Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scoop: Irish go loop-the-loop re poop bloop(er)

• 18-10-2013 10:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭

http://www.thejournal.ie/south-wales-police-forced-to-apologise-for-operation-irish-name-1135040-Oct2013/
    POLICE IN SOUTH Wales have been forced to apologise after naming a dog poo education programme “Operation Irish”.
    South Wales Police told WalesOnline that it was “regrettable” if any offence had been caused by the name, which was used to educate children in the Llanedeyrn district of Cardiff. Children were being told of the dangers of not cleaning up after their pets.
    A local councillor told the website that the choice of the name was “an act of Olympian stupidity”.
    A spokesperson for South Wales Police confirmed that the initiative by the Llanedeyrn neighbourhood police team had been named Operation Irish. However, she said that the name was not meant to cause offence.
    “This is an educational operation aimed as encouraging dog owners to be responsible. Operational names are randomly assigned to policing operations for administrative purposes. They do not in any way reflect the nature of the police activity or subject matter.
    “It would never be our intention to offend and it is regrettable if that is the case.”

This was just a code-word, the way Operation Yewtree is the code-name for a current child abuse investigation. A yewtree doesn't have any connection to child abuse, it's just a random code. Ditto in this case. The rage in those comments is a bit much. And the irony of going on anti Welsh tirades...
    It was unwise of them to keep the name, but I really really doubt a police-force in a society as PC as Britain would hold on to the name if they thought it would offend. The insistence that it was deliberate is just stupid.

I know there is silly self loathing among people of this country, but isn't there also another side of the coin: extreme defensiveness of all things Irish? Neither very healthy IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

*pun overload*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

*pun overload*

Poo overload

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

*pun overload*

Shitebags label poo operation, crappliy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Shît thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

From the comments...
    Should've called it operation sheep shagger.

Fitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

The hole thing stinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Honestly tho, they could have picked a better name to use then irish for a dog shite cleaning up mission codename. How could they not see that using a countries race for a dog shite cleaning up mission wouldnt cause controversy.
    A spokesperson for South Wales Police confirmed that the initiative by the Llanedeyrn neighbourhood police team had been named Operation Irish. However, she said that the name was not meant to cause offence.

I'd hazzard a guess that someone in the Llanedeyrn police thought it would be hillarious to name the operation Irish

• Site Banned Posts: 15 patty o chair 55

A local councillor told the website that the choice of the name was “an act of Olympian stupidity”.
    should that not be 'oylimpian'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Er no. Good first post though,

I would love if stupidity was an Olympic sport. Definitely know a fair few people who would be bringing back gold medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I would love if stupidity was an Olympic sport. Definitely know a fair few people who would be bringing back gold medals.

Medal ceremony would have Benny Hill theme tune instead of national anthems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭NoClues

Strangest post I've seen in my short time here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Only 2 possible reasons for this:

1: They intended to insult us.
    2: They're extremely thick.

Which is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Only 2 possible reasons for this:

1: They intended to insult us.
    2: They're extremely thick.

Which is it?
    Why would they intend it? That's the classic Irish persecution complex. It was just a code-word.
    There would be an Operation Welsh here not a bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Why would they intend it?

What you asking me for?

Do I look welsh to you or something? Where do Aeros come from? Eh...Mint ones, go on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

If the Gardaí ever have an operation to educate farmers on the dangers of shagging their sheep I think we'll know what to call it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Why would they intend it? That's the classic Irish persecution complex. It was just a code-word.

Do you think they would have called it Operation Iraqi or Operation Syrian ( Operation insert word that has something to do with Muslims) by accident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Rethinking who should be awarded the "Stupid Stick" in next year's British Isles Best Stupidity international competition.

Scotland may vote for Independence yet though and nick it last minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

*pun overload*

The second one was OK but it was the turd one that did it.

Do you think they would have called it Operation Iraqi or Operation Syrian ( Operation insert word that has something to do with Muslims) by accident?
    Definitely not, granted! But I still think there's a huge over-reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Definitely not, granted! But I still think there's a huge over-reaction.

By who?

Operation black lesbian disabled dyslexic muslim!!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

If the Gardaí ever have an operation to educate farmers on the dangers of shagging their sheep I think we'll know what to call it now

I think you mean 'make love' to sheep surely ?

I have an 'O' level in it.

By who?
    The comments to the article. Clowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Apparently they choose an operation name from a pre approved list of code names

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/7288489.stm

Surely there was better operation names to pick rather then "irish"

Kiwi ?

The comments to the article. Clowns.

I suppose but most of them just feel sorta tongue in cheek/bit pissed off more than anything too serious.

I have cousins who are Welsh born to Irish parents and I'm not really comfortable about the way they named it.

Considering the history of prejudice and unfair stereotyping the Irish have received from the British I think they should have thought this through a bit better.

• Site Banned Posts: 15 patty o chair 55

cml387 wrote: »
    NoClues wrote: »

O'Linkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Gweithredu rhyw gyda defaid

Ddwywaith bob nos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Anybody else try to make sense of this by reading it backwards?

Not apt username, not apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Anybody else try to make sense of this by reading it backwards?

Not apt username, not apt.

Maybe not apt,but I sure would love to have those 2 lads on my scrabble team

crockholm wrote: »
    Maybe not apt,but I sure would love to have those 2 lads on my scrabble team

Tri chant a hanner o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Should we bomb wales now?

Tri chant a hanner o

I'm guessing that is either, A) 3 points for the letter "o",
    B)You're calling me bad names

Which is it,Johnny Bach and your sospan vach?:p

Yakult wrote: »
    Should we bomb wales now?

Think I saw a you tube video where they bombed a beached whale once. Not a good idea.

"It's raining blubber,hallelujah,it's raining blubber"

crockholm wrote: »
    I'm guessing that is either, A) 3 points for the letter "o",
    B)You're calling me bad names

Which is it,Johnny Bach and your sospan vach?:p

Or C) I will get a telling off from a Mod if I translated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Honestly tho, they could have picked a better name to use then irish for a dog shite cleaning up mission codename. How could they not see that using a countries race for a dog shite cleaning up mission wouldnt cause controversy.

I'd hazzard a guess that someone in the Llanedeyrn police thought it would be hillarious to name the operation Irish

+1 on the bold bit..........nothing further to add about it. I'm over it.

Come on FF, you seem like a clever person, but are you really that naive about life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

cml387 wrote: »
    NoClues wrote: »

He was making a reference to how Daley Thompson joked on The One Show last year that a tattooist who wrote "Oylimpic" must be Irish.

http://metro.co.uk/2012/07/23/daley-thompson-accused-of-racism-over-irish-tattoo-jibe-505709/

Obviously the joke was based on accents rather than illiteracy, but these days people are desperate to be offended so it instantly became a "racism storm".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2461512/Swansea-woman-pictured-defecating-street.html
    A woman nightclub reveller has caused outrage after being caught on camera defecating in a city centre street.

The woman, who appears to be in her early twenties, was caught in the act by a mobile phone camera and a disgusting three-minute video was later posted onto Facebook.

It shows another young woman acting as a lookout while her friend lifts up her dress, pulls down her underwear and proceeds to defecate on the pavement.

The shocking incident will raise fresh concerns about the shocking scenes caused by endemic binge drinking in the UK's city centres.

Police were yesterday examining the video and say a criminal offence may have been committed.

The young woman had been out in Swansea, South Wales, when she committed the degrading act in the city’s Princess Way.

seems the welsh police have gotten it totally wrong by accusing dogs too in naming this operation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Ah, the Welsh. An amiable and fun-loving bunch of creatures. I love a weekend in Cardiff for the rugby. I wouldn't let a Welshman (or Welshwoman) run a company though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I think its odd they had Irish on the list at all, no matter what the operation was you would think they would just not use it. But this is really odd, how many people would have seen this name before final approval, if none of them copped it might cause offence that a serious low level of common sense.

After 9/11 there was an list of songs recommended not to be played, many are OTT and obscure but it just goes to show how much thought does often go into these things.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_Clear_Channel_memorandum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Ah, the Welsh. An amiable and fun-loving bunch of creatures. I love a weekend in Cardiff for the rugby. I wouldn't let a Welshman (or Welshwoman) run a company though.[/QUOTE

I agree, any nation that produced the likes of Shakin Stevens has to be lacking in something. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Maybe in future you don't name operations after ethnic groups. Image how bad it would have been if it was operation Nigerian. The police will be swamped with racist complaints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Jester252 wrote: »
    Maybe in future you don't name operations after ethnic groups. Image how bad it would have been if it was operation Nigerian. The police will be swamped with racist complaints

There's been more than one Operation Nigeria. ;)

Operation Nigeria - ongoing investigation into the unsolved murder of private detective Daniel Morgan in 1987.

Operation Nigeria, the surveillance of Southern Investigations between May and September 1999, was run by the Metropolitan police's anti-corruption squad CIB3.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2002/sep/21/privacy

Interestingly, the cases were about both about corruption. We're not the only ones being singled out here with negative implications.

I wrote to South Wales Police because I have an aunt and uncle who have married Welsh people and have kids over there now.

This is what I sent. Thought the Commissioners name was Peter.
    Hey Peter,

I think you should change the title of 'Operation Irish' to something else considering the long history of prejudice that Britain has had with the Irish.

I would love to see if ye were brave enough to name this Operation Iraqi or Operation Syrian. Don't think ye would do that somehow though.

If the Gardaí ever have an operation to educate farmers on the dangers of shagging their sheep I think we'll know what to call it now.

Slan.

This is what I got back.
    Dear Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo,

I am the Police Commander for Cardiff and personally write to you in response to your correspondence with South Wales Police (as below).

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns in writing and giving me the opportunity to personally write a response back;

1. to acknowledge your concerns
    2. to offer a genuine apology
    3. to explain the actions taken as a result of the concerns and disappointed raised.

I am very proud to serve the communities of South Wales and indeed the communities of Cardiff ; I take personal pride in being in a fortunate position to represent South Wales Police. I take pride in the positive and professional service given by staff and ensure these values are replicated by all under my area of responsibility. However it is important for me to recognise that I do not always get things right and this is none more clear than what has happened on this occasion. Whilst the operational name given to the police activity was randomly selected as part of an administrative function, it is blatantly clear and understood how this has caused offence and been deemed insensitive.

As commander for Cardiff I accept total responsibility for this error and unreservedly apologise. I can now advise that the administrative process has been reviewed across the force area and amendments made to prevent this from happening again.

I have personally addressed this with the support officer and indeed the relevant line managers; I hope to offer some reassurance that each have given serious consideration to the situation and they also offer unreserved apologies for the insensitive name and offence caused.

I trust this personal response goes someway in providing reassurance that I have taken your concerns both very personally and seriously and trust the apology and response is accepted in the spirit it is intended; by no way an excuse or any form of justification but a genuine heart felt apology.

Thank you for taking the time to read this personal response; if I can be of any further assistance please advise.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda Davies

Chief Superintendent/Prif Uwcharolygydd

Eastern BCU/Dwyreiniol BCU

Great success! :)

There's been more than one Operation Nigeria. ;)

Operation Nigeria - ongoing investigation into the unsolved murder of private detective Daniel Morgan in 1987.

Operation Nigeria, the surveillance of Southern Investigations between May and September 1999, was run by the Metropolitan police's anti-corruption squad CIB3.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2002/sep/21/privacy

Interestingly, the cases were about both about corruption. We're not the only ones being singled out here with negative implications.

Nigeria is a country not an enthic group. People from Nigeria are Nigerians which is an ethnic group. Like I said if you don't want trouble don't name your police operations after ethnic groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

What about "Operation Jew", for the investigation into the Anglo-Irish bank fiasco ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Jester252 wrote: »
    Nigeria is a country not an enthic group. People from Nigeria are Nigerians which is an ethnic group. Like I said if you don't want trouble don't name your police operations after ethnic groups.

So your saying it's okay to call it Operation Ireland but not Operation Irish?:confused:

Both are just as potentially offensive. Would've made headlines either way.

They should name these operations like Hurricanes. No-one ever gets offended by hurricanes.

So your saying it's okay to call it Operation Ireland but not Operation Irish?:confused:

Both are just as potentially offensive. Would've made headlines either way.

They should name these operations like Hurricanes. No-one ever gets offended by hurricanes.

Ireland is a place. Irish is an ethic group. Many different ethic groups exist in Ireland. Operation Ireland wouldn't have been as offensive because it is not aimed at a specific group of people.