Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Final decisions on my first car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Astra 3 door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Caoimhin

Which Astra 3 door do you like best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Toyota Corolla?

View2-23067278.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1-4-vvt-i-sol-full-leath/5660242

Very rare spec on that one and worth a look if genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Is that Corolla not a bit salty at nearly €5k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That's what they fetch. If that is genuine then in that spec it won't be around long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Astra 3 door

Those corolla sols are uber rare, i only ever sold one ever. They were mental money new and it will make that money no problem. Id have that tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

+1 on the corolla. They are a better built car than those astras imo. I think the op has their mind made up though.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Toyota Corolla?

View2-23067278.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1-4-vvt-i-sol-full-leath/5660242

Very rare spec on that one and worth a look if genuine.
    just had a better look at the pics of that car. Is it me or does the interior look awfully worn for a car with only 61k up.

Back seat is the only bad bit I can see tbh - and even that is a straightforward job.

Back seat is the only bad bit I can see tbh.
    Is the gearknob not a bit worn also.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Is the gearknob not a bit worn also.

When its worn, the chrome peels off and you're left with a coppery/bronzey metal. I can't really see that one enough to say its worn /not worn.

is it not a white plastic you are left with(like the auris)rather than a metal. That's how it looks in the pic to me. Im viewing this from a phone though.

Far as I remember the Avensis, auris etc is plastic but corolla and yaris is metal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Jaysus fair play to ya OP, all daycent new-ish cars for your first!

Far as I remember the Avensis, auris etc is plastic but corolla and yaris is metal
    you could be right. I know for sure that the older models such as the corolla g6 were plastic underneath, but those newer models could indeed be different.

Jaysus fair play to ya OP, all daycent new-ish cars for your first!

Said I would try get a nice first car. I have to weigh up between going all and paying 5000, or getting a cheaper one like the 5 door astra and having 1500 spare

Tough choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

All depends on what you want yourself, would you rather spend the extra money and be satisfied? Looks are very important! :P
    I would personally pay the extra and be happy, then again i love my cars, and a decent image would be worth every penny!

All depends on what you want yourself, would you rather spend the extra money and be satisfied? Looks are very important! :P
    I would personally pay the extra and be happy, then again i love my cars, and a decent image would be worth every penny!

Ha im all about the looks, just want something I can keep for a few years and still be stylish but its gotta be reliable if im putting all my money into it.

That is the only reason a had the 5 door astra in there, gives me a grand and a half in case **** hits the fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Caoimhin wrote: »
    Ha im all about the looks, just want something I can keep for a few years and still be stylish but its gotta be reliable if im putting all my money into it.

That is the only reason a had the 5 door astra in there, gives me a grand and a half in case **** hits the fan

Just on the perspective of practicality, how often do you drive with other people in the car? like going out with friends etc. ? If the answer is often, the 5 doors version will be more practical.

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Just on the perspective of practicality, how often do you drive with other people in the car? like going out with friends etc. ? If the answer is often, the 5 doors version will be more practical.

I actually wouldn't be driving people much plus I wouldn't be driving every day of the week. I could get a little starter car but I'm 27 and just wanted a proper car at this stage.

Thanks for all the help, man I love boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭RobTheLad

Was in similar situation as you OP 3 months ago, trying to decide between 3 door and 5 door Astra for around the €5k mark as my first car.

Initially restricted myself looking to looking at 3 door models and after going and seeing a couple of them, they had the sh*te driven out of them and/or well worn. Came across an '05 SXi spec 5 door Astra. Had the same alloys as the 3 door, same interior, and the carbon fiber affect dash trim.

Ended up going for this, as it was a well minded family car, full service history, new 2 year NCT, bit of tax, and best of all it came in at just over €3k, almost €2k less than any of the equivalent 3 doors I had looked at, and in much better condition. Love driving it , plenty of power, decent on the juice, and more importantly, as a first time policy holder the 5 door came in at a lower premium on insurance compared to the 3 door.

So if I were you, i wouldn't rule out a 5 door

RobTheLad wrote: »
    Was in similar situation as you OP 3 months ago, trying to decide between 3 door and 5 door Astra for around the €5k mark as my first car.

Initially restricted myself looking to looking at 3 door models and after going and seeing a couple of them, they had the sh*te driven out of them and/or well worn. Came across an '05 SXi spec 5 door Astra. Had the same alloys as the 3 door, same interior, and the carbon fiber affect dash trim.

Ended up going for this, as it was a well minded family car, full service history, new 2 year NCT, bit of tax, and best of all it came in at just over €3k, almost €2k less than any of the equivalent 3 doors I had looked at, and in much better condition. Love driving it , plenty of power, decent on the juice, and more importantly, as a first time policy holder the 5 door came in at a lower premium on insurance compared to the 3 door.

So if I were you, i wouldn't rule out a 5 door
    Alright Rob, thanks for the solid advice man. Nice to hear from someone who has went through the same situation basically. I started off looking at stuff like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/3-door-astra-gtc/5761827

but now im looking at stuff like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-astra-for-sale/5676093

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭black123

Please don't go for the astra the most unreliable car that i have ever heard of. Toyotas may not be cool but are so reliable chances are you would spend the 1500 in repairs any way id recommened a 99 - toyota over a newer astra any day. This comes from experience. A few family members had astras they are a distaster. I had a yaris for 8 years never broke down once passed three ncts without ever going to a garage my husband had a old corolla same thing was like a tank so solid.