Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thursday

• 09-10-2013 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭

Note
    Adrian mCguinnes the crafty who-re that
    He is is sending 4 to Ayr tomorrow.
    Personally reckon harbin in the 4.10
    Will be the one to Make your few bob on but have backed the first 3. Toufan express has won His race this year already and can't see him figuring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

yeah, already took some of the 10/1 on Harbin
    think today could be the day for Standing Ovation for Pipe in the 3:20 at Exeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

2.40 Ayr

Compton Heights 4/1

Jim Godlie's 4 year old Compton Heights scored on the 12th time of asking when running out a comfortable winner last week over C+D in this better race that this and I think there will be a lot more to come from this late developing type. A very big horse who has clearly taken time to grow into his frame, Compton Heights had been shaping recently that his time was near and after 3 encouraging displays everything seemed to click for him 9 days ago as he travelled very well before winning comfortably by a 1.25L under Graham Lee and I think he has an outstanding chance of following up today under a 6lb penalty. From a family Jim Goldie knows very well, Compton Heights' has two full brothers were also trained by Goldie in the shape of Blazing Heights and Geojimali and given that both reached marks in the 80s at their peaks it certainly bodes well for the potential of Compton Heights who races here off a mark of 65. Looking closely at Geojimali, a very similar trend to that of Compton Heights seems to appear as it took him 9 starts to get off the mark to finally get off the mark as 4 year old at the basement level and having done so he progressed to finish the year rated 81 and it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if Compton Heights follows a similar pattern. Although unproven on soft ground, both his brothers handled cut just fine and given the size of him he may relish it as he returns to the scene of his Maiden victory as Graham Lee resumes the partnership today. In this 16 runner field, I am very sightly concerned that he's drawn in 1 on the far side which was the wrong part of the track during the Ayr Gold Cup Festival in testing conditions and if that is the case I guess we are just out of luck. Dropped back to a 0-65 race, I think Compton Heights has a lot of improvement left in him and hopefully he can land this contest before going on a surge that sees him win plenty of races as I am sure he still isn't physically the finished article just yet.

2.30 Worcester

Bertie's Desire 8/1

I think Oliver Sherwood's 5 year old Bertie's Desire is a very interesting runner today as he makes his chasing debut in a handicap having gotten his mark from in 3 Novice/Maiden hurdles and off a low mark of 96 I'm hoping he can score over the larger obstacles on his 5th career start. A full brother to Philip Hobbs very decent Princely Player who was last seen winning a handicap hurdle off a mark of 130, Bertie's Desire has definitely shaped well on a few occasions and the fact Oliver Sherwood sends him straight into a handicap chase rather than run him in a Novice chase certainly suggests he's on a mark the trainer thinks he can score off. Having bombed out in a bumper when sent off a 7/2 shot on debut at Ffos Las in April last year, Bertie's Desire certainly shaped a fair bit better on his hurdling debut last November at Fontwell over 20f (very weak in the market) when travelling stylishly for a long way before finishing very tamely under a tender ride as he looked like a very tired horse. There was definitely promise on Bertie's Desire's 2nd start over hurdles when again running well for a long way before not finishing off his race in a race that looks quite strong at Kempton back in April over 2m and on that showing I think his mark of 96 would be workable over hurdles (I think he'll make a much better chaser). On the back of that very decent run, Bertie's Desire was sent off a 3/1 shot on his final start in a Maiden hurdle at Southwell and after an early blunder he was never really at the races and finished a well beaten and disappointing 5th. Although he never really finished off his races (if it was a breathing problem and he's had an op he could be completely transformed), I was largely impressed with his jumping throughout and he very much strikes me as the sort of horse who will excel over the larger obstacles. Additionally, I saw him jump a couple of fences on Oliver Sherwood's website and was impressed at how at home he seemed jumping them. Coming here on the back of a 149 day absence, I'd be quite surprised if he doesn't come her fit enough to do himself justice and I'm very much expecting a bold show from him today at a track where Sherwood has a 23% strike rate. In this Conditional Jockeys handicap hurdle, I am delighted to see the excellent Thomas Garner booked and the extra 3lb he can take off Bertie's Desire's back is a big bonus of 10-13. Although Oliver Sherwood is without a winner since June (only 5 runners), his National Hunt team will only be starting to emerge at the moment and I think its incredibly shrewd that his first start over fences comes in a handicap. If jumping well and finishing off his race better, I think Bertie's Desire has a superb chance of landing this off a mark of 96 and hopefully he can gain his 1st success on his 5th career start before going onto bigger and better things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Beau Satchel was backed at Sligo as if he could not be beaten.He was very very unlucky on a course that is very hard to come from behind in.I think if [should ]have won he would be at least 6lbs wrong today and with that in mind I really fancy him today to get back some of the dosh that was lost last time out.Its a long way from North co,Dublin to Ayr so Id expect Ado Mc Guinness to come back with at least one winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭BQQ

McCoys mount in the last at Worcester is a massive price at double figures.

Patently didn't stay last time out (back down in trip now), was runner-up to My Lord the time before and is weighted to turn the tables on that one. McCoy rides in preference to another of today's rivals, Bombadero.
    Looks to have a huge place chance @ 10/1

Stone last. FFS, don't know why I bother sometimes.
    Apologies to anyone that took that great advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Did a reserve forecast in the 5.00 at Worcester. Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

GET IN LADS WOOO, I'm the tipping king.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

What did i miss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Johner massaging his own ego.......so nothing much really :P.

Well done Johner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

ste2010 wrote: »
    Note
    Adrian mCguinnes the crafty who-re that
    He is is sending 4 to Ayr tomorrow.
    Personally reckon harbin in the 4.10
    Will be the one to Make your few bob on but have backed the first 3. Toufan express has won His race this year already and can't see him figuring

Fook me not a sniff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭BQQ

Fook me not a sniff!

Toufan express was actually placed. The only one you didn't back.
    Murphy's law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

BQQ wrote: »
    Toufan express was actually placed. The only one you didn't back.
    Murphy's law.

I did like ste and backed the other 3 and when they did not come in said i would do small ew on TE while pissin around price dropped from 28 to 16's!!! Either was was a pissy small amout i put on :-(

The whole thing was surprising to me. Mcguinness is a serious plotter. I always keep an eye on his horses until they are 4-5 races with significant lower ratings than normal. The man loves a festival win, be it in Galway, the curragh or punchestown..have to say I was absolutely shocked with what happened today but will live to fight another day

The only positive I guess was the steaming into favouritism of beau satchel but then was withdrawn. It's be worth keeping an eye out where he ends up next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

The only positive I guess was the steaming into favouritism of beau satchel but then was withdrawn. It's be worth keeping an eye out where he ends up next.

Was he backed again yesterday

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Was he backed again yesterday

Yep. Can't remember off my head what price it went into exactly think it was around 3 or 4-1. Was 7's the night before I think.

One of the horses you like running today urban be it over hurdles. Wayward prince.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Saw that alright ste really thought he had a big handicap chase in him last year until they ruined his mark when he was second cant remember was it behind Silviniaco or Long Run