Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone else smell their own farts?

• 26-10-2013 3:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭

As the title says does anyone else out there smell their own farts? I often smell my own farts I sometimes enjoy smelling them and if I really want a good sniff of the fart I cup my hand between my ass and then smell my hand after the fart I can often smell what I had for dinner from the fart if its an after dinner fart so does anyone else on boards smell their own farts or am I the only strange one here

Could a mod add a poll with a choice of yes or no thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

We all have the same olfactory organs, so why wouldn't everybody smell their own?

As for your actions at the time; well bizarre to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Ah a bit of originality, I love it.....not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

sniffing farts is a bit like ****, 1in 10 admit it, but the rest lie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

I fart into other peoples soft drinks and close the lid on it. I always smile when they take a drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Notorioux

As the title says does anyone else out there smell their own farts? I often smell my own farts I sometimes enjoy smelling them and if I really want a good sniff of the fart I cup my hand between my ass and then smell my hand after the fart I can often smell what I had for dinner from the fart if its an after dinner fart so does anyone else on boards smell their own farts or am I the only strange one here

ewwwww...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

On purpose or by accident?

I smell my own farts as that's the way molecules behave and my olfactory system works.
    Do I do it deliberately - no, that just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

There's nothing like duvet farts mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Reminds me of the old joke about the "soundless and smell-less farts"..

A little old lady goes to the doctor and says, "I'm afraid I can’t stop passing wind. Luckily, my farts don’t smell and are always silent. As a matter of fact, I’ve farted twice since I’ve been here in your office, but you didn’t even notice."
    The doctor looks at her and says, "OK. I can help you, take these pills and come back next week."
    The next week, the lady returns. "Doctor," she says, "I don’t know what you gave me, but now my farts stink."
    The doctor smiles and says, "Good, we fixed your sinuses. Now let’s work on your hearing."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

Speak to me, o toothless one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Notorioux wrote: »
    ewwwww...

Its not that bad just make you check your hand for poo particles before you smell your hand cos you don't want to end up with poo on your nose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

stoneill wrote: »
    On purpose or by accident?

I smell my own farts as that's the way molecules behave and my olfactory system works.
    Do I do it deliberately - no, that just silly.
    Yes on purpose I enjoy smelling my own farts it's a unique fragrance that you won't smell anywhere else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

You have to keep check on the quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Back when I delivered pizzas there were a few customers of the grumpy stingey kind who I'd cook up a fart for. I'd either fart at their doorstep. Or my favourite was before I'd arrive I'd pull up at the side of the street and fart in to their pizza box. I'd always be grinning thinking of them opening the box an sticking their nose in to the box for a whiff of pizza.

padma wrote: »
    Back when I delivered pizzas there were a few customers of the grumpy stingey kind who I'd cook up a fart for. I'd either fart at their doorstep. Or my favourite was before I'd arrive I'd pull up at the side of the street and fart in to their pizza box. I'd always be grinning thinking of them opening the box an sticking their nose in to the box for a whiff of pizza.

Tough luck. The chemical composition of flatus is mostly Nitrogen and Hydrogen which disperse extremely quickly. A cardboard box , particularly one containing heat, would only hold the compound gas for a matter of a few seconds.

You didn't really believe that, did you??

Reading this thread has been a waste of eyes. It's almost as low as it can get now. I say almost because someone will always see it as a challenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

You can always share it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I once farted indirectly into my own face.

Was going to the jacks for a number 2 and just as I was about to unbuckle my belt, I let off a roaring fart. However, I didn't think the next bit through. As per usual, I do the whole pulling-down-pants motion and sitting down motion together. By doing this, I essentially released a load of toxic fumes from my underpants and proceeded to put my face in it during the sitting down motion. It was not pleasant.

Candie wrote: »
    You didn't really believe that do you

Of course not. As my grandmother used to say - you have to listen to thunder.
    Pure nonsense but not unusual here. ;)

I once farted indirectly into my own face.

Was going to the jacks for a number 2 and just as I was about to unbuckle my belt, I let off a roaring fart. However, I didn't think the next bit through. As per usual, I do the whole pulling-down-pants motion and sitting down motion together. By doing this, I essentially released a load of toxic fumes from my underpants and proceeded to put my face in it during the sitting down motion. It was not pleasant.

Good news! You can relax. It's not toxic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

padma wrote: »

I used work in an office and when a female left the office one of the lads used take her phone, rub it on his genitals and then place it back on her desk.
    Then when she returned he would dial her phone, watch her put it to her mouth and burst himself (and us) laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Does anyone else smell their own farts?

Absolutely and indeed if it is particularly magnificent, then very enthusiastic cupping will be immediately deployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BabyGorilla

One must question the evolution of sophistication within boards as a medium of our culture, we must ask of ourselves if essentially there is a 'movement' as it were, beyond the period of the flatmate thread with its ...somewhat delicate and intricate ...aesthetics of poo in butter tubs, and the evolution into a new paradigm of the more sparse, simplistic and singular nature of the fart in the pizza box. How do we express this change.

Absolutely and indeed if it is particularly magnificent, then very enthusiastic cupping will be immediately deployed.

Personally I prefer assassin mode, a quick spread of the cheeks and a stretch of the star will give the effect of a silenced 9mm browning.

(psst) (psst)

Never knew what hit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Petrie

Mr. White??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

One must question the evolution of sophistication within boards as a medium of our culture, we must ask of ourselves if essentially there is a 'movement' as it were, beyond the period of the flatmate thread with its ...somewhat delicate and intricate ...aesthetics of poo in butter tubs, and the evolution into a new paradigm of the more sparse, simplistic and singular nature of the fart in the pizza box. How do we express this change.

Indeed. Why say something in 5 words when 50 words will suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I've wonderful smelling farts. So organic and peaty, like turf from a glorious bog.

Indeed. Why say something in 5 words when 50 words will suffice.

But why say it in 5 words when a fart will suffice ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

I passed a few silent but deadly farts on a transatlantic flight yesterday. The jocks didn't smell the 'Mae West' afterwards.

At least I assume they were silent, since I didn't hear any noise. Probably not relevant, but I had a set of Bose QC-15 noise canceling headphones on.