Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it this easy to steal a bike?

• 26-10-2013 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭

I have a regular old chain on my bike, like one you would have had in secondary school. None of that D-Lock fanciness.

Is it this easy for my bike to be stolen?

Oh yeah, and more to the point, if anyone knows whatever little gurriers are featured in the video, please do call your local Garda station or

Garda Confidential Line, means what it says on the tin
    1800 666 111

Your man in the pink top should be easy to recognize.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

As long as you know how to cycle fast, then yes it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Like I always say.... you need a licence to have a dog... but....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

if you dont lock it properly then yes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

It's a shame that car didn't cream him at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Looks like they just turned it upside down.

Or just burn it out when your finished joyriding, maybe im confused though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

When I cycled alot, I used to have four locks on my bike. Got strange looks but hey my bike was never interfered with.

Moral of the story is make it as difficult for the thief and you be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Thats some Stephen Segal sh1t right there. Aikido bike theft - using the bike against itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

There is no lock.

moxin wrote: »
    When I cycled alot, I used to have four locks on my bike. Got strange looks but hey my bike was never interfered with.

If I seen a bike with four locks on it I would just stick my own lock on it, then you wouldn't be so smart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

There is no lock.

it'd across the cross bar. you can see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

There is no lock.
    Zen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Big heavy D-Lock with an extention cable through both wheels, and the sadal. Lock was never messed with, but bike was occasionally. Brake cables uncliped, or quick release bars loosened the odd time.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

By twisting the bike around like they did in the video, it would be enough to snap many cheap chains or locks.

Rather than carry around a bar to lever it off, they just used the poorly secured bike itself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

There is no lock.

There is a lock, but it went through just the frame and not through the frame and the wheel - it was reported that the thieves used the frame of the bike as a lever to just bust the lock apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Morpork

I think it was a Matrix reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Big heavy D-Lock with an extention cable through both wheels, and the sadal. Lock was never messed with, but bike was occasionally. Brake cables uncliped, or quick release bars loosened the odd time.

:mad:

Oh yeh the saddle :) If someone swiped that, that was just uber-mean.

You actually unclipped the brake cables? Thats mad!

Only thing ever stolen from my bike was an "on bike computer" thingy, I had forgotten to remove it once from the handlebar. Eejits who stole it never copped on its useless without the speed measurement gadget attached to the wheel! Muppets!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

There is no lock.

its one of those ninja ones :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

ಠ_ಠ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Oh yeh the saddle :) If someone swiped that, that was just uber-mean.

You actually unclipped the brake cables? Thats mad!

Only thing ever stolen from my bike was an "on bike computer" thingy, I had forgotten to remove it once from the handlebar. Eejits who stole it never copped on its useless without the speed measurement gadget attached to the wheel! Muppets!:D

No, the fcukers who looked past the locks unclipped the brakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

I cant help but be reminded of the IT crowd piracy ad

you wouldnt steal a handbag... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

A chain isn't really worth a damn and even if the chain is hardened and that technique fails they'll destroy the bike trying. D-lock through the back wheel and a cable lock for the front.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yes it is very easy to get through a lot of locks, sounds like your lock is easy too. Along with that most people don't lock their bike right. I dont mind, makes people choose to steal other bikes over mine! A small dlock is what you want, with another lock or cable.

here's a good vid, he goes around dublin showing ****e locks and locking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I often just leave my bike locked up outside and can sometimes forget about it. Nothing like coming out at 4am to find your bike still there. Nobody has seem to taken any interest in it but I know people who left their bike locked up for 5 min to come back to it gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Last week an acquaintance told me she saw a bike stolen in Rathmines in broad daylight, that day. There was a decent lock on it, but the thief had some kind of portable cutter, possibly a cordless angle grinder. A few seconds of noise, lock off, bike gone.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

When I was a kid my friends and I used to pick locks on bikes, it was a bit of a challenge, see who could open it first. Never actually stole a bike though. We did on occasion swap the locks on bikes. We were little f#ckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

My favourites were the combination locks, the cheaper ones especially. If you gave them a good pull while turning the rings you could feel the click and slight release every time you got a number right. They're crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

bnt wrote: »
    Last week an acquaintance told me she saw a bike stolen in Rathmines in broad daylight, that day. There was a decent lock on it, but the thief had some kind of portable cutter, possibly a cordless angle grinder. A few seconds of noise, lock off, bike gone.

Not much you can do against an angle grinder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

wazky wrote: »
    If I seen a bike with four locks on it I would just stick my own lock on it, then you wouldn't be so smart.

Ehhh....Why???????? Does it offend you that someone would like to keep hold of their own posessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I cant help but be reminded of the IT crowd piracy ad

you wouldnt steal a handbag... :D

I can't help but think of this article where police in the UK armed with bolt cutters brazenly 'stole' four bikes in a crowded city centre - but no-one bothered to report the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

my bike was stolen in galway once... a week later i spotted the cheeky fcuker cycling it down shop street so i put out my arm and clothes lined him clean off the bike... he called the gardai and when i produced the insurance documents i had with the serial number matching the bike the gardai done yer man for bike theft lol i still have the bike :)

i won the bike... there is no other bike like it cos it has stickers all over it advertising the place where i won it. so i no doubt it was mine when i saw the thief on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

2 of my female housemates once decided to steal a bike, unfortunately they couldnt get the lock open.
    So they decided to just lift the backwheel and carry it home and get one of the lads to remove the lock.

Halfway home a policecar pulled up next to them and asked were they okay and did they need a hand.
    One of the girls burst out in tears, the other start telling this bull**** story about how they're worried (it's late and dark) and they lost the key to their bike lock.

Police officer goes....oh....okay....hang on. Gets out the car, opens boot, takes out bolt cutters. Snip!!

'Now you girls be careful on the way home okay, it's dark and there's lots of dodgy characters around. Take care now!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

wexie wrote: »
    2 of my female housemates once decided to steal a bike, unfortunately they couldnt get the lock open.
    So they decided to just lift the backwheel and carry it home and get one of the lads to remove the lock.

Halfway home a policecar pulled up next to them and asked were they okay and did they need a hand.
    One of the girls burst out in tears, the other start telling this bull**** story about how they're worried (it's late and dark) and they lost the key to their bike lock.

Police officer goes....oh....okay....hang on. Gets out the car, opens boot, takes out bolt cutters. Snip!!

'Now you girls be careful on the way home okay, it's dark and there's lots of dodgy characters around. Take care now!'

100% this.

If you are sober, have all your teeth and are dressed like an 'average' person; you can just say, 'I lost my key' and people will help you steal the bike. Some guys made a YouTube video of them doing this in New York, in broad daylight. They just pulled out a hacksaw and went to town on the chain for 10 minutes. Almost nobody even talked to them, a few people would say, 'Is that your bike?' and they'd say, 'Yeah - but I've lost my key'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

In the Old West, they'd hang you for stealing a man's horse.

That's all I have to say on the subject...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,576 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mr. Chrome

Is it true a D lock can be opened with a car jack?

Mr. Chrome wrote: »
    Is it true a D lock can be opened with a car jack?

Some D locks can be opened with some car jacks. Some can be opened with a biro. Some (as in OP) can be opened with the bike it's supposed to protect. All can be opened by scumbags. There is no such thing as a scumbag-proof lock. The object is go make the bike less attractive than the one next door. The scumbag will always leave with a bike. The trick is to make sure it's not your bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

I got this one after studying the market

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Magnum-ONGUARD-Pitbull-Security-LK8005/dp/B00AW8YPHO/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1382928120&sr=8-5&keywords=ONGUARD+Brute

Its one tough piece of kit.

And cheaper that the Halfords junk which cost a fortune and the Kyptonite locks which offer the same security but cost more.
    Plus if your bike get nicked , they will buy you a new one.

brokenarms wrote: »
    I got this one after studying the market

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Magnum-ONGUARD-Pitbull-Security-LK8005/dp/B00AW8YPHO/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1382928120&sr=8-5&keywords=ONGUARD+Brute

Its one tough piece of kit.

And cheaper that the Halfords junk which cost a fortune and the Kyptonite locks which offer the same security but cost more.
    Plus if your bike get nicked , they will buy you a new one.

A 25 quid lock won't stop a scummer. 2 locks + correct technique is the minimum standard.

Unfortunately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

endacl wrote: »
    A 25 quid lock won't stop a scummer. 2 locks + correct technique is the minimum standard.

Unfortunately...

Agreed but it still takes quite a bit of effort to get through a thick U lock.

http://gizmodo.com/5922074/the-best-bike-lock

Would love to carry 2, but you have to weigh up how practical it is to lug around all this heavy metal.