Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another supplement or not.

• 05-10-2013 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

Hi lads I'm training away. Training hard.

Suppose my goals are simple I'm dropping weight and want some muscle.

I'm 6ft 19stone but carry it very well. As in I don't look overly fat or heavy. I'm a big enough guy anyway.

I'm fairly strong and getting stronger my running is progressing and my met cons.

My diet is good could be better but it is decent. I take protein shakes after training and the morning after training. Any other one after that will be for handyness sake. I'm eating plenty of chicken, eggs, fish and Veggies.

I'm taking fish oils and glucosamine I try every day but I do forget.
    I feel I could be taking something else for my muscle. Ie bcaa's or creatine or what or should I even bother.
    Main gaol is to get fat off so in suppose weight gainers are out

Thanks guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭alsace royal

what protein are you using now?
    as for fat loss theres plenty of products out there like this http://www.hpnutrition.ie/Shop-by-Brand/Grenade/Grenade-Fat-Burner-100-Caps iv never used it but people i know swear by it.

i suspose your budget comes into it also with the supplements, bcca's are very effective. the protein blend i use has them incorpreated tbh i swear by blends more so than just whey, iv gone through a lot of brands and products untill i found musclepharm, would never even consider changing from it. well worth your time trying it at least, also the MP pre trainer assault helps with fat loss,
    now there just my opinions and every one will be different, i will put a link at the bottom to MP page so you can read up yourself a see the products.

have you tought of using any recovery shakes for post traning? another supplement i use is L-glutamine it comes with a host of benifits from recovery to been a natureal mood elevator, it can be got in holland and barret on the penny sale regularly so it 11 euro for 100 500mg tablets, i take one a day on non training days and 3000 mg on training days split before and after training.
    a high quality multi vitimen is also very important, when training hard your using far more of the bodys resources than the normal person and these need to be replaced, altho im not saying go to the extreams of animal pak which can be quite severe on the system, iv just ordered 'armor-v' a multi vit designed for lifters but havent started it yet, i was using centrum.
    createin is good for muscle growth and some say it can boost the natural muscle building capabilitys almost like a mild natural steroid but you will retain water on it which you may not want if looking to look smaller, also very important to drink quite a bit of water with it to flush liver/kidneys theres some talk of prelonged heavy use damaging these (still without deff proof) i use it but cycle it 3mths on 3 mths off. and the water retention can help aid lactic acid build up to get a couple more reps which is always a plus.

these are just my toughts and other ppl wil prob have diff opinions but hope it of some help to you. pm me if you ever have a question or that would be happy to help if i can.

http://musclepharm.com/store/supplements/all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

The protein I have at the min is scitec nutrition. 100% whey I thinks it's the professional
    The one in the red tube. I find it ok before that I had wp8 and found that good enough maybe a little hard to mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

At 18 stone your progress will be decided by diet. BCAAs, creatine, pre-workout etc are only going to make a tiny, almost unnoticeable difference.
    My diet is good could be better but it is decent.
    The is the issue slowing progress.

What's your last comment mean mellor.

I think it means cop on and get it 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

What's your last comment mean mellor.

I think it means cop on and get it 100%.
    Pretty much that's it. Extra supps will makes tiny difference, getting your diet spot on will make a huge difference.

Mellor wrote: »
    Pretty much that's it. Extra supps will makes tiny difference, getting your diet spot on will make a huge difference.

Cool ye I completely understand what your saying. To be honest diet has always been my problem not training. Ill train as good as most and I would but always struggled with my diet. I do get fairly bored with food doe.

Like today I had
    Breakfast I had
    2 slices of toast. And a bottle of coke to be honest its killing me to write that been honest. I do try have eggs and bacon every morning sometimes it doesn't happen.

Then at 11 I had boiled egg and banana

Now at 1 another boiled egg and banana

Prob another boiled egg at 3pm with an apple

Then for dinner ill have a home cooked dinner from mince to lamb to stew.

Then after training chicken breast and maybe beans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Cool ye I completely understand what your saying. To be honest diet has always been my problem not training. Ill train as good as most and I would but always struggled with my diet. I do get fairly bored with food doe.

Like today I had
    Breakfast I had
    2 slices of toast. And a bottle of coke to be honest its killing me to write that been honest. I do try have eggs and bacon every morning sometimes it doesn't happen.

Then at 11 I had boiled egg and banana

Now at 1 another boiled egg and banana

Prob another boiled egg at 3pm with an apple

Then for dinner ill have a home cooked dinner from mince to lamb to stew.

Then after training chicken breast and maybe beans.

Theres something not right with that diet and your weight, what are you leaving out? Are the dinner portions massive?

I'm only on the diet a few weeks. The dinner I suppose is a little big but it's mainly meat and veg filling the plate.

Ok fair enough if you have just started. Try to cut out the toast a bit, and definitely knock off the coke. Even coke zero would be a start. Have you an idea of roughly how many calories or protein you are getting into you?

No not really to be honest. I do try have as much protein in every meal. But as for caleries I haven't a clue to be honest. I'm holding its less than 2000 anyway hopefully.

That seems pretty low, eating too little could slow down your weight loss. Use something like myfitnesspal to track your eating for a bit, see what your macros are like.

Macros ????

Macros ????

Protein/carbs/fat. Most people eat to many carbs and not enough protein. Are you doing any weight lifting?

Ye some strength training mostly mass muscle movements only. And then some metcons. I'm actually doing crossfit.

Cheers for your time and info lad.

Ok, make sure you are eating enough protein if you are lifting - about 2 grams per kg of bodyweight (this is debatable). Your diet is the largest part of losing weight/gaining muscle. You need to get a handle on how much you are eating a day and how much you should be eating. Running, metcons and lifting will all help you drop weight and change your body shape but if you aren't fuelling it right you are gimping your progress.

This is a great website and covers pretty much everything you should need to know. It has a BMR calc which should help you work out how many calories you need daily. Use myfitnesspal or another tracker to track your food intake for a bit, until you get a handle on it. Get your diet right and you'll see a massive difference.

To answer your original post, i wouldn't bother with any supplements apart from creatine myself, but i am bulking. For you maybe drink some green tea during the day and have a cup of coffee before you work out. You might need to get some whey protein if you aren't eating enough protein, but its always preferable to use real food if you can. Good sites to buy it off are bulkpowders, myprotein and theproteinworks.