next day.Im just going to go its not worth it my son is terrified to go out to play now and is very jumpy.

This story disgusts me. If we cant rely on the law of the state to protect us and our families what are we supposed to do? You can be sure if we take the law into our own hands that we will be prosecuted. Your neighbours probably know very little will be done and at worst they will be rehoused so its no skin off their noses.

When you got through to the superintendents office was it the super who you spoke to or some random garda? If it wasnt the superintendent then insist you speak to him/her. You could also try a local td. If you have a good one they might get the ball rolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

The worst feature of new boards is the trending thread function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭234

The point I am making is not directed at your advice but that as a society we are not taking a zero tolerance approach when it comes to anti social behaviour.
    There are numerous instances of today's criminal families having created a living hell for their law abiding neighbours who either left their homes or ended up completely shattered.
    Local Authorities are frequently housing families that refuse to adhere to social mores and norms. Intervention at earliest stages of deviation from letting agreements would show that bad behaviour will not be tolerated.
    The trouble is that in most cases, court and / or eviction consideration is too late in the action lines which allows far too much time for mischief,

A zero tolerance approach can have disastrous consequences. Just look at the UK where they are risking taking this to the extreme.

There will always be some friction when living in close proximity to others and there are mechanisms to resolve this. They can certainly be improved, but zero tolerance is not the solution. One person's interpretation of what is anti-social can differ from another's and zero tolerance means that the complaining party is always right.

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2013/oct/13/asbo-ipna-punish-children-unnecessarily

234 wrote: »
    A zero tolerance approach can have disastrous consequences. Just look at the UK where they are risking taking this to the extreme.

There will always be some friction when living in close proximity to others and there are mechanisms to resolve this. They can certainly be improved, but zero tolerance is not the solution. One person's interpretation of what is anti-social can differ from another's and zero tolerance means that the complaining party is always right.

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2013/oct/13/asbo-ipna-punish-children-unnecessarily

This is the type of liberal approach that allowed the "feuding families" run amok in their Limerick neighborhoods 15 years ago and society has had to pick up the consequences ever since.
    A zero tolerance approach is not a Charter for busybodies or sensitive dispositions; it is a line drawn where those who transgress will have to face the consequences.
    The rules for harmonious living are not too onerous and are not restrictive of individual liberties; they are there for everyone's benefit, including children.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭McCongo

You need to write to the Superintendent. Making phone calls is a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭234

This is the type of liberal approach that allowed the "feuding families" run amok in their Limerick neighborhoods 15 years ago and society has had to pick up the consequences ever since.
    A zero tolerance approach is not a Charter for busybodies or sensitive dispositions; it is a line drawn where those who transgress will have to face the consequences.
    The rules for harmonious living are not too onerous and are not restrictive of individual liberties; they are there for everyone's benefit, including children.

The problem is that you can't define every action that constitutes anti-social behaviour, so you set a standard that involves making a judgment call.

Once you create a system that is focused on the elimination of anti-social behaviour people only look at things in those terms. Neighbourhood issues become cast in the language of anti-social behaviour and people's first resort is to react in those terms.

Conduct that was previously considered acceptable, or just one of the mildly irritating incidentals of living in a built-up area is then redefined as anti-social and people react accordingly.

Don't misunderstand, I don't believe that people should be let away with everything they want, but the whole scheme of anti-social behaviour is deeply divisive and encourages an aggressive system of blaming rather than working to a mutually acceptable solution. It also has the unfortunate side-effect of creating a sub-class of people labelled as anti-social, usually from an young age, perpetuating the patterns of conduct that we were trying to eliminate in the first place.

Do people need an effective solution to deal with aggressive/bad/noisy/dangerous neighbours? Yes. Is the concept of punishing anti-social behaviour the answer? No.

Hi well since i last posted im still here in same house with ongoing problems next door ,ive exhausted every avenue tds,council,gardai,doctors letters etc.Most nights i have to just leave the house with my child and sit in a carpark somewhere until i can go home to bed.its gotton worse since i complained i have been nearly run off the road by member of the family but guards say nothing they can do no proof.Its starting to affect me very badly now anyhow reason im writing here is a voluntary worker rang the gardai the other night and the guards were only at the house calming a violent fight down they just dont care, anyhow the woman was only trying to help me and was asking Gardai is there nothing they can do to help and when the worker said my name the reply she got was "sure that one is not the full shilling" meaning me.I rang the guard in question later that nite and he denied it but the next day the voluntry worker got a call from his seargant saying the garda admitted he said it and was sorry and he doesn't know what came over him! I have received no apology and it was me that he slandered. I do suffer from depression due to Horrific childhood abuse but im not mad .Does anyone have any advice please as how to handle this on top of everything it is very upsetting.Thank you

I take it you've written rather than ringing the various authorities you have mentioned. I also take it you've not heard back from the PRTB (I assume next door are renting). Please correct any assumptions in the above, I also assume you own the house you live in as the simple solution if you are renting is simply to move.

Start building documentary evidence. Get CCTV installed and ensure it is only overlooking your property, a dash cam for the car if they are trying to run you off the road.

Re-approach the various authorities in writing, asking for a written responce. Write to the local Garda superintendent about the issues, I wouldn't name the guard directly, but I would point out the Sergent dealt informally with an issue you had and leave it at that. Make a formal complaint and you will engender resentment, leave it informal and you might generate some goodwill.

This has to be said at this point and I'm sorry - you clearly have some issues, have you sought help? Could it be that you are doing something unintentionally or are particularly sensitive? Speak to your GP.

If everything else fails you will need to approach a solicitor armed with all the evidence to seek an injunction. This may be a costly process but is perhaps your only option. The more evidence you have the better.

EDIT: Just saw there that ytou're getting the brush off from the superintendent, if you have it in writing make a complaint to the Garda ombudsman.

Bepolite wrote: »
    I take it you've written rather than ringing the various authorities you have mentioned. I also take it you've not heard back from the PRTB (I assume next door are renting). Please correct any assumptions in the above, I also assume you own the house you live in as the simple solution if you are renting is simply to move.

Start building documentary evidence. Get CCTV installed and ensure it is only overlooking your property, a dash cam for the car if they are trying to run you off the road.

Re-approach the various authorities in writing, asking for a written responce. Write to the local Garda superintendent about the issues, I wouldn't name the guard directly, but I would point out the Sergent dealt informally with an issue you had and leave it at that. Make a formal complaint and you will engender resentment, leave it informal and you might generate some goodwill.

This has to be said at this point and I'm sorry - you clearly have some issues, have you sought help? Could it be that you are doing something unintentionally or are particularly sensitive? Speak to your GP.

If everything else fails you will need to approach a solicitor armed with all the evidence to seek an injunction. This may be a costly process but is perhaps your only option. The more evidence you have the better.

EDIT: Just saw there that ytou're getting the brush off from the superintendent, if you have it in writing make a complaint to the Garda ombudsman.
    Yes i have written to council and they gave them a warning i do not have the option of moving and have been quite happy here for a number of years before they moved in im sorry i don't appreciate your comments that i clearly have issues alot of people suffer from depression through no fault of there own but does that give the guards any right to make throw away comments about me?I only came on here to look for some advice.

I'm making a dispassionate and detached objective view of the facts as presented. I don't mean to cause offense but if you're looking for sympathy (which I do have for you) you're posting in the wrong forum - my suggestion would be to ask a mod to move this to personal issues.

I have first hand experience of depression and I know that sometimes you need to be told to look inwards. If you're renting/not tied to the property and the situation is as bad as you claim then adopting the 'I was here first' mentality is simply pig-headed. You need to consider what is best for the welfare of your child and your own state of health.

It's not fair but it's the most expedient solution. If you can't move then I have outlined how to proceed, pick to do all, some or none of it - that is your decision. Eitherway you need to keep writing (not any-other form of communication) and you need to build a file of evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

McCongo wrote: »
    You need to write to the Superintendent. Making phone calls is a waste of time.

Contact the Superintendents office. Ask for an appointment with him/her to discuss the problem and say that you are very disappointed with the Garda response to date. Inform them that in the absence of proper Garda action that you will be obliged to report it to the Garda Ombudsman.
    Keep a record of every incident with the neighbours and the Garda response when reported.

Yes i have written to council

Did you write a letter to the local Garda Superintendent?

Hi i rang the superintendants office to look for his name but was told it had to be reported to the seargant of the local garda station in question but as i said he rang the voluntary worker only yesterday and told her that garda was sorry but i got no apoligy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭bisset

If you look up the station on the garda website you will find the name of the superintendent. Good Luck

Bepolite wrote: »
    I'm making a dispassionate and detached objective view of the facts as presented. I don't mean to cause offense but if you're looking for sympathy (which I do have for you) you're posting in the wrong forum - my suggestion would be to ask a mod to move this to personal issues.

I have first hand experience of depression and I know that sometimes you need to be told to look inwards. If you're renting/not tied to the property and the situation is as bad as you claim then adopting the 'I was here first' mentality is simply pig-headed. You need to consider what is best for the welfare of your child and your own state of health.

It's not fair but it's the most expedient solution. If you can't move then I have outlined how to proceed, pick to do all, some or none of it - that is your decision. Eitherway you need to keep writing (not any-other form of communication) and you need to build a file of evidence.
    thanks for your good advice Bepolite but i have to state that 1. I am not looking for sympathy as it doesn't solve anything 2. Dig deep you say as my counsellor always has said she has never seen a girl who has to dig deep for so long for strenght and to brush myself off and carry on where others would have crumbled,3.I only stated i lived here for so long to show you its not me thats causing trouble and my neighbours would vouch for that im not pigheaded if i could get a house in the morning id be gone for both our sakes but the rents have gone sky high again and the rent allowance gone down and the council have no houses or so there saying to the tds that have written to them on my behalf and believe me ive contacted focus ireland.left my name and number in all the estate agents,put ads up everywhere and ill keep trying.the only point im trying to make here is the council are not doing there job properly or the gardai.These people have been thrown out of every house they have rented and are well known to the gardai and then they get handed a council house and are still causing trouble .

Hi i rang the superintendants office to look for his name but was told it had to be reported to the seargant of the local garda station in question but as i said he rang the voluntary worker only yesterday and told her that garda was sorry but i got no apoligy ?

The major issue is the antisocial neighbours, and cooperation from the guards would be very useful in sorting that problem.

The letter can be addressed to The Superintendent, An Garda Siochana, Garda Station, (Location of Garda Station).

When things have gone this long without any headway being made, you are going to have to call in the cavalry. At this stage, I would say that you need a solicitor. You should make an appointment to see a solicitor, whether it's the Legal Aid Board or a private solicitor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

In a nutshell what is it you want to happen?

Do you want this family kicked out?

Do you want them to just leave you alone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Call Lugs Brannigan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 fish_freak

you need " pull " with AGS to sort out issues like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

fish_freak wrote: »

Bull
    I am married to a cop and we got harassed by neighbours for 4 years before we got them evicted via the PTRB
    Gardaí can do little in our case as it wasn't a HSE/Council renting but in the OP's case build a mountain of paperwork and get down to the council housing office & drown them in paper
    Complaints made to Gardai
    Statements from neighbours
    A diary detailing events
    Anything else you can drum up...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 fish_freak

angelfire9 wrote: »
    Bull
    I am married to a cop and we got harassed by neighbours for 4 years before we got them evicted via the PTRB
    Gardaí can do little in our case as it wasn't a HSE/Council renting but in the OP's case build a mountain of paperwork and get down to the council housing office & drown them in paper
    A diary detailing events

I couldn't care less about your vulgar dismissal or who your husband is , , i was adressing the OP ,I know plenty about AGS and I know that that org is rife with politics

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

fish_freak wrote: »

Why would a Garda arrest the alleged noisey neighbour. Or enter their house. Or do anything else illegal just because princess had " pull ". Or had made a phone call, sent a letter or despatched a messanger pigeon to the Superintendent. It's the Garda that would be sued or prosecuted for acting illegally. Not the Superintendent, not fish freak, not the pull.

So why would they? In any circumstances?

J K wrote: »

Why might Gardai prosecute? The reason that they might is that the OP has described a situation in which crimes have been committed; threats of assault, for starters.

It appears that Gardai have received conflicting accounts from the respective parties. This may explain reticence in dealing with the matter so far.

If the OP wants Gardai to investigate the matter thoroughly in the circumstances, it would make sense to write to the local Garda Superintendent, at this stage.
    I live beside noisy neighbours and have lived here for numerous years and they just moved in .They have made my life hell .I complained the other day through corrospondence and they came to my door and almost banged it down for me to answer,they were drunk when my little boy was with me and screamed in my face that i get hurt if i ever went near them again .My little boy was crying and frightned for his mammy .I closed door on them and in shock rang the guards who came and told them the whole story,they said they would caution her .All my neighbours heard it and called to see if i was ok.A short time after i was coming out of my neighbours house and they were at there door and started calling me and my son who was in my arms, who was so upset disgusting names .I went inside my home and the guards came back and said they rang them and said i was abusing them and my little son was terrified yet again so the guards said 'Sure were getting different stories i think the best thing is have ye all done for breach of peace and let the judge decide.I kept saying i did nothing and the neighbours witnessed all this i was crying my eyes out i said i was afraid that they were all drinking in there and they were going to attack me and my child again and the gaurds said we wont be coming back here again and walked out!!I am terrified and my son had to be taking out of school the next day because he was crying saying the bad people were going to kill his mammy .These people are well known to gardai where as i have never been in trouble.

The major issue is the antisocial neighbours, and cooperation from the guards would be very useful in sorting that problem.

The letter can be addressed to The Superintendent, An Garda Siochana, Garda Station, (Location of Garda Station).

When things have gone this long without any headway being made, you are going to have to call in the cavalry. At this stage, I would say that you need a solicitor. You should make an appointment to see a solicitor, whether it's the Legal Aid Board or a private solicitor.
    Your right my gp said to me that this seems to be the only option left because it has gone on for so long and is starting to really affect me and my child thank you The Mustard

J K wrote: »
    Why would a Garda arrest the alleged noisey neighbour. Or enter their house. Or do anything else illegal just because princess had " pull ". Or had made a phone call, sent a letter or despatched a messanger pigeon to the Superintendent. It's the Garda that would be sued or prosecuted for acting illegally. Not the Superintendent, not fish freak, not the pull.

I disagree with you totally of course the gardai should be doing something when there attacking and threatning women and children in their own home when there getting members of their family to drive at your car with a child in it when not so long ago there was war at 3pm in the morning after a drink and drugs session which resulted in one of them slashing another with a knife and my child shaking and crying terrified listening to that !!!

angelfire9 wrote: »
    Bull
    A diary detailing events
    Thanks Angel Fire im doing all of the above you must know how it feels to be in this situation i was just wondering what you thought of the gardas insulting remarks made about me and then denying it and then ringing his seargeant at home the same night and admitted it but no one has cared to ring me and say im sorry for calling you ' Not the full shilling ' to a volunteer from an organisation ?? I dont even know the guard in question have never needed to go near a station until they moved in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Prince 11, if you are making a complaint to the Garda it is important that you get a incident or pulse number from them.

Here's how Waterford city council deals with anti-social behaviour:

http://www.waterfordcity.ie/departments/housing/anti-social-behaviour.htm

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    Prince 11, if you are making a complaint to the Garda it is important that you get a incident or pulse number from them.

Here's how Waterford city council deals with anti-social behaviour:

http://www.waterfordcity.ie/departments/housing/anti-social-behaviour.htm
    Thank you i spoke to a free legal advice centre in Dublin this morning and they have pointed me in the Direction of a soliciter at this stage after seding in my records that i have kept got a call this morning from the person that deals with anti social behaviour to be meet with comments like "Sure what do you expect me to do if i contact them they will just deny it and then for him to sneer at me and say " your so worried about your child why haven't you moved ". I explained that they have no house for me and its proving impossible to find private rented that i can afford and i have been trying day in day out . Sure its easy to pass the book on to me so they do not have to deal with the problem !

I don't know if the person with whom you spoke was a solicitor. A solicitor will usually meet a client and take details from them before giving any advice.

FLAC offers free legal advice when people call in to the volunteer solicitors and barristers who work there in the evening. There is no telephone FLAC service as far as I know. FLAC is operated by the Citizens' Advice Centres. It sounds like you may have spoken to somebody in a Citizens' Advice Centre.

What I had suggested to you was that you should maybe contact the Legal Aid Board to see a solicitor. There is usually a means test and a waiting list before you would expect to see a solicitor. You can ask about the length of the waiting list. There isn't going to be someone who is dedicated to deal with anti social behaviour alone. What you could ask is if they will draft a letter of complaint to the Garda Superintendent on your behalf, and if necessary, represent you in relation to the PRTB matter.

What you need to do is to contact the Legal Aid Board now (not FLAC, not citizens' advice, not the Council.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

If you wait for a legal Aid Solicitor you will be waiting a long long time. By the time you have the application forms filled in and details of your services recorded you are then put on a waiting list.
    This list could be twelve months to eighteen months long and only then will a solicitor, after you have paid over a minimum of €40.00 to a maximum of €130.00, look at the merits of your case.
    Writing to the local Superintendant as such is not the best solution. Write a registered letter to the Commissioner; send the same letter to the Chief Superintendent and the Superintendant.
    There is a paper trail with a registered letter.

Briefly outline the situation and the efforts you have made and tell them that you want to makea statement on the matter.
    You could also insist that they take a complaint in writing on the official complaint form for the attention of the Garda Ombudsman and bear in mind the time limits that apply.
    That is assuming that you are correct in what you are posting and do not take this as legal advice as it is not. That is a matter for a solicitor.

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    Writing to the local Superintendant as such is not the best solution.

If the matter is to be taken seriously, it is the reasonable next step to make to follow up on a complaint.

Writing to the Garda Commissioner as step number two has got tinfoil hat written all over it.

If the matter is to be taken seriously, it is the reasonable next step to make to follow up on a complaint.

Writing to the Garda Commissioner as step number two has got tinfoil hat written all over it.
    She has already stated that she has exhausted local intervention. The Superintendent is unlikely to go back on his decisions and inactions and the OPs complaints will not be known outside the District.
    Contacting the Commissioner by registered letter will bring it outside the District and Division and will certainly open up the complaint with a paper trail.It will also that it is recorded on Pulse and will get an incident number.
    Having said all of that and with great respect to the OP we have only one side of the story

She has already stated that she has exhausted local intervention.

No. She has not yet written to the Superintendent. It is highly unlikely that the matter has even crossed his desk.

I have read through the posts again. At 4 she said she contacted the Supers office
    I contacted the superindentants office the next day

I assume that she spoke with either the Supt or the Supts clerk and that call should be logged in any event for the attention of the Supt.
    The information she received was correct in that the incident needs to be logged on the Pulse system first.
    I find it hard to get my head around the alleged attitude of the Gardai concerned.
    They are either very foolish or....

I have read through the posts again. At 4 she said she contacted the Supers office

I assume that she spoke with either the Supt or the Supts clerk and that call should be logged in any event for the attention of the Supt.
    The information she received was correct in that the incident needs to be logged on the Pulse system first.
    I find it hard to get my head around the alleged attitude of the Gardai concerned.
    They are either very foolish or....

The full text of post number four is below.

The OP described having telephoned the Super's office. She has described what she had been told. You have made certain assumptions in that regard, and on the basis of those assumptions, you advise that the correct thing to do is to go straight to the Garda Commissioner. You even suggest referral of the matter to the Garda Ombudsman.

However, it appears that no written statement has been made in relation to the matter, as is generally required.

Therefore, the next logical step should be that a written statement should be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

Can every one stop fighting and bickerring

I don't know if the person with whom you spoke was a solicitor. A solicitor will usually meet a client and take details from them before giving any advice.

FLAC offers free legal advice when people call in to the volunteer solicitors and barristers who work there in the evening. There is no telephone FLAC service as far as I know. FLAC is operated by the Citizens' Advice Centres. It sounds like you may have spoken to somebody in a Citizens' Advice Centre.

What I had suggested to you was that you should maybe contact the Legal Aid Board to see a solicitor. There is usually a means test and a waiting list before you would expect to see a solicitor. You can ask about the length of the waiting list. There isn't going to be someone who is dedicated to deal with anti social behaviour alone. What you could ask is if they will draft a letter of complaint to the Garda Superintendent on your behalf, and if necessary, represent you in relation to the PRTB matter.

What you need to do is to contact the Legal Aid Board now (not FLAC, not citizens' advice, not the Council.)
    Hi thanks again for your advice your right on the ball i looked up Flac on internet it was in Dublin the lady advised me and referred me on to a a clinic near me to meet with a Barrister who goes there once a month.Im going to my nearest legal aid centre on monday to fill out an application as i live quite a bit away in the country.what i was wondering is should i write to the Superintendant now or wait for a solicitor to help me draft one ?There is a 6 month waiting list.

If you wait for a legal Aid Solicitor you will be waiting a long long time. By the time you have the application forms filled in and details of your services recorded you are then put on a waiting list.
    This list could be twelve months to eighteen months long and only then will a solicitor, after you have paid over a minimum of €40.00 to a maximum of €130.00, look at the merits of your case.
    Writing to the local Superintendant as such is not the best solution. Write a registered letter to the Commissioner; send the same letter to the Chief Superintendent and the Superintendant.
    There is a paper trail with a registered letter.

Briefly outline the situation and the efforts you have made and tell them that you want to makea statement on the matter.
    You could also insist that they take a complaint in writing on the official complaint form for the attention of the Garda Ombudsman and bear in mind the time limits that apply.
    That is assuming that you are correct in what you are posting and do not take this as legal advice as it is not. That is a matter for a solicitor.
    I assure you im 100% correct in everything i have written if i was in any way wrong why would i be contacting Superindentants office or County Council or wasting my time if it was not true.I think ive been let down badly by the Gardai and The local Council. I would prefer none of this to be happening and to live a quiet life but its landed on my doorstep now and i have to deal with it and furthermore i don't like being called names by The Gardai and then for a seargeant to ring the voluntary worker the next day and say sorry and not even have the courtesy to apoligise to me ! I respect any person that admits when there wrong and offer an apoligy

Hi thanks again for your advice your right on the ball i looked up Flac on internet it was in Dublin the lady advised me and referred me on to a a clinic near me to meet with a Barrister who goes there once a month.Im going to my nearest legal aid centre on monday to fill out an application as i live quite a bit away in the country.what i was wondering is should i write to the Superintendant now or wait for a solicitor to help me draft one ?There is a 6 month waiting list.

It would be ideal if you could have got the Legal Aid Board to assist with this in early course, but I wouldn't wait another six months for assistance in drafting a letter of complaint, at this stage.

In the circumstances, you could put together a draft of your letter and bring it to the FLAC barrister to take a look at it before you send it. (Not that there's anything wrong with FLAC or anything like that, just that there is rarely an opportunity to follow up with them afterwards.)

I still think that you could also press ahead with your application for legal aid with the Legal Aid Board, in relation to the PRTB issue.

It would be ideal if you could have got the Legal Aid Board to assist with this in early course, but I wouldn't wait another six months for assistance in drafting a letter of complaint, at this stage.

In the circumstances, you could put together a draft of your letter and bring it to the FLAC barrister to take a look at it before you send it. (Not that there's anything wrong with FLAC or anything like that, just that there is rarely an opportunity to follow up with them afterwards.)

I still think that you could also press ahead with your application for legal aid with the Legal Aid Board, in relation to the PRTB issue.
    Will do and thanks again:)

I assure you im 100% correct in everything i have written if i was in any way wrong why would i be contacting Superindentants office or County Council or wasting my time if it was not true.I think ive been let down badly by the Gardai and The local Council. I would prefer none of this to be happening and to live a quiet life but its landed on my doorstep now and i have to deal with it and furthermore i don't like being called names by The Gardai and then for a seargeant to ring the voluntary worker the next day and say sorry and not even have the courtesy to apoligise to me ! I respect any person that admits when there wrong and offer an apoligy

You have to decide what road you are going down and what you want.
    You have many issues mixed up here together and you need to seperate them.

Are you going down the road of taking a Civil Case against The Gardai for injury suffered by you, by their negligence to act on your complaints, ?
    Or ,
    do you desire to have the GSOC investigate the Gardai concerned; or do you want the matter investigated locally, or is your main concern the utterances of the Garda about your state of
    wellbeing.

You have to get your ducks in a row and decide what you require.
    From reading the Law Society guidelines it would suggest that they may only offer Legal Aid for Court Cases and thatvis a bit down the line.

You need to put all these things to the FLAC solicitor because all posters here are not allowed to give legal advice and these-FLAC are the best way to sort out where you are and where you are going without incurring costs.
    It might be a good idea to revisit your complaints and call to the Garda Station and ask to make a written statement.
    That statement will probably be a Sec 21 statement and you might be declaring that you know that you will be open to prosecution if you say anything you know is not true so you need to get advice on that also..
    I still suggest that it is a good idea to forward your complaint against the Gardai in writing as I suggested before.
    Legal aid means representation by a solicitor or barrister in civil proceedings in the District, Circuit, High and Supreme Courts. Legal aid is available also for representation before the Refugee Appeals Tribunal.

Legal aid is not granted automatically. If you require representation for a court case, the Board will consider if it is reasonable for to grant legal aid. This procedure is called the merits test. This test is applied to each individual case. If the Board considers that it is reasonable to grant legal aid, a legal aid certificate will be issued to you and you will have legal representation for your case.
    http://www.legalaidboard.ie/lab/publishing.nsf/Content/Civil_Legal_Aid

You will get the application forms here
    http://www.legalaidboard.ie/lab/publishing.nsf/Content/Civil_Legal_Aid_Forms