Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Cultural Performance

• 22-10-2013 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

Hey Guys,

I am heading to the good old Republic of China (Taiwan) for a week tour and talk for young people aged 18-24, thats all grand apart from one thing; I need to perform an "Irish Cultural Performance" as will everybody else who are from 20 countries around the world,

What in the nae of God will I do, I can play a wee bit of guitar - but then what song? Maybe a bitta poetry; the likes of Seamas Heaney or Yeats, but thats not really my ting; Id probably pick a ****e verse.

The best thing I can think of is to skull a rake of pints and then sing the Wild Rover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just get up on stage and begrudge people their success through the medium of Oirish dance.

You could call it the Ah-shure-that-could-have-been-me-if-I'd-been-given-the-chances-he-had-growing-up Jig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Ragalan Road! Easy to sing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Show them an episode of 'Mrs Brown's Boys' and tell them that it's very typical of the average Dublin family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ring in sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Ragalan Road! Easy to sing!

But tricky to spell ;)

I do second this recommendation though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Jarrod wrote: »
    But tricky to spell ;)

I do second this recommendation though.

Sorry, Jarrod.

My mistake, that should be Ragalan Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Sorry, Jarrod.

My mistake, that should be Ragalan Street.

Spot on! Auld Peter Kavanagh's poetry always did it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

What do ye think of oro se do bheatha bhaile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

You have loads of time to learn Three Blind Mice on the tin whistle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

The Hoor Among the Nettles Roaring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Just don't do anything and blame the English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Drink a bag o cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Jumbo Breakfast roll.

Twoeggstwosausagetworasherstwobacontwopudding, ONE BLACK, ONE WHITE!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Bag of cans in a field?

Failing that, Wild Rover, Black Velvet Band or something tamer like a bit of Richie Kavanagh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,772 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Write a poem telling them they're all a grand bunch of lads

Serious suggestion, find the Waterboys version of The stolen child and learn it, it is more spoken that sung and would be easy to strum along to. I bet they would be impressed with that a Yeates poem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Riverdance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Get three other lads, dress in white suits, sit on stools and sing really badly. Seems to work for others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

sure shtick on a war of the buttons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

Nnnnngggngngeheheenhnngngenh have ye got a spare euro bud nngnnggnghhgngnnghngh for a hostel nnnggheegnenhhnnghhgnghh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I've listened to a lot of Irish music and I believe the best choice here is a fairly modern piece called, 'Irish Celebration'.

I'm not normally big into music, but the lyrics rang true and the melody is quite catchy. It's not as traditional as some others....but all in all, quite nice.

Just put together a small introduction to read, play the song, wipe a tear from your eye, and ask if there are any questions.