Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrecked Head

• 21-10-2013 6:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

So basically, my bosses boss is wrecking my head about giving a hand in another sector of the company...but it would involve travailing up to 4 hours minimum(8 hours round trip) and spending a week in a horrible small town...

So I need a good reason/excuse to get out of this...

Open to you...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Crabs.

Death in the family is always good too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I'd say go for it, you might get your hole. Failing that, you'll have a week to pull the bollix off yourself at your own leisure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Do you get to claim expenses? Do it, and claim for absolutely everything.

But if you're determined not to do it, fake your own death. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Tell us the town and we'll see who admits to living there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Do you get to claim expenses? Do it, and claim for absolutely everything.

But if you're determined not to do it, fake your own death. :)

Yeah travel and like 10 euro for food(per day), but I eat a lot and prefer to cook my own food also I'd miss out on training for a week, it'll end up costing me more money, it not like I'm getting any extra money for this either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

So I need a good reason/excuse to get out of this...

because you don't want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Tell him you'll do it if you don't end up worse off financially for it. That's only fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

because you don't want to

That's not how things work in the real world :pac:

Tell us the town and we'll see who admits to living there!

Prefer not to say the town as it may give away the company

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Ask for your P45 that will sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Yeah travel and like 10 euro for food(per day), but I eat a lot and prefer to cook my own food also I'd miss out on training for a week, it'll end up costing me more money, it not like I'm getting any extra money for this either

Tenner a day....FFS man that wouldn't buy a good breakfast.....

Have u pulled the dead granny trick yet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

tell them you cant afford it, tell them you are behind on your bills and by going on this trip you will be behind even more, might work, might not tho.

Tenner a day....FFS man that wouldn't buy a good breakfast.....

Have u pulled the dead granny trick yet ?

I'm a man of science but mocking is catching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Just tell him you really dont want to do it and if he makes you then you might have to burn his house down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

another sector of the company...but it would involve travailing up to 4 hours minimum(8 hours round trip) and spending a week in a horrible small town...

Would you have to travel 8 hours every day? :eek: Surely not? Hotel?

10 a day is taking the piss, that'd just cover lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

tell them you have a massive fear of strange beds and start blubbering like a little girl

always worked for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

just go, make a total arse of whatever they're asking you to do. they'll never ask you again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Prefer not to say the town as it may give away the company

Is there only one company in this town?

If it's my town I'll buy you a pint.

Or a hooker. Up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

So I need a good reason/excuse to get out of this

Ah the oul hassle of employment. Hand in your notice and your problem will be immediately solved. Meanwhile, I'm sure your boss will have no bother recruiting some overly qualified, enthusiastic person who is currently signing on.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Is there only one company in this town?

If it's my town I'll buy you a pint.

Or a hooker. Up to you.

I dont want a hooker that costs as much as a pint. :eek:

Good on ya for offering though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭mad m

Let's be clear here, is this a once off thing or will it become a permanent thing? If it's a once off, bite the bullet and do it but tell them 10 euro is not enough to cover you for costs for dinner.

Permanent thing...... Unless you want to change jobs....tough.

Ah the oul hassle of employment. Hand in your notice and your problem will be immediately solved. Meanwhile, I'm sure your boss will have no bother recruiting some overly qualified, enthusiastic person who is currently signing on.

My job doesn't include this sort of thing, also if it was i wouldn't have taken it...Its also my bosses boss, in fact if i were to travel I'd actually but my own boss in a tough spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tell them you have drink driving ban and there isn't a bus to get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

You should do it if it's only for a week. You will gain brownie points and due to you being away, it's acceptable to visit the local pub every night. You may also get the ride off the local female alcoholic. Win win really.

iMac_Hunt wrote: »
    You should do it if it's only for a week. You will gain brownie points and due to you being away, it's acceptable to visit the local pub every night. You may also get the ride off the local female alcoholic. Win win really.

Firstly love the way most of ye assumed my bosses boss was a male, secondly I've no interest spending a week miserable and alone in a small town, and having a 4 hour bus journey to get there and for nothing extra and potentially being out of pocket and missing out on training and I've just got back to getting my diet sorted too, the week up there will be full of crap food too

While those are all valid arguments and trust me, I know what life away from home can be like, the fun of hotels wears off really quickly.

However, if it was me I'd be wondering why it's me being asked and quite how this will reflect on me if I do go and do a good job and what I could get out of it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Is the €10 to cover all your meals or will you get breakfast/dinner in a hotel that you stay in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

You'd think anyone would be glad of a chance to get out of Limerick ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

I'd say go for it, you might get your hole. Failing that, you'll have a week to pull the bollix off yourself at your own leisure.

this is tommy leave a message

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

Should be getting accommodation paid for, receipts for food, petrol etc all paid for. Thats how normal companies work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭cml387

Well maybe as a city slicker you can come down here to the country and teach us some of your sophisticated ways.

And perhaps some small town girlie can make you realise that maybe there my be something that you can learn too from our simple country values.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I ran a small enterprise in the mid-to-late noughties that involved me having to spend considerable amounts of time in regional towns in the country. Aside from the rather rustic and basic hotel accommodation found in many such towns, the rest of the time was extremely enjoyable.

Work done; you can get ready, head down to a local, order a pint and a ball of malt to wash it down, and have a chat with the locals. You'll notice differing attributes in folk in different parts of this fair Isle. People from Tipperary make Cavan folk look positively generous for example. Sometimes you might even get involved in conversation with a minxy lady from the town. Play your cards right and you might end up getting a bit of rumpy-pumpy and bowled out for six.

And breakfasts in rural Irish hotels tend to be fantastic. Real hearty fare. Don't be so quick to dismiss the idea.

I ran a small enterprise in the mid-to-late noughties that involved me having to spend considerable amounts of time in regional towns in the country. Aside from the rather rustic and basic hotel accommodation found in many such towns, the rest of the time was extremely enjoyable.

Work done; you can get ready, head down to a local, order a pint and a ball of malt to wash it down, and have a chat with the locals. You'll notice differing attributes in folk in different parts of this fair Isle. People from Tipperary make Cavan folk look positively generous for example. Sometimes you might even get involved in conversation with a minxy lady from the town. Play your cards right and you might end up getting a bit of rumpy-pumpy and bowled out for six.

And breakfasts in rural Irish hotels tend to be fantastic. Real hearty fare. Don't be so quick to dismiss the idea.

You see? Mind you I'm not sure about this bowled out for six lark. Sounds rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

....a small enterprise...regional towns ...rather rustic ...a pint and a ball of malt...folk ...fair Isle...minxy lady...Play your cards right...rumpy-pumpy...bowled out for six...hearty fare.

Are you a character in a 1970s village farce put on by the local Amateur Dramatic Society?

wexie wrote: »
    While those are all valid arguments and trust me, I know what life away from home can be like, the fun of hotels wears off really quickly.

However, if it was me I'd be wondering why it's me being asked and quite how this will reflect on me if I do go and do a good job and what I could get out of it.

Well I think i'm been eyed up for a store manager job, but again in a smaller town which I've no interest in, also the money to responsibility ratio is terrible, for example my manager works 40 hours(also another 5 unpaid re closing and opening minimum) for circa 23,500 a year and a whole load of sh!te to deal with a top of that, i'd be on nowhere near that, now money isn't a driving force for me anymore, but i value my time more than this company does, so much so I'm earning less an hour than someone working in Schuh on a temporary basis...

There is also my growing dislike with the business practices and model of my current employer, which brings up a whole pile of different issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

You would be foolish not to explore this beautiful country that we have as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭Feisar

Its a week, five working days. I'd make sure I could expense everything, bus/meals/coffee and that hotel is paid for. Funk that tenner a day crap. Someone else said brownie points... None to be gained. Demand full compo for the week. No exceptions. Far too much of this "lucky to be employed" crap going about.

Seriously though, training? If you just got your diet sorted it doesn't sound like you are heading to the Olympics so get over your self. If it's weights yer at deadlift like a lunatic the day before you leave, I mean kill yourself in the gym, over train and the five days away just stretch etc. Maybe toss in a bit of cardio. Be grand.

First they came for the socialists...

cml387 wrote: »
    Well maybe as a city slicker you can come down here to the country and teach us some of your sophisticated ways.

And perhaps some small town girlie can make you realise that maybe there my be something that you can learn too from our simple country values.

I wish I was going to a town the size of Clonmel...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Sounds like you don't want to do it.

Learn how to say No starting now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Well, we don't know what exactly the training entails (apologies if it was alluded to on page 2 as I haven't read it). Perhaps our original poster meets with his friends to play a team sport competitively against other teams. There can be many social and emotional benefits to such an activity. Who are we to say what said person will or won't be safe to miss? I know that there are certain things I dread missing if I am away. Anyway, I hope everyone's well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The expense allowance is a joke so get that sorted first. Then say yes and stop your complaining. You'll be remembered if you say no.

I wish I was going to a town the size of Clonmel...

Oh lord. It's not...Mountmellick is it?