Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is "tool" and "toolbox" used as an insult

• 12-10-2013 8:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭

eg: "You're some tool" "You're a complete toolbox"

As far as I know tools are extremely useful so it's akin to telling someone they're useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

welkin wrote: »

As far as I know tools are extremely useful so it's akin to telling someone they're useful.

Yeah they are useful but only if someone uses them. They cant do anything on their own?? That would be my understanding of the insult. Kinda like not the sharpest tool in the box, a few slices short of the full sliced pan etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Tool" the band hates that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Doug lee is a toolbox

spanner

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Ya bleedin spanner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Was told I had eyes like spanners. Every time men look into them their nuts tighten.

You're not the sharpest tool in the box are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

spanner

spoon

Sauve wrote: »
    spoon

Yes please ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

You... N I P P L E. Heard one of the brothers Gallagher say that. You have to say it extra slow for full effect.

Your some Cornflake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

We have toolbox talks every morning in work.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I use tool and toolbag quite a bit but my personal favorite is 'your some fanny pad!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

'Ginnit' is a personal favourite of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Interesting, in the same way that a "langer" is a measuring device used in aircraft maintenance to calibrate the fulangee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Because you're a ham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

'Dick holster' is a goo 'un

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭simonsays1

You oul wrench ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Heard somebody on one of the Gordon Ramsey shows call someone a "f**kin' blowjob."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

Heard somebody say one day in work to another lad, "You're some claw hammer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

welkin wrote: »

Prefer the old carpentry insults myself,

you plank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

You Sledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Horse would be more polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Tool: Penis

I've never heard anyone use toolbox as an insult.. I guess it might mean vagina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

(for the car lovers amongst yous) You fecking dipstick!
    But really, any words said in a certain way sound insulting:
    You bar of soap, you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

"Rodney you dipstick"