Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Information on current work on roads and motorways, Waterford to Dublin?

• 24-10-2013 7:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭

simple question hopefully.

I'm planning to go to Dublin Airport tomorrow afternoon from Waterford.
    Where would I find information on whether there are currently roadworks being carried out on the motorway from Waterford to Dublin?
    I want to find out whether I need to allow for some extra time going through diversions etc. The missus is always wicked nervous about these things and wants me to go crazy early 'just in case', but I hate sitting for hours in an airport.
    I checked AA website and also NRA but couldn't find anything. Surely there must be something?

cheers Bosko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Check AA Routeplanner for the estimated time the journey will take, give yourself an extra hour. Nothing else you can do beyond that, anything could happen in the morning on any stretch of road but an hour should be plenty. Check your own car for oil, tyre pressure and tyre condition before you set off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Check AA Routeplanner for the estimated time the journey will take, give yourself an extra hour. Nothing else you can do beyond that, anything could happen in the morning on any stretch of road but an hour should be plenty. Check your own car for oil, tyre pressure and tyre condition before you set off.

Just look at the chaos the closing of the N7 South at Citywest is causing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Thanks but not quite what I wanted to know. Are you the missus in disguise? ;)

Del2005 wrote: »

Just look at the chaos the closing of the N7 South at Citywest is causing.

Thanks but is there a place that lists those thing like N7 south closed from city west to whatever,,,?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Boskowski wrote: »
    Thanks but is there a place that lists those thing like N7 south closed from city west to whatever,,,?

As mentioned www.aaroadwatch.ie

BTW, the N7 is closed westbound only which won't bother you and I'd safely say that eastbound will be well open for your travel time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

are you going M9 Kilkenny - Carlow or N25/N30/N11 New Ross-Enniscorty etc way (i doubt it)? just the n11 pretty much from the end of the Arklow bypass to Wicklow town has pretty major work going on and thats after you get through New Ross on a Friday.

Na straight up the motorway. From the new bridge in Waterford to city west that's usually just over an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

There is no roadworks or anything all the way up. It's a mixture of fast motorway and dual carriage all the way from Dublin to the airport. There will be only 1 traffic light you will go through at New lands X. Be warned rush hour in my opinion starts from approx 2.30 onwards on a Friday, especially with the B /H. Give yourself an extra hour for the journey than way routeplanner tells you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Na straight up the motorway. From the new bridge in Waterford to city west that's usually just over an hour.
    An hour!! Its the guts of 150km

Yep - more like 2 hours (maybe a little less) from Waterford to Dublin Airport.

Little over an hour yes but that's to city west not to the airport. I usually give myself 2 hours allowing for possibly slow m50.

I'm very familiar with the road used to go once a week. Very quiet up to newbridge. You can smooth along at 130 no bother.
    I was really only wondering is there a register of roadworks or diversions cos the missus was told there are two diversions currently on that motorway which I find hard to belive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Little over an hour yes but that's to city west not to the airport. I usually give myself 2 hours allowing for possibly slow m50.

I'd agree with this.. The M9 is deserted most of the time I gather so 120 km/h all the way to Naas should be achievable - though it does tend to slow once you join the M7 as the standard of driving worsens IMO

If the idea of doing 150 km in just over an hour is so shocking I won't mention what I normally do Dublin-Cork in ;)

I'll be leaving Dublin at 9am tomorrow to be in Waterford by 11am. If I see any disruption on the opposite side I'll PM you.

No PM = all good.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I'd agree with this.. The M9 is deserted most of the time I gather so 120 km/h all the way to Naas should be achievable - though it does tend to slow once you join the M7 as the standard of driving worsens IMO

If the idea of doing 150 km in just over an hour is so shocking I won't mention what I normally do Dublin-Cork in ;)

I wouldn't usually do 150 cos it stresses herself out and in return me but the road is easily equipped for that and quiet enough. And if course you're in ticket territory then too. But I made it to the K club in 1:05 and I wasn't racing.

crosstownk wrote: »
    I'll be leaving Dublin at 9am tomorrow to be in Waterford by 11am. If I see any disruption on the opposite side I'll PM you.

No PM = all good.

Double thanks to you sir.

On another note there seems to be no central current information on roadworks then. Since the NRA is in charge of all motorways one would think that'd be an easy enough thing to do wouldn't it. You'd think in this day and age...
    Or does the AA work that into their route planner? I mean at least the big ones where say a whole section is out for days or weeks or so.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

On another note there seems to be no central current information on roadworks then. Since the NRA is in charge of all motorways one would think that'd be an easy enough thing to do wouldn't it. You'd think in this day and age...
    Or does the AA work that into their route planner? I mean at least the big ones where say a whole section is out for days or weeks or so.

AA roadwatch site tend to have the information.

One thing to be aware of, at the airport itself, there is significant work being done on the old road, which can cause delays at the airport roundabout.

Assuming you will be approaching the roundabout off J2 of the M1, factor in five/ten minutes in relation to the delays getting to the airport due to these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

AA Roadwatch, also keep an eye (not while driving :cool:) on their Twitter feed as it's updated for accidents/delays and the likes. Garda twitter account also useful for this kinda thing

If you've Google Maps on your phone, you should be able to turn on the traffic layer which will alert you to any holdups on your route.

Cool it is the aa roadwatch then as I expected it to be in the first place. No diversions at all on that route. Someone just scaring the missus in work with no real substance to it.
    2 hours plus half an hour for the unexpected - to keep the missus happy - will be plenty so.
    Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭vickers209

There is the nra traffic website which lists major roadworks or delays

https://www.nratraffic.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You can install Waze on your smartphone.
    It will show traffic flows in realtime, provided other Wazers are using the same road as you.

photo_3_620x433.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Fatswaldo

I do this trip at least every month. Allow 2 and a half hours from bridge in Waterford to walking in the door of the airport. Newlands cross is the only potential hold up at that time of day and even then its not severe. Depending on where you're planning to park, you can be there in 2 hours but the extra half hour will see you there comfortably. Safe trip!