Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does it work

• 02-10-2013 1:10pm

I know there are lots of thread simile to this mine is slightly different.

I am plagued by door to door sellers, All the telecoms, electricity suppliers, pre pay electricity and or gas, phone watch, broad band, charities. The do I want my drive paved, tarred or power washed, do I want my gutters cleaned, do I want something for the chimney to keep birds out on and on. I am sure I have left some of them out.

I have never got any of the services and I don't know anyone who has so how successful is it.

Does anyone know the name and address of any of the directors of those door to door marketing company's so I can go round and knock on their door every 20 min some evening.

Plus I would like to start a campaign to ban door to door selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

This bugs the absolute crap out of me. I have found a good solution though.

I find a simple sign on the door at eye level saying no cold callers / sellers etc works well and keeps 99% of them away. You can get made up ones on ebay for a euro.

For any takers that choose to knock after that I dont say a word to them, i tap the sign and shut the door in their face. Feels good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

I had one crowd constantly calling to my door. Same guy everytime, kept coming back even after i asked him not to.
    One day i opened it with a pint glass of milk in my hand and pretended to trip up, covered the guy in it. Told him i was very sorry but that i have an awful habit of having accidents when i get frightened by my door bell.

They never called back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mr Pa Connors
    Caravan 6
    Sunset Boulevard
    Hollywood C.A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

in the words of monty burns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

put a peephole in your door.

in the words of monty burns

He is a quiet fella that Monty Burns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

the next time someone knocks your door ask for their address.

I know one land owner near where I grew up who had (among many other successful businesses) a stud farm.

there was a load of forest and as he was a kid himself once, he was happy to let kids look for conkers etc IF THEY KNOCKED HIS DOOR AND ASKED.

there was one occasion when he couldn't get up his driveway in his car because it was blocked by some scabby city folk who thought that his tree lined drive was a good place for a picnic.

he took down their reg no and after asking a pal in the police to look it up, the following weekend, he jumped in the Range Rover with his wife and a couple of pals and went to THEIR house, parked the rangy in their drive and proceeded to set up a full Jeeves & Wooster picnic with checked tablecloths, wicker baskets silver cutlery and champagne.

when the residents came out and complained he said

"well, you had a picnic in MY garden last week, didn't you?"

I LOVE that guy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I've got a sign up saying "no junk mail and no door to door salespeople". It works fine for the junk mail (apart from the bogus clothes collector stickers) and for most door to door salespeople, but the ones who do ring when pointed at the sign, try to claim they're not actually selling anything, just trying to save me money ... yeah, right!

Alun wrote: »
    I've got a sign up saying "no junk mail and no door to door salespeople". It works fine for the junk mail (apart from the bogus clothes collector stickers) and for most door to door salespeople, but the ones who do ring when pointed at the sign, try to claim they're not actually selling anything, just trying to save me money ... yeah, right!

I had that with one guy actually. Cheeky sh1t. I pointed to the part of the sign that said no cold callers. I would say the wind generated from the door slamming in his face could have knocked him off his feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Alun wrote: »

I do the same as it works for door to door callers, but not junk mail. Still end up with piles of it.

I have 'no religion' on the sign too. There was a mother handing out religious leaflets with her kid. She sent him up to the door. I could hear him say 'mammy! it says no religion!' her words? 'put it in the letterbox anyway' :mad:

Fair play to the kid for noticing the sign!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

I know one land owner near where I grew up who had (among many other successful businesses) a stud farm.

there was a load of forest and as he was a kid himself once, he was happy to let kids look for conkers etc IF THEY KNOCKED HIS DOOR AND ASKED.

there was one occasion when he couldn't get up his driveway in his car because it was blocked by some scabby city folk who thought that his tree lined drive was a good place for a picnic.

he took down their reg no and after asking a pal in the police to look it up, the following weekend, he jumped in the Range Rover with his wife and a couple of pals and went to THEIR house, parked the rangy in their drive and proceeded to set up a full Jeeves & Wooster picnic with checked tablecloths, wicker baskets silver cutlery and champagne.

"well, you had a picnic in MAY garden last week, didn't you?"

I LOVE that guy!!

If someone took down my reg and then got a friend in the guards to give them my address and then a bunch of people showed up at my house I think I would be calling a solicitor...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

o1s1n wrote: »
    I do the same as it works for door to door callers, but not junk mail. Still end up with piles of it.

I have 'no religion' on the sign too. There was a mother handing out religious leaflets with her kid. She sent him up to the door. I could hear him say 'mammy! it says no religion!' her words? 'put it in the letterbox anyway' :mad:

I would have walked straight out and politely inserted the leaflet in her box.

o1s1n wrote: »

I forgot about the Jehovah witnesses and the Mormons although to be fair I haven't had a Mormon in a few years( the last one was very tasty)

Does is work as way of selling I cant see how it is worth the effort as so few buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Get a gun and some pikes. Next person who comes a knocking kill him and display the body as a warning to other. If they do not heed this warning add them to the warning. Eventually the only people that would come a knocking is the gardas due to complains about the smell and the murders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Do what I do, I open the hall door but not the Sliding door and just keep cupping your hand to your ear, they soon fukc off, after a while you get known for it. I haven't had a cold call in over a year

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm surprised none of the "I don't answer the door and I don't answer the phone to private numbers" scaredy cats have posted yet.

They're normally quick to tell you about the horrors of actually interacting with the outside world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

i feel sorry for the people who have to do door to door sales, not a easy job,but its the only work they can find at the moment, i will give them a polite no thanks, i know it can be annoying but i suppose they are only trying to make a living.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    i feel sorry for the people who have to do door to door sales, not a easy job,but its the only work they can find at the moment, i will give them a polite no thanks, i know it can be annoying but i suppose they are only trying to make a living.

Before I put up the sign on my door I would absolutely agree with you. Its a tough job they are doing and I would normally say no thanks and good luck to them.

But when somebody chooses to ignore my wishes and still knock on my door after reading a sign saying that they should not then they are fair game in my mind and deserve any abuse they get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Never answer the door, a unopened door is a happy door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I just set the dog on them

However, since I've started doing that, the number of cold callers has massively increased. it seems every child on the estate is a cold caller these days

I've yet to work out exactly what they're selling or how 'Can we see your puppy again, she's gorgeous!' can possibly lead to me giving them money.

feckin children

I like the Pizza brochures though, It's always good to keep up with the latest trends in pizza technology

SCOOP 64 wrote: »

I am clinging very tightly on this way of behaving as Its the way I was brought up but it is hard!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

"well, you had a picnic in MY garden last week, didn't you?"

I LOVE that guy!!

Absolute Boll0x.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

Before they open their mouths I asked "will it cost me anything?"
    As soon as they mention money I just say I'm not interested and close the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

tin79 wrote: »
    Absolute Boll0x.
    well thank you for knowing the actions of a bloke I know better than I do.

he's well known for his eccentricity where matters like these are concerned.

but thanks for your opinion anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

well thank you for knowing the actions of a bloke I know better than I do.

he's well known for his eccentricity where matters like these are concerned.

but thanks for your opinion anyway.

No problem. Happy to.