Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying without a test drive - weird?

• 22-10-2013 8:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭

I'm in the process of selling a car at the moment. A guy came to look at it yesterday, refused a test drive, but said he'd have a think about the car. Came back tonight, refused a test drive, and offered €500 under the asking price. I said no way. He came back again 15 minutes later, refused a test drive, and offered €50 under the asking price. I said ok. He gave me a small deposit and said he'll be back tomorrow evening to finalise the deal.

Is it just me or is this extremely weird? He not only declined a test drive, he actually didn't even look inside the car! I'm racking my brains trying to think what kind of scam he could be trying to pull (doesn't have a very good reputation locally) but I can't think of anything. Is this normal behaviour? I would never even consider buying without driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

What kind of car is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Whiplashy

It's a 00 Yaris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Bit odd. Once a signs the log book, and maybe check the notes are real (not in front of him) I wouldn't give a f*ck after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Bit odd. Once a signs the log book, and maybe check the notes are real (not in front of him) I wouldn't give a f*ck after that.

Definitly check the notes but do it in front of him if you take them out of his sight and they are fake its his word against yours that you didnt switch them if hes legit he wont have a problem i know i wouldnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This happened to me once with an Eastie guy. Car was cheap as chips so he didn't really bargain much.
    Maybe he had someone lined up to take it.

Oh, and make sure that YOU send the logbook off to Shannon, don't give it to him!

biko wrote: »
    This happened to me once with an Eastie guy. Car was cheap as chips so he didn't really bargain much.
    Maybe he had someone lined up to take it.

Oh, and make sure that YOU send the logbook off to Shannon, don't give it to him!

Deal will be off if he doesn't agree to me sending off the log book!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

He probably can't drive , happened me before, hopefully he'll arrive with cash and a driver or even ask you to deliver , don't lose any sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Meh, I've bought loads of yokes without a test drive. I always assume they have hiden defects that will need fixing and allow a budget for that regardless. If it looks clean and rust free, the rest bolts on and off. A glance at the tyres of any vehicle will tell you 90% of the story anyway. Crap, mismatched cheapo worn out tyres...jog on.
    Good brand, matched axle pairs of fresh tyres, all g.
    4 Mainline brand tyres with good thread, careful owner and the rest of the vehicle will match.. usually.

Anyway, beyond a careful look for rust, I don't hugely give a damn about the rest, so if I was buying a car/van off you, you'd reckon I was odd as well. Maybe I am. Then again, I've sold a lot of yokes as well. I still quietly smile to myself about the lad who turned up to buy a cruiser I was selling, with a toyota main dealer mechanic in tow. Tested, drove, prodded and poked the jeep, then bought it. Mechanic also proclaimed it a "right good jeep". Yours truly may have known different....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Could be banned and doesn't want you asking to see a license before allowing him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

Meh, I've bought loads of yokes without a test drive. I always assume they have hiden defects that will need fixing and allow a budget for that regardless. If it looks clean and rust free, the rest bolts on and off. A glance at the tyres of any vehicle will tell you 90% of the story anyway. Crap, mismatched cheapo worn out tyres...jog on.
    Good brand, matched axle pairs of fresh tyres, all g.
    4 Mainline brand tyres with good thread, careful owner and the rest of the vehicle will match.. usually.

Anyway, beyond a careful look for rust, I don't hugely give a damn about the rest, so if I was buying a car/van off you, you'd reckon I was odd as well. Maybe I am. Then again, I've sold a lot of yokes as well. I still quietly smile to myself about the lad who turned up to buy a cruiser I was selling, with a toyota main dealer mechanic in tow. Tested, drove, prodded and poked the jeep, then bought it. Mechanic also proclaimed it a "right good jeep". Yours truly may have known different....

you'll know more after a test drive..bit silly buying without

I'll happily bet you that outside of a full time car dealer, I'd win the "I've bought the most vehicles" competition.. There's 32 outside right now. I'll listen to the engine, let it idle for ages while we chat, have a good goo around and chat some more, while it idles. Then I'll hop in, dip the clutch, fly through the gears while stationary, run it up to max revs and down again, then try and stall it in third. Hopefully it stalls. Beyond that, there's feck all you need to test, really.

If it's got running or overheating issues, the long idle will show up fluctuations or overheating, turning it on should give you a full dash of lights, if not, bulbs are whipped/covered. If they go out and stay out, da daa. If she revs freely and smoothly, clutch bites well and the switchgear wear reflects the mileage, what more do you need? The rest is minor shyte that can easily be fixed. Bushings, brakes, shocks, fluids, etc etc, I'm changing them myself tomorrow anyway as I'm gonna assume you never serviced it and never did the belts etc.

But that's just me. Auctions also tend to be a bit skimpy on test driving chances too..no bother doing the above there though. I also tend to buy somwhat, err older vehicles.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Last two cars my OH has bought, I've found them, test driven them, done the deal, and once any niggles are sorted, he just saunters in with the cash and coughs up the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Sometimes buyers are cautious about insurance and tax, even though they probably have other car cover they won't chance it, that said you would think the least he would have done is let you drive it around with him as passenger. Perhaps it's for the wife or son or daughter of his and he wants them to drive it but strange they were not with him. If he comes with cheques or bankers draft don't release the car until they clear.

Once he signs the logbook and you send it off I wouldn't care what his Dr Evil masterplan is for the car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Whiplashy wrote: »
    I'm racking my brains trying to think what kind of scam he could be trying to pull (doesn't have a very good reputation locally) but I can't think of anything. Is this normal behaviour? I would never even consider buying without driving.

If you know he doesn't have good reputation locally, maybe he knows you have a good reputation locally, and you are known for keeping your cars in good orders - that's why he doesn't need test drive

Maybe get him to sign a dissclaimer that he refused a test drive or to have it properly inspected.

Get his name and address on the log book send it away as long as the mula is ok your ass will be covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Maybe get him to sign a dissclaimer that he refused a test drive or to have it properly inspected.

Get his name and address on the log book send it away as long as the mula is ok your ass will be covered.

Who would sign that sort of disclaimer and even if they did I doubt it would be worth the paper its written on.

I guess he hasn't any insurance or is a named driver on a policy and wouldn't be insured to test drive this car and is doing the responsible thing by not driving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

What would be the point of doing that?
    It's a private sale, so his ass is covered anyway.

CiniO wrote: »
    What would be the point of doing that?
    It's a private sale, so his ass is covered anyway.

How is his ass covered ??

Lets say this guy takes the car brings it home takes something like the gearbox out of it puts his own faulty one back into the op's car brings it back and tells him the car was not fit for purpose when he bought it and he wants his money back.

I think that piece of paper would be worth a lot in that instance if the buyer is legit there shouldnt be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

How is his ass covered ??

Lets say this guy takes the car brings it home takes something like the gearbox out of it puts his own faulty one back into the op's car brings it back and tells him the car was not fit for purpose when he bought it and he wants his money back.
    That's a lot of BS. He can do whatever he wants, it's a private sale, so buyers beware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

All the same, something like 'car sold as tried and tested, no warranty given or implied' on the receipts serves to ensure that both sides are clear on what's what from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Okay maybe Im overthinking this a bit, but you say that this lad doesnt have a good reputation locally. The question Id be asking is do I want to sell him a car at all? Something goes wrong with it (be it a fault with the car or something that he causes himself) and he blames you, how is he going to look to sort it out? Just something to bear in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

remove the engine, strip EVERYTHING from the car before the sale, that'll learn him to be a weirdo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I remember selling my first car, a focus. Same people came to look at the car twice.
    They never drove it, lifted the bonnet, asked of history, checked out the car thoroughly or anything!
    They just sat in it saying "Oh it is a lovely car" etc :confused:
    They gave me asking that evening and drove away in it!

BMJD wrote: »
    remove the engine, strip EVERYTHING from the car before the sale, that'll learn him to be a weirdo

He'll probably need the engine to take the car away! I did briefly consider removing the new sony CD player and sticking back in the old one though! He doesn't know it's in it :D

Seweryn wrote: »
    That's a lot of BS. He can do whatever he wants, it's a private sale, so buyers beware.

Do you think that will stand up in court ??

The op came on here asking for advice I gave some there is no harm being covered in all eventualitys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

The op came on here asking for advice I gave some there is no harm being covered in all eventualitys.

Yes. Only if the car has a dangerous defect would the seller be responsible. Other than that its buyer beware when it comes to a private sale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Had to think about this but yes, I bought my first car without a test drive despite two looks and drive offers on both occasions. I wasn't insured and was convinced I'd be caught. Did make him take it to a mech though. E34 525i, served me very well, no problems bar the inevitable suspension rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭rufio777

I'll happily bet you that outside of a full time car dealer, I'd win the "I've bought the most vehicles" competition.. There's 32 outside right now. I'll listen to the engine, let it idle for ages while we chat, have a good goo around and chat some more, while it idles. Then I'll hop in, dip the clutch, fly through the gears while stationary, run it up to max revs and down again, then try and stall it in third. Hopefully it stalls. Beyond that, there's feck all you need to test, really.

If it's got running or overheating issues, the long idle will show up fluctuations or overheating, turning it on should give you a full dash of lights, if not, bulbs are whipped/covered. If they go out and stay out, da daa. If she revs freely and smoothly, clutch bites well and the switchgear wear reflects the mileage, what more do you need? The rest is minor shyte that can easily be fixed. Bushings, brakes, shocks, fluids, etc etc, I'm changing them myself tomorrow anyway as I'm gonna assume you never serviced it and never did the belts etc.

But that's just me. Auctions also tend to be a bit skimpy on test driving chances too..no bother doing the above there though. I also tend to buy somwhat, err older vehicles.

out of interest what does the bit in bold show you? I would have thought being able to take off slowly in third would prove a decent bit left on the clutch... Genuine question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Yes, it absolutely will stand up in court.

rufio777 wrote: »
    out of interest what does the bit in bold show you? I would have thought being able to take off slowly in third would prove a decent bit left on the clutch... Genuine question

That's an interesting one. I've been known to take off in third more times than I'd like to admit! Should I not be able to? The yaris was the only car I've driven that'd stall when I did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭rufio777

well my understanding would be, if you can take off the clutch is good and strong, to me it would be a test on the clutch really, i would always do it on a test drive. Just unsure what the other poster meant by hoping it stalls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

If the clutch is bad it will slip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

............bought plenty at auction and you have to know what to look for without a test drive. However if I was able to test it I would. You cant tell if it has a gearbox whine, CV joint noise, knock in the suspension, misfire under load, brakes that pull to one side etc...without driving it. Its all very well if you can work with big margins and time is precious, otherwise a 5 minute test drive could save you hundreds.

MercMad wrote: »
    ............bought plenty at auction and you have to know what to look for without a test drive. However if I was able to test it I would. You cant tell if it has a gearbox whine, CV joint noise, knock in the suspension, misfire under load, brakes that pull to one side etc...without driving it. Its all very well if you can work with big margins and time is precious, otherwise a 5 minute test drive could save you hundreds.
    I'm huge and look mean. People usually voulenteer that ^ info first. Pretty much. :D "Oh Hi, err, I forgot to mention...." :pac:

He came back this evening with the rest of the money and no issues with me sending off the tax book. I still wouldn't even consider buying without driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Whiplashy wrote: »
    He came back this evening with the rest of the money and no issues with me sending off the tax book. I still wouldn't even consider buying without driving.

All's well that ends well.

My mother bought a brand new car a few years back and didn't test drive it. I thought she was mad. :pac: