Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sevy trophy - disappointing tournament

• 06-10-2013 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

I must say it was a bit underwhelming watching the 2013 version. Despite the usual big sell from Sky - pretending some these guys might possibly feature next year in Gleneagles - the tournament needs the big names to be present. Compared to the Presidents Cup the Sevt trophy was a non event.
    Let's face it, who really wants to watch these guys in a golf team event...
    Scott Jamieson
    David Lynn
    Jamie Donaldson
    Marc Warren
    Chris Wood
    Stephen Gallacher
    Tommy Fleetwood
    - none of them will feature in the Ryder Cup, unless they are driving the buggies around. A few of these might get into the team...
    Miguel Angel Jimenez
    Nicolas Colsaerts
    Francesco Molinari
    Matteo Manassero
    Jamie Donaldson
    Paul Casey
    Paul Lawrie
    In any event the Ryder team will have these guys in there...
    Lee Westwood
    Luke Donald
    Rory McIlroy
    Henrik Stenson
    Greame McDowell
    Ian Poulter
    Justin Rose
    Sergio Garcia
    Martin Kaymer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Goldenjohn

TerryOC wrote: »
    I must say it was a bit underwhelming watching the 2013 version. Despite the usual big sell from Sky - pretending some these guys might possibly feature next year in Gleneagles - the tournament needs the big names to be present. Compared to the Presidents Cup the Sevt trophy was a non event.
    Scott Jamieson
    David Lynn
    Jamie Donaldson
    Marc Warren
    Chris Wood
    Stephen Gallacher
    Tommy Fleetwood
    - none of them will feature in the Ryder Cup, unless they are driving the buggies around. A few of these might get into the team...
    Miguel Angel Jimenez
    Nicolas Colsaerts
    Francesco Molinari
    Matteo Manassero
    Jamie Donaldson
    Paul Casey
    Paul Lawrie
    Lee Westwood
    Luke Donald
    Rory McIlroy
    Henrik Stenson
    Greame McDowell
    Ian Poulter
    Justin Rose
    Sergio Garcia
    Martin Kaymer

You should make your mind up about Jamie Donaldson......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

Any reason Shane Lowry didn't get the call? I thought he'd have got a spot on the GB&I team.

In all honesty the whole tournament seemed like a challenge match for the Ryder cup reserve team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

Must confess I had zero interest in it or the Presidents cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭big_drive

I found the Seve trophy better viewing than the presidents cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,647 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

big_drive wrote: »

Got brief highlights of Thurs/Fri, watched an hour of it on Ssturday morning. I don't think I seen a putt holed from over 6 feet. From the bits I watched, there was no comparison. Presidents was a different level.

Are you referring to the quality of golf when you say "better viewing"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 TerryOC

At least the crowds came out in he US. All fairways & greens had crowds cheering on the teams. In Paris it was a bit like "one man & his dog" out for a stroll - no buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 TerryOC

He is entitled to be in both lists. He is a possible to make the Ryder cup team but also qualifies for the "who would want to watch them" team...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

At least it turned into a contest unlike the non event that was the Presidents Cup. Could you imagine the scoreline if all the GB and Ire big guns from the PGA tour played in it, continental Europe would be lucky to get to 7/8 pts. Think it's good for the European tour players to get a feel for the Ryder Cup style of play and of course being a bias Irishman it was poor to see no Irish involvement in the GB team and if there was one maybe it would have been more interesting for us to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

It's becoming a big problem..........with the Sky era everybody likes to watch the big names on TV. However for those tournaments which feature lesser names then nobody really wants to watch. I think we get spoilt and then we don't appreciate good players that aren't in the top 50 in the world.

mr.jingle wrote: »
    At least it turned into a contest unlike the non event that was the Presidents Cup. Could you imagine the scoreline if all the GB and Ire big guns from the PGA tour played in it, continental Europe would be lucky to get to 7/8 pts. Think it's good for the European tour players to get a feel for the Ryder Cup style of play and of course being a bias Irishman it was poor to see no Irish involvement in the GB team and if there was one maybe it would have been more interesting for us to watch

Europe would get hammered if both sides had all available players???
    Think you missing the fact that a lot of top Europeans didnt play in it either

stockdam wrote: »
    It's becoming a big problem..........with the Sky era everybody likes to watch the big names on TV. However for those tournaments which feature lesser names then nobody really wants to watch. I think we get spoilt and then we don't appreciate good players that aren't in the top 50 in the world.

I don't know, I'll happily watch Challenge Tour, EuroPro... Christ, I'll even watch the Trilby Tour :)
    The let down for me was that it "could" be a great comp, but sadly, it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Oilbeefhooked!

Scott Jamieson
    David Lynn
    Jamie Donaldson
    Marc Warren
    Chris Wood
    Stephen Gallacher
    Tommy Fleetwood
    Miguel Angel Jimenez
    Nicolas Colsaerts
    Francesco Molinari
    Matteo Manassero
    Jamie Donaldson
    Paul Casey
    Paul Lawrie
    Lee Westwood
    Luke Donald
    Rory McIlroy
    Henrik Stenson
    Greame McDowell
    Ian Poulter
    Justin Rose
    Sergio Garcia
    Martin Kaymer

Personally come Gleneagles 2014 ,I'd be looking to watch the form 12 players in Europe come that time!
    Scott Jamieson
    David Lynn
    Jamie Donaldson
    Marc Warren
    Chris Wood
    Stephen Gallacher
    Tommy Fleetwood
    Are all class golfers , any of them could have a great 2014 season and make the team.
    Would rather watch any of them on form than Rory or Kaymer playing the guff they are at the moment!
    Rightly it will all come down to who is doing the biz in 2014 - joost luiten prob wouldn't be someone you'd expect in the team but the way he's going at the moment he's looking like a cert!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,738 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Any reason Shane Lowry didn't get the call? I thought he'd have got a spot on the GB&I team.

In all honesty the whole tournament seemed like a challenge match for the Ryder cup reserve team.

He didn't qualify even after all the withdrawals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Goldenjohn

He is entitled to be in both lists. He is a possible to make the Ryder cup team but also qualifies for the "who would want to watch them" team...

Think thats a contradiction in my book....anyway im getting pedantic, back to the point. I had zero interest...think i might be getting golf fatigue at this stage in the season although i did watch some presidents cup. If the ST was played on a links course next time it might have more interest for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

All the ****e talk during the Ryder cup about Seve....."ohh he was defiantly there.....we felt his presence".....Justin Rose pointing to Seve on his jumper. Yet none of them turn up for the Seve trophy.

Absolute shower of ***** lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

big_drive wrote: »

Did we watch the same tournaments? The golf on display at the president's cup was some of the best I have witnessed all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

All the ****e talk during the Ryder cup about Seve....."ohh he was defiantly there.....we felt his presence".....Justin Rose pointing to Seve on his jumper. Yet none of them turn up for the Seve trophy.

Absolute shower of ***** lol.

Wouldn't agree with that point.
    Just because its called the seve doesn't mean that all the top ryder guys have some emotional obligation to play. if I set up a tournament in my back yard n called it the seve would you expect them to troop over???

the ryder cup is a massive tournament that is directly associated with seve because of the heroics he pulled off in it.
    the seve is just something for McGinley to take notes at.

I think anyone who watched the ryder will agree that whatever way you want to describe it - there was definitely some very powerful motivation lifting the spirits of the Europeans. Seve was used as a focal point - that is what rose etc were getting at.

as for your final comment - might be better off having a look at yourself before you take a pop at those lads. going by that comment you aren't fit to clean their balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Had no interest in either event to be honest, especially when Keegan Bradley knocked the guy on the floor on that driveable Par 4!

A couple of things I would say is that it should be used as a warm up to the Ryder Cup to test pairings etc, the players didn't want to play for free so surely there is some way of incentivising it, I mean the Worl Cup of Golf has ranking points for christ sake.......Why isn't the Seve Trophy played in Spain, can't understand why they would play it in France considering turnout has and always will be poor. To be honest if they played it in Ireland, you would prob get a gate of 20k people a day!

Final point, Miguel Angel Jiminez is still a legend!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

agree with SSBob
    disappointing that the ryder cup will be in France in 2018

admittedly having it in GB / Ire is the best in my op - but if not then at least give it to Spain where someone might have at least a passing interest.

Interesting to see who will buy the tickets in 2018 - my money is on more being sold to brits n paddys than French.

ssbob wrote: »

I can't wait to get old just so I can be a tiny bit like him!

With regards entertainment value, the Presidents had this over the Seve...

Mods: I'm not sure if this is allowed so please delete if needs be.
    Female streaker at the Presidents this weekend, all the bits covered up but NSFW

http://www.joe.ie/sports/golf/pics-female-streaker-storms-the-course-at-presidents-cup/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Europe would get hammered if both sides had all available players???
    Think you missing the fact that a lot of top Europeans didnt play in it either

I see where you are coming from but the Continental{all but 1 in the worlds top 100} team was considerably stronger with the original teams than what GB and Ire team{That had 5 players in the top 100} would be without there top players.

They were missing: Rose,Donald,McIlroy,McDowell,Poulter,Westwood that's more than half a team and one that oozes matchplay quality and would put the fear factor into any team.

The continentals would be getting: Stenson,Kaymer,Garcia with Blixt and Hanson at a push. I know which team i'd rather have.

7/8 points may have been harsh but it's no coincidence that the Continental team won when GB had there weakest team ever to play and only by a match

mr.jingle wrote: »
    I see where you are coming from but the Continental{all but 1 in the worlds top 100} team was considerably stronger with the original teams than what GB and Ire team{That had 5 players in the top 100} would be without there top players.

They were missing: Rose,Donald,McIlroy,McDowell,Poulter,Westwood that's more than half a team and one that oozes matchplay quality and would put the fear factor into any team.

The continentals would be getting: Stenson,Kaymer,Garcia with Blixt and Hanson at a push. I know which team i'd rather have.

7/8 points may have been harsh but it's no coincidence that the Continental team won when GB had there weakest team ever to play and only by a match

I'd favour the GB&I team if both were at full strength but only slightly, don't think there's much of a difference.
    Europe would have a mix of some really in form players this year with some old heads that would be a perfect combo for match play.
    I'd rate this team, if I'd a choice to captain the two, it'd be these lads over GB&I... They'd win it under me and it'd be better craic :)

Stenson
    Garcia
    Manassero
    Blixt
    Kaymer
    Hanson
    Jimenez
    Bjorn
    Molinari
    Olesen

10 of the Top 50 players in the world in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

ssbob wrote: »
    Had no interest in either event to be honest, especially when Keegan Bradley knocked the guy on the floor on that driveable Par 4!

A couple of things I would say is that it should be used as a warm up to the Ryder Cup to test pairings etc, the players didn't want to play for free so surely there is some way of incentivising it, I mean the Worl Cup of Golf has ranking points for christ sake.......Why isn't the Seve Trophy played in Spain, can't understand why they would play it in France considering turnout has and always will be poor. To be honest if they played it in Ireland, you would prob get a gate of 20k people a day!

I don't like to pee on your parade bob but this is what happened last time the Seve trophy was held in Ireland...

http://www.golftoday.co.uk/news/yeartodate/news_07/seve_trophy_2.html

:(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I don't like to pee on your parade bob but this is what happened last time the Seve trophy was held in Ireland...

these quotes didn't help the numbers at the time i bet.
    The competition, won 16 1/2-11 1/2 by Britain and Ireland, was not helped by the withdrawal of British Open champion Padraig Harrington and the lack of any Irish players.

While the two teams were playing in front of a handful of fans, a big agricultural show nearby attracted thousands of spectators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Was only a bit part golf fan myself at that stage and attended my first event the following year at Baltray when I followed Monty around on the final day, there was at least 2k to 3k following his group alone!

There was a serious of unfortunate events maybe that led to the 2007 version being poorly attended but agreed that if there was no Irishman in the team then Irish people won't come out.

I would definitely go.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I was one of those 5,000 :o I must admit I never thought the attendance was THAT low, but as said Harrington pulling out & the ploughing championship really hit it badly, weather wasn't great either.

On the upside it was very easy to get parking, great course to walk around, and I got to see the late great Seve in the flesh one last time.