Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Easing down for marathon, Advice?

• 15-10-2013 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭

Although I can't run for a while I was just hoping to get some advice on the best way of easing up on training coming to a race. How do ye guys ease off coming up to a race in relation to gym etc. Do ye go to gym the week of a race? Do ye lift heavy with low reps or lift light with reps. Also, should you take a complete break from running the week of a race to save yourself for the race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Although I can't run for a while I was just hoping to get some advice on the best way of easing up on training coming to a race. How do ye guys ease off coming up to a race in relation to gym etc. Do ye go to gym the week of a race? Do ye lift heavy with low reps or lift light with reps. Also, should you take a complete break from running the week of a race to save yourself for the race?

Are you talking about a Marathon (i.e. 26.2 miles) or any distance race?
    I see from previous posts you are a sprinter.....I am not sure many of the distance runners round here would really do many weights or gym work and I am not sure many sprinters do Marathons....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭donnbradman

menoscemo wrote: »
    Are you talking about a Marathon (i.e. 26.2 miles) or any distance race?
    I see from previous posts you are a sprinter.....I am not sure many of the distance runners round here would really do many weights or gym work and I am not sure many sprinters do Marathons....

I kept it short so I wouldn't have to explain myself, but I am coaching at the moment and I got asked this question this evening. It was actually a girl who is running a 10 k at the weekend. I don't know if she goes to the gym herself but the way she phrased it sounded in to me it was friend who wanted advice in regard to strength and conditioning the week of a race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I kept it short so I wouldn't have to explain myself, but I am coaching at the moment and I got asked this question this evening. It was actually a girl who is running a 10 k at the weekend. I don't know if she goes to the gym herself but the way she phrased it sounded in to me it was friend who wanted advice in regard to strength and conditioning the week of a race.

Well a 10k and a marathon would be a fair bit different. For a Marathon you would generally be easing off your training for 2-3 weeks before the race.

For a 10k, might do a light session 4 days out to get the legs used to race pace (something like 4 x 1k at race pace). Other than that I would still run most days just keep the pace nice and easy.
    For S & C, I wouldn't know. I'd imagine you'd just stick to what you do most weeks and not do anything too strenuous the day before the race...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

What kinda work is she doing at the moment? My advice would be if it is circuit style work decrease the number of circuits she does (from 3 to 2 sets for example)

If its a general style 3x10 reps my advice would be to reduce the weight to about 60% to 70%

I would avoid any form of 5x5 style workout. Its too intense to be doing the week of a race and its not getting the right stimulus if you reduce the weights

If its Cross fit give a miss for a week (similar enough reasons to the above)

BW work is fine to leave as is if they have been doing it for more than 6 weeks other than that their body is still adapting to the new stimulus and as such may negatively effect performance on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Read this article last week, which suggests that for a significant goal, you should consider easing back on strength training 8-14 days before your goal race, to maximize power output (strength does decline, from the point at which you cease strength training). It doesn't really draw any data-based conclusions, but speculates that:
    ...one to two weeks in advance might be an interesting time to stop.
    resistance_training_cessation.jpg

Personally, as a marathoner, I don't go to the gym at all, but do lots of rock-climbing in an indoor climbing centre. I will definitely ease back the week before the race, but more in the interest of injury avoidance. Last climb will likely be 4-5 days before the marathon.