Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm going slowly insane tonight

• 01-10-2013 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭

Staying in the South Court Hotel in Limerick this evening. There is some sort of country music extravanganza downstairs. Have had to listen to country music booming all evening and its supposed to go on until midnight.

Boom tish boom tish boom tish boom tish......

Jesus, its worse than rap:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

I'd suggest the minibar.

Stalkers paradise!

What room number OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Go out to a pub OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Go down and pull some auld wan. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Lah.. Lalala .. Lalah.. La.. Nashville, Tennessee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Boom tish boom tish boom tish boom tish........I love that song.

Remind me of "boom tish"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Look on the bright side OP....it could have been a Crystal Swing tribute night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Look on the bright side OP....it could have been a Crystal Swing tribute night.

Jaysus, they couldn't even get Crystal Swing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Join in the linedancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭kevin65

Minibar is empty, not intersted in being stalked tonight(got a headache from listing to this sh*t). I saw the state of the awl wans on their way in, and eh, even I have my standards:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Set fire to the hotel or just pull the fire alarm.

Depends on how insane you have gone already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

kevin65 wrote: »
    Staying in the South Court Hotel in Limerick this evening. There is some sort of country music extravanganza downstairs. Have had to listen to country music booming all evening and its supposed to go on until midnight.

Git yer dancing shoes on and head downstairs...

Lawd have mercy how'd she even get them britches on!

Yee haw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Get thee a stetson and some tight jeans and join that party, who knows ya may meet the next Dolly Parton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

have they done a song about drinking yet or being sad ?

biko wrote: »
    Join in the linedancing.

The old folks I saw coming in didn't look like they could dance in a stright line...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Mike Denver is playing so there'll be plenty of young wans at it too. Get your arse down there OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I love these Facebook updates...no...wait...no, I don't...

Mike Denver is playing so there'll be plenty of young wans at it too. Get your arse down there OP.

Didn't see his van outside. Ok maybe I should head down. F*ck, the wedding band is stuck, wont come off. I'll just stay in my room and cover my head with a couple of pillows to try and drown out the sound.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I love these Facebook updates...no...wait...no, I don't...

'Facebook updates', are they a country band???

have they done a song about drinking yet or being sad ?

Nah, Country these days is all about trucks and Southern girls...(and rocking out)

But if want a drinking song...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Want to get a few naggins in Centra on the Dock Road and shout abuse at the seagulls on the quays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭bigbudda

Didn't see his van outside. Ok maybe I should head down. F*ck, the wedding band is stuck, wont come off. I'll just stay in my room and cover my head with a couple of pillows to try and drown out the sound.

Complain to reception and getta room move....possibly an upgrade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Open your mind kevin65, y'all might actually learn from this beautiful music we like oh so much and how it makes this big ol' bad world seem a little less scary okay.

The trouble with girls is they're a mystery
    Something about em puzzles me
    Spent my whole life trying to figure out
    Just what them girls are all about

The trouble with girls is they're so dang pretty
    Everything about them does somethin' to me
    But I guess that's the way it's supposed to be

[Chorus]
    They smile that smile
    They bat those eyes
    They steal you with hello
    They kill you with goodbye

They hook you with one touch
    And you can't break free
    Yeah the trouble with girls
    Is nobody loves trouble much as me

They're sugar and spice and angel wings
    Hell on wheels in tight blue jeans
    A Summer night down by the lake
    An old memory that you can't shake

They're hard to find yet there's so many of em
    The way that you hate that you already love em
    I guess that's the way it's supposed to be

[Chorus]
    They smile that smile
    They bat those eyes

They hook you with one touch
    And you can't break free

The way they hold you out on the dance floor
    The way they ride in the middle of your truck
    The way they give you a kiss at the front door
    Leave you wishing you coulda' gone up

And just as you walk away
    You hear that sweet voice say
    Stay

[Chorus]
    They smile that smile
    They bat those eyes

They're the perfect drug
    And I can't break free

:o

Christ, if Mike Denver is the best that Irish Country music gets....shoot yourself.

This is brutal...and twenty years out of date with the US Country music scene.

This is 40 years out of date. Woeful.

131spanner wrote: »
    Want to get a few naggins in Centra on the Dock Road and shout abuse at the seagulls on the quays?

Sounds tempting but I'd be afraid of what the seagulls might do back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

I dont think I've ever had a pleasant stay in an Irish hotel before without having some sort of disturbance waking me up. Be it loud ****ty music, fire alarms, ****ty families roaring their heads off at each other in some domestic dispute, or drunk wánkers making noise in the halls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Come down to reception and ask for Brian. I will move you to a another room and throw in something for the inconvenience. Wait for about 10 minutes I have a small issue to take care of first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

i quite happen to enjoy a bit of Daniel O'Donnell, in small doses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

i quite happen to enjoy a bit of Daniel O'Donnell, in small doses

Post reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Come down to reception and ask for Brian. I will move you to a another room and throw in something for the inconvenience. Wait for about 10 minutes I have a small issue to take care of first.

Fair dues Brian!

Ear plugs would be nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

tosspot15 wrote: »
    I dont think I've ever had a pleasant stay in an Irish hotel before without having some sort of disturbance waking me up. Be it loud ****ty music, fire alarms, ****ty families roaring their heads off at each other in some domestic dispute, or drunk wánkers making noise in the halls.

Or the letting doors slam at 7 in the morning and talking while on the corridors, we really are an inconsiderate bunch.

I was told it would be over at midnight so I'll stay where I am, but thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

I was told it would be over at midnight so I'll stay where I am, but thanks anyway.

over by 12 lucky you:)
    try 2am

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Go down and score some auld wan and give her country a good western in yer room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Billy de Bollix

Nothin worse that somecu*tfrompreston. Its the worst raping of chords since yodle!

They have just played the national anthem. It's over! Ahhh, silence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Gu'man Brian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Can I have some free stuff Brian?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I bet it's a swingers party. Swingers love that hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Genuinely laughed when someone mentioned that Mike, not John, but Mike, Denver was playing. Then I saw the yootoobs of him, and realised that it wasn't a joke.

Jesus Christ, couldn't the clown ask a randomer to think up a stage name for him, if that was the best he could come up with himself...

I'm embarrased to be of the same nationality as him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

johnr1 wrote: »
    Genuinely laughed when someone mentioned that Mike, not John, but Mike, Denver was playing. Then I saw the yootoobs of him, and realised that it wasn't a joke.

Jesus Christ, couldn't the clown ask a randomer to think up a stage name for him, if that was the best he could come up with himself...

I'm embarrased to be of the same nationality as him...

I do not like the type of music that Mike Denver and the like make. 'Boyband folk'. 'Ronan Keating with a hat'. 'The Weslife solo act singing Irish folk songs'. These are some of the phrases that come to mind ....

The problem today is that everything has to be so watered down. Luke Kelly would not get in the door if he was around now as he was too raw a talent. Instead, you get pretty boy acts like Denver singing watered down folk in a boyband like style and wearing white suits and a hat to please the line dancers as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Back in my day we had Christy Moore types singing "Diageo, Diageo, Diageo, Diageo", Mundy in general and Sharon Shannon smiling while stealing the souls of anybody who stared directly into her cold eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Back in my day we had Christy Moore types singing "Diageo, Diageo, Diageo, Diageo", Mundy in general and Sharon Shannon smiling while stealing the souls of anybody who stared directly into her cold eyes.

Everywhere you turn at the moment, it is all this horrid 'folk meets boyband' hybrid muck from Mike Denver and the like. It sounds so plasticy it staggers belief. I would listen to anything from Daniel O'Donnell and Crystal Swing to Duran Duran with all steps in between (I have a soft spot for Jedward, even Westlife or Boyzone are ok as long as we do not see too much of them talking to Tubridy!!) but would draw the line here at this stuff. But it sure is to be on your local radio, on Tubridy, on TNG fairly often .... Mike Denver, The Three Amigos, Nathan Carter, etc. I call it 'boyband folk' but I don't know what genre this is really and to be honest it sounds like a 'big lump o'nothin' which sounds like a song one of these would sing!!