Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US kid shot to death

• 24-10-2013 2:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭

Now if I was some culchie and a young lad had a plastic gun and maybe a t-shirt, I'd say "would you ever feck off, bollocks!"

If your plastic gun looked, ya know, kinda real or what not, I'd shout "where are you going with that gun, ya fecker?" (prior of course to me alerting me wife ...who would have put in a word on the fone with the Guards).

I'd imagine there'd be nothing to worry about unless of course the plastic rifle turned out to be a feasible firearm that could discharge rounds. Now, if this was proven the case then, BY JAYSUS, I'd call in the lads and tell 'em "we have a man here....ARMED....so take yere time and keep cool heads."

I'd also say "I don't know anything about the lad, but if you want to disarm him from his plastic replica gun, think of 20 ways to do it without killing him."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-24648974

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The problem is all replica/toy guns in the US are required by law to have a dayglo orange tip. As you can see this has none. There is no way that the LEOs could know this wasn't a real AK-47.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

And for anyone actually curious about what happened:
    A 13-year-old boy carrying a replica assault rifle has been shot dead by police in the US state of California.

Officers in the city of Santa Rosa say they opened fire after the boy refused orders to drop the rifle, which they believed to be real.

The shooting on Tuesday is now being investigated.

It comes a day after a 12-year-old boy in Nevada gunned down a maths teacher at his school and wounded two fellow pupils before taking his own life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Fcuking hell.

Another case study, from a sort of prick who is just out having a giggle for the sake of rubbing up against the law.

This comes from Klamath Falls, Oregon.

He is not gunned down.

This is a Semi-Automatic MP5 in question, vs. a Replica of an Ak-47.

No indication in the OP article if the teenager was handling the replica-weapon at the time or if he was carrying it slung over shoulder, hands off the article.

Overheal wrote: »
    Another case study, from a sort of prick who is just out having a giggle for the sake of rubbing up against the law.

He is not gunned down.

No indication in the OP article if the teenager was handling the replica-weapon at the time or if he was carrying it slung over shoulder, hands off the article.

Haven't watched it, but I assume he wasn't ordered to drop it.

MadsL wrote: »
    Haven't watched it, but I assume he wasn't ordered to drop it.
    He was ordered to allow the officer to inspect it. It was then returned.

He complied with the request. Had he not complied I suspect the outcome may have been different.

Bear in mind this incident happened in California.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Shoot first ask questions later

Merica

Merica

When faced by a kid with an AK-47 who refuses to comply, I'm guessing you are not the one walking out saying "now, now, let's calm down"

Very easy to criticise from a comfy armchair.

Merica
    Is that a brush you have there? You might want to get something bigger. You have cover over 300 million people, across 9.8 million square kilometers, 50 states, 435 congressional districts, 3,007 counties and 137 county equivalents (incl. independent, major cities), each with their own police jurisdictions and structures - with that dinky little brush.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Weird reading this after watching Die Hard on Film 4 a night or two ago. Anyone remember the conversation John McClane has with the cop when he questions why he works behind the desk and not out in the field?

Sergeant Al Powell: "I shot a kid. He was 13 years old. Ohhh, it was dark, I couldn't see him. He had a ray gun, looked real enough. You know, when you're a rookie, they can teach you everything about bein' a cop except how to live with a mistake. Anyway, I just couldn't bring myself to draw my gun on anybody again".

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XMZZ5lXZFMk&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DXMZZ5lXZFMk

Pretty irreverent, I know, just a weird coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,062 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

He is not gunned down.

That level of professionalism, when faced with a prick out to cause a scene, is impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Do we really need a thread everytime someone in the US is shot?
    Lets just have a mega merge sticky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

MadsL wrote: »
    The problem is all replica/toy guns in the US are required by law to have a dayglo orange tip. As you can see this has none. There is no way that the LEOs could know this wasn't a real AK-47.

You're right. Shoot the bastard. Ask about the orange tip later.

nm wrote: »
    You're right. Shoot the bastard. Ask about the orange tip later.

I understand they made several attempts to get him to drop it.
    Sonoma County sheriff's deputies had repeatedly asked the boy, Andy Lopez, to drop the weapon, but instead he raised it in their direction
    http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/calif-sheriffs-deputies-shoot-kill-13-year-20656068

Pointing a gun, regardless if real or not, at cops is Darwin award territory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Do we really need a thread everytime someone in the US is shot?
    Lets just have a mega merge sticky.

HA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Is that a brush you have there? You might want to get something bigger. You have cover over 300 million people, across 9.8 million square kilometers, 50 states, 435 congressional districts, 3,007 counties and 137 county equivalents (incl. independent, major cities), each with their own police jurisdictions and structures - with that dinky little brush.
    That's a lot of tar. I know this lovely indigenous group that are good with that stuff. Ye supply the airfare and we'll send them over.