Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Car Sticker - how big? [ 8x8.6cm wins]

• 22-10-2013 10:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭

We need to know how big to make the stickers, please choose.

How big should the sticker be? 161 votes

8cm X 8.6cm - smaller than a tax disc
    0% 0 votes
    10cm X 10.8cm approx tax disc sized (slightly bigger)
    46% 75 votes
    15cm X 16.2 - 1.5 times a tax disc
    44% 71 votes
    other
    9% 15 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Is there a possibility of a poll?

Myself I'd be personally happy with something a similar size of a radio sticker :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I went for the smallest size although I always think the Hertz number 1 sticker which is tiny is very noticeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I think either option 2 or 3 imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

this is like a secret society, we need to come up with a hand shake next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Surely a secret sequence of headlight flashing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    boardsdotie in morse code?

47 in morse is (....- --...)

will take me a while to flash that out on my rear fog lamp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

It should be subtle, not a flashy in your face kind of thing, it should not take away from the look of our cars so I voted the smallest size. I almost feel like those that want it big expect to see someone with the sticker while driving and make a sort of...connection;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

12 inch sunstrip... Ah no the 8x8 sounds fine to be honest, nothing too big!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

YbFocus wrote: »
    12 inch sunstrip... Ah no the 8x8 sounds fine to be honest, nothing too big!

I already have one of those for the truck (in fairness it is sitting on my kitchen table currently)
    I think two sunstrips is getting too far into ricer territory for my liking - lets stick to the tax disc sizes :p:p:p:D:D

Yep I think slightly smaller to tax disc sized would be good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

we already have one, did no one tell you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

I'm fitting a diode + 1 resistor to my headlight circuit for my 'boards flash' mod.

This way I'll get one 'eye' open and one 'eye' half-open.

I shall be retailing it at €75 a pop :D :pac:

Oh, and flash 'in blue' will be and extra € 10 :pac: :pac: :pac:

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

corktina wrote: »
    I went for the smallest size although I always think the Hertz number 1 sticker which is tiny is very noticeable.

....'cos it's yellow I'd say !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭pcardin

I could offer my services to manufacture these stickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

pcardin wrote: »
    I could offer my services to manufacture these stickers.
    I'll forward your offer to the back office that will handle it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I'm not sure how no one noticed it yet, but tax disc is a circle of the 7.5cm diameter.
    So first option in the poll is already bigger then tax disc.
    Second one is good bit bigger.
    Third option is over twice bigger than tax disc (5.5 times the area).

This is just to clarify for anyone voting.

So apparently we can use them as tax discs?

Yes but only forward, you are unable to use these for previous months, if you want to do that just change ownership and when you get the book back place the sticker on the window.

Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

Ah feck ye lads, it's pretty much split between options 1 and 2, which side of things do I err on? Option 1 has 1 more vote, so I guess we're going with that, everyone ok with this?

CiniO wrote: »
    I'm not sure how no one noticed it yet, but tax disc is a circle of the 7.5cm diameter.
    So first option in the poll is already bigger then tax disc.

ah will ya stop: put the copier back to 100% - the last batch were off a bit.... :D

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Dav wrote: »
    Ah feck ye lads, it's pretty much split between options 1 and 2, which side of things do I err on? Option 1 has 1 more vote, so I guess we're going with that, everyone ok with this?
    It's 53-53 now.

Use your casting vote, Dav! You know bigger is better. :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Dav wrote: »

The bigger one, you know it makes sense :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    The bigger one, you know it makes sense :)

i agree. the split is in favour of it now also!

Someone will probably change it back now :P

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Someone will probably change it back now :P

true :o

i'd rather be looking at it than looking for it, quantity is everything :)

true :o

i'd rather be looking at it than looking for it, quantity is everything :)

Close the poll quick!

Quantity over quality? That's a very American view :P

comment was a little tongue in cheek, but an extra 440 mm² of vinyl on my rear window never hurt. :P

We're 3 votes ahead now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Here's to visualise the scale of proposed sizes.

Those who voted for "smaller than tax disc" might be surprised that it's actually slightly bigger.
    And those voting for slightly bigger, might be surprised that it's good bit bigger.

I voted for 8cm x 8.6cm, and as we are loosing by now, I'm just trying to convince whoever voted for 10x10.8 to change their mind ;)

277690.jpg

Thanks for that cinio:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

CiniO wrote: »
    Here's to visualise the scale of proposed sizes.

Those who voted for "smaller than tax disc" might be surprised that it's actually slightly bigger.
    And those voting for slightly bigger, might be surprised that it's good bit bigger.

I voted for 8cm x 8.6cm, and as we are loosing by now, I'm just trying to convince whoever voted for 10x10.8 to change their mind ;)
    There is no option to change your vote though. "You have already voted on this poll".

I still think the chosen entry look like a sad/bad/mad smiley though.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Esel wrote: »
    There is no option to change your vote though. "You have already voted on this poll".

I still think the chosen entry look like a sad/bad/mad smiley though.

yip looks like someone is fed up driving :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Forgot to vote on this, went for the smaller one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭B00056718

It was 60/60.
    Until I voted that is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Time to close tread, we have a winner:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

This thread has been up a week and will close later today at some point.
    Currently 8cm is leading by 3 votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Thanks for the picture CiniO i think 8cm's is actually a perfect size now from looking at it.

Oops, forgot about this.
    Ok, so we have a winner. 8x8.6cm

I am closing size competition and sending results to back office.
    They will get back to us in due course with how to order and pay for stickers.