Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it possible to prepare for a marathon with limited outdoor running?

• 12-10-2013 4:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

Okay, I'm wondering if it is possible to prepare for a marathon with limited outdoor running.
    Facts about me.
    A) 51 years old
    B) 6ft and weight just under 13 1/2 stone
    C) no major running history beyond doing the Belfast marathon in 1982
    D) 6 or 7 years after ago weight came on so tried to get fit by running but kept getting a lot of leg pain
    E) Finally got it looked at and had thickening of achilles and slight tear.
    F) physio helped but kept getting muscle injuries when running. Max distance got to was 8km then pop another muscle tear.

So about 3 years ago gave up on idea of running (mostly) and took up cycling. Have built up my fitness, dropped weight by 3 stone and completed bike rides such as Dublin - Galway, Dublin - Birmingham and Passau - Vienna.

However, my problem is I still want to run a marathon before it is too late, if that is not the case already.

So of late I have got back on a cushioned treadmill in the gym, been careful, left 2 to 3 days between runs, visited Amphibian, king for new runners, stretched well and slowly upped the workload.

I have done a max run of 14 km in 80 min and 2 consecutive day runs of 6km in 30 min. All of this has got me thinking a marathon may be possible, however I am worried about upping the running, in terms of distance and frequency, as I think I may injure myself again.

My questions are
    A) whether it is possible to prepare for a marathon by running 2 times a week?
    B) can I continue to use a cushioned treadmill for some of these?
    C) can I use cycling etc to build cardiovascular fitness required for the marathon?
    D) anybody know of a training plan out there that may suit me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Just my opinion, but based on the training window and limitations you have, running a marathon might be a big ask. Have you considered a walk/run strategy? Many people walk the entire distance, but in your case, you should be in a position to run parts of the course. Have a look for some marathon walking training programs. If you could run two times a week and supplement that with walking a couple of other days, you'd put yourself in a good position to complete a marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

Yes, it's possible, but an incremental approach is key.
    You are capable of running a solid 10k race at the moment with your current level of training so why not do this first? Then it's very easily to ramp up from there over about 6 months to first a 10 mile race and then a half marathon. This will give you a big confidence boost and is the best approach to reaching your eventual goal without breaking down with injury.
    There are reasons why you can't scale from a half marathon to a full as easily - it needs specific training to build an endurance base - but you will then be at a level then you can do it with a standard marathon program. Hal Higdon is one of the most popular ones that is suitable for a first timer. Lots of good advice and guidance on boards.ie as well.

Re. Injury prevention, your best approach is to run on grass as much as possible where you have less impact to absorb and are running with a normal stride. Some nice Coillte trails as well that are a lot more fun to explore than a treadmill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Thanks Krusty and mitril.
    The plan, if you can call it that, is to aim for berlin 2014.

Krusty, I would prefer to run the whole way if possible as I worked a bit of the way when I did the Belfast marathon in 1982 and it has always annoyed me that I didn't run the whole thing. I've come across the F. I R S T plan that seems to say I could do running 3 times a week combined with cycling a couple of days.

Mitril, as you suggested I think I will aim at building a base over the winter by combining running and cycling. There are no great grass areas by me but I'll give the beach a go and see how I feel. Just found out about Parkrun so might give that a go as I think it is on grass. Is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Just found out about Parkrun so might give that a go as I think it is on grass. Is it?
    Parkrun's are on path, but there's usually grass alongside the path. As long as you're not cutting corners, I'm sure nobody would be bothered if you ran on the grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

You can run off road for a certain amount, but at the same point your legs and feet will have to get used to the pounding you get from the tarmac. Training on roads is an absolute necessity for road races.

What gets you injured is not necessarily the surface but doing too much too soon. Gradually increasing the miles on the road can get you to 26 miles without injury, though it can be tricky to gauge how much your body can tolerate.

Age is not an issue, btw. 51 is not particularly old. Don't use that as an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Age is not an issue, btw. 51 is not particularly old. Don't use that as an excuse.

Fastest marathon runner in our club of 250 is 50 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

There are no great grass areas by me but I'll give the beach a go and see how I feel.

Be careful about beach running. Hard sand is OK but running on soft sand is asking for trouble (as well as being unnecessarily difficult).

murphd77 wrote: »
    Be careful about beach running. Hard sand is OK but running on soft sand is asking for trouble (as well as being unnecessarily difficult).
    Thanks for the tip, just read some articles on it and it doesn't seem like a good idea for somebody with injury concerns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 timchapman

My dad did his first marathon at 52 then at 67 last year did Limerick .
    Never to old, just build up steady

timchapman wrote: »
    My dad did his first marathon at 52 then at 67 last year did Limerick .
    Never to old, just build up steady

Hi Tim,
    Could you tell me how often he runs per week now and when he was 52. Also what time did he achieve when he was 52?

Hi Tim,
    Could you tell me how often he runs per week now and when he was 52. Also what time did he achieve when he was 52?

5 times a week. Nice and steady. He did it in 5 hours was just looking for the finish. He still runs 5 times a week and he uses his bike a bit as well.

He has just signed up for his first 50 mile race in the lake district in July he will be 68:) Never too old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Itziger

Age is definitely not the issue as almost all on here know by first or second hand. A good friend of mine has done a few marathons on 2 runs a week. He has almost NEVER done more than 2 for his own, slightly bizarre, reasons. He is 50 and is sub 4hr marathoner. I reckon if he could train properly and pick a flattish course, he'd be around 3.30 or less.

Itziger wrote: »
    Age is definitely not the issue as almost all on here know by first or second hand. A good friend of mine has done a few marathons on 2 runs a week. He has almost NEVER done more than 2 for his own, slightly bizarre, reasons. He is 50 and is sub 4hr marathoner. I reckon if he could train properly and pick a flattish course, he'd be around 3.30 or less.

What type of runs does he do? Are they both distance or is one speed and the other distance?

He does a Friday run of about 12k I believe - I'll ask him later - and his "long" run on Sunday. This goes from about 12 again in 'off' season to 34 or so in marathon prep. I keep on suggesting he does a bit more, just one more! and that he mix it up a bit as far as pace goes but he's a stubborn old Kerry man.

His work is fairly tough so I know time is not easy or flexible but on the other hand he doesn't have any kids.

He's done roughly 10 half marathons, pb of 1.44 I think (I was spectating so I remember he dipped under the 1.45) and he's done 3 marathons, 4th in Dublin coming up. He did his first ever 10k earlier this year after I'd kept at him to give it a lash.

Thanks for the replies. I'm going to try building up stamina etc over the winter by using the treadmill. I'm aiming at three runs per week with cycling most days, stretching everyday and weights three times a week.

This week was

Mon - 15k cycle in 30 min, 6k run in 32:45
    Tuesday - 15 k Cycle in 30 min, weights
    Wed - 60 min cycling in gym,
    Thurs - 15k cycle 30 min, weights
    Fri - 5k run in 24:15, cycle 15k in 30 min
    Sat weights, 60 min on bike in gym
    Sun 15k run in 1:24:45

Aim to use treadmill till get to half marathon and then add incline of 1%, reduce cushioning and begin short runs outdoors.

Target is Marathon in September, either Berlin or Wachau.

Did 5k Parkrun today, took it steady, finished in 27 min as opposed to 23.59 this week on treadmill.

Result calf strain and limping around supermarket. Bollix!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Did 5k Parkrun today, took it steady, finished in 27 min as opposed to 23.59 this week on treadmill.

Result calf strain and limping around supermarket. Bollix!!!

Your treadmill time can't be compared to outdoor running, particularly if you have the incline at 0.0 as that merely simulates running down hill. You need to make the incline 1.0 to simulate running on flat terrain.

So, me buddy who does his max 2 runs a week and who was carrying a hoor of an injury just came home in 3.51. Well done Tim!

Itziger wrote: »
    So, me buddy who does his max 2 runs a week and who was carrying a hoor of an injury just came home in 3.51. Well done Tim!

Decision made then. Wachau Marathon Sep 2014, 2 - 3 runs per week. Might even enter Dublin as well.