Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could I be gay?

• 02-10-2013 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'v always been intrested in women. However, recently I started watching gay porn and it really turns me on. I'v never had sex with a man and i'v never really found men attractive in day to day life.

Little confused here lads.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭unfortunately

Do you fantasise about gay experiences? Porn is sexual so you could just be reacting to that. I am no expert. You could be bisexual. It doesn't have to be 50% female/50% male, you could only like guys the odd time.

When I was growing up, I knew I was gay - I liked watching homoerotic stuff, and light gay porn. But didn't really want to do those things in real life, but as I became more comfortable with myself. I became more confident in my attraction to men.

How do you feel about these attractions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Nattyyyy

gayman?? wrote: »
    I'v always been intrested in women. However, recently I started watching gay porn and it really turns me on. I'v never had sex with a man and i'v never really found men attractive in day to day life.

You are who you are... but hey give a guy and gal a go and see which one you prefer or you'll probably prefer both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

It's a sliding scale. Only you can know where you are on it. Nothing in life is ever just black and white. It's all varying shades of grey.

Don't get too hung up on it. It is a bit scary, but you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Dr. Shrike

I've definitely encountered bisexual men who are not too fussed about their level of sexual attraction to men, they just crave physical and emotional contact with men.

But, you could just have picked up a fetish for sexual dominance/being dominated and it doesn't matter what sex the other person is. Or something else along those lines.

There was an interesting article in Gay Times recently about straight men who love sex with other men. It's not available for free online though (slightly NSFW picture in link) http://www.gaytimes.co.uk/Magazine/InThisIssue-articleid-9590-sectionid-805.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey,
    Sometimes lads watch too much porn and they start going more and more extreme as the normal stuff just doesn't cut it and sometimes they get off on porn that doesn't match their sexual orientation.

Type in "the great porn experiment" on youtube. Intresting tedx talk

In the past I have had sexual thoughts about men but not many. To be honest I think it's the thought of anal sex that turns me on.. Probably rare? but I even think about having anal sex with women and when checking a person out one of the first things I look at is the ass..

It's just when discussing this with my mates they all seem disgusted by the thought of doing it with a man or a women..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭MarriedButBi

gay man?? wrote: »
    In the past I have had sexual thoughts about men but not many. To be honest I think it's the thought of anal sex that turns me on.. Probably rare? but I even think about having anal sex with women and when checking a person out one of the first things I look at is the ass..

It's just when discussing this with my mates they all seem disgusted by the thought of doing it with a man or a women..

Hi. I wouldn't lose too much sleep over it, you sound a lot like me. All this stuff is totally taboo with mates. Be it getting a finger in your ass while you are getting a blow job, or having some sort of lust for cock or whatever. You should try it and see how you get on with it. As a poster earlier mentioned, a lot is to do with porn. The reality of it can be quite different. Sexuality is a spectrum, few of us are 100% straight or gay, experiment and see how you get on.

If a straight man is very aroused by anal sex with women and also isn't repulsed on a basic level by men having sex with men, then I don't think it would be that surprising if he could be aroused by gay porn.

Lots of gay guys, who don't have any sexual interest in women, get aroused by straight anal sex scenes.

Now, if it goes beyond the visual, and he wants to have actual sex with another man, then maybe there is a proper element of bisexuality there. Though it still could be only a small aspect of his overall sexual identity.

I'v been thinking about this a lot over the past week or so and I think I might be Bi or atleast have a very strange fetish for anal sex..

The first thing I do when looking at a women is check her ass out and I never give much thought about tits, body and the vaginal sex doesnt really do anything for me. infact i kinda get turned off by it sometimes but the anal sex really turns me on.

I am very picky about women so I suppose i'd be the same with men, i'v never been around gay men/women which is why i'm still that bit confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Michaeltgirl

Can so relate to this thread!

am i gay?? wrote: »
    I am very picky about women so I suppose i'd be the same with men, i'v never been around gay men/women which is why i'm still that bit confused

Try setting yourself up with a Manhunt account. Upload a few faceless pictures and make it clear that you're not sure exactly what you're looking for. That way you can chat to men without having to feel guilty about wasting their time, if it doesn't lead to sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

TBH OP, people like different things. I consider myself pretty much 100% lesbian but I wouldn't necessarily be adverse to watching porn with men in- sometimes it's just hot no matter who's in it!!

As for the ass thing, you should look up 'pegging', since you have said you like the idea of anal, and not just 'one way'. And ignore your mates, so many get bees in their bonnets about anything that has even the vaguest whiff of 'not usual' to it- or at least they won't admit to liking it or thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 couldibegay?

Dr. Shrike wrote: »
    Try setting yourself up with a Manhunt account. Upload a few faceless pictures and make it clear that you're not sure exactly what you're looking for. That way you can chat to men without having to feel guilty about wasting their time, if it doesn't lead to sex.

I tried doing somthing similar before. I find people don't wanna talk to you unless they actually know what you look like.. I don't blame them really lol

I'm not to sure what i'll do.. I don't drink either so I think i'm stuck with the porn for now :o

I tried doing somthing similar before. I find people don't wanna talk to you unless they actually know what you look like.. I don't blame them really lol

I'm not to sure what i'll do.. I don't drink either so I think i'm stuck with the porn for now :o

I suppose you just need to commit to being bicurious enough to take the risk of sending a face pic to someone.

If you want to engage in more interactive sexual content, to check your response to it, you could always try Cam4. I'm not suggesting using a webcam yourself, but communicating with someone who does. Telling them what you'd like to see etc. That way there's more feedback and consequence to your sexual desires, rather than just recorded pixels onscreen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 MYSTERYHOUR

gayman?? wrote: »

By asking other gay guys if you could be gay, they can only tell you their own experience, which limits their response.

Like most who ask questions, you probably already know the answer to your own question and don't need others to tell you if you are gay or not. We don't know. Only you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Mysteryhour Please desist in trolling the forum. Posters do not have to justify themselves.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭georgesstreet

By asking other gay guys if you could be gay, they can only tell you their own experience, which limits their response.

Like most who ask questions, you probably already know the answer to your own question and don't need others to tell you if you are gay or not. We don't know. Only you know.

Surely the answer is "you, you could be gay". No one here can say with certainty "no you could not be gay" or "yes you are definitely gay" on the basis of the scant information supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Surely the answer is "you, you could be gay". No one here can say with certainty "no you could not be gay" or "yes you are definitely gay" on the basis of the scant information supplied.

You're just soapboxing and trolling now.

Don't post in this thread again

Everyone else - Don't feed the troll. I will delete responses.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

regarding the OP, with my own experience 29, had the same feelings all thru my teen years then decided to see wat the craic was in the pst year or so,it was a big step,into the unknown,but I found out what I like/don't like.the thing is you'll never know yourself until you take that step, put some feelers out thru whatever channels,take your time and go at your own pace. don't think too much about it or let it wreck your head too much, you might have the time of your life, ye might think it's just alright or you'll find it's not for you after all, either way you'll some sort of answer to the question. it's up to yourself to find out what your up for/into. just stay safe and try to enjoy the journey. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 couldibegay?

regarding the OP, with my own experience 29, had the same feelings all thru my teen years then decided to see wat the craic was in the pst year or so,it was a big step,into the unknown,but I found out what I like/don't like.the thing is you'll never know yourself until you take that step, put some feelers out thru whatever channels,take your time and go at your own pace. don't think too much about it or let it wreck your head too much, you might have the time of your life, ye might think it's just alright or you'll find it's not for you after all, either way you'll some sort of answer to the question. it's up to yourself to find out what your up for/into. just stay safe and try to enjoy the journey. ;)

All I can say is I am really curious about other men and I know past girlfriends have said they think I am gay (they never explained why:o) Wish I knew a few gay lads in 'real life' lol I hate all that face book/dating site stuff...

Might be a good time to reconnect with some of the gay lads you went to school with so :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭georgesstreet

Probably a good indication as to whether you are primarily same sex attracted or opposite sex attracted is what you dream about, or what sort of images you like to masturbate to.

Remember most of us humans are somewhere on a spectrum and not totally gay or totally straight. For many, our position on the spectrum can also change from time to time.