Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dept of Transport

• 30-09-2013 11:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

Does anyone answer the phones there? Spent 20 minutes on hold on more than one occasion with no luck. Emailed them, no reply. I know that they're probably busy with the deadline up for declaring a vehicle off the road. Ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've rang them a fair few times and got someone after a few minutes, never got frustrated anyway.
    They may be overloaded with people that have last minute questions about the off the road" change.

What is it that you were wondering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 MauriceRKK

biko wrote: »
    I've rang them a fair few times and got someone after a few minutes, never got frustrated anyway.
    They may be overloaded with people that have last minute questions about the off the road" change.

What is it that you were wondering?

I bought a car from a dealer on 13th September. Dealer is using online VRC service and says he has put through my details as the new owner. No sign of my log book and when querying on the motortax site there has been no transactions/logbooks issued in over 3 months. I wanted to call Shannon to see if they have in fact received my info from the dealer. Maybe they're extra busy with this new deadline but no one is answering phones. Their working hours are completely ridonkulous. They have such a handy job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'd say they are flooded with calls regarding the new motor tax regulations and either haven't the staff to answer all calls or they just ain't picking up for the same reason.

Shameful but there you go.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

MauriceRKK wrote: »
    Their working hours are completely ridonkulous. They have such a handy job!

What's wrong with their working hours?
    They are open Monday-Friday 9.15am-5.30pm. (Open through lunch)

Some people have ridiculous expectations on how other offices should open.

kceire wrote: »
    What's wrong with their working hours?
    They are open Monday-Friday 9.15am-5.30pm. (Open through lunch)

Some people have ridiculous expectations on how other offices should open.

Their office hours are 9.15 -12.45 and 2-4pm. Some people. ;-)
    I also work in a job that doesn't permit me to have my phone on me. I work through their opening hours and spent most of my lunch hour and break on hold. Anyways I'll try again tomorrow. Just frustrated as I don't "legally" own my car and like to have all of the documents in order asap. Fingers crossed it gets sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Their office hours are 9.15 -12.45 and 2-4pm.

That is their open to the public hours though, not their full working hours. They all just don't go home at 4.00pm. Similar to what banks do.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Their office hours are 9.15 -12.45 and 2-4pm. Some people. ;-)
    I also work in a job that doesn't permit me to have my phone on me. I work through their opening hours and spent most of my lunch hour and break on hold. Anyways I'll try again tomorrow. Just frustrated as I don't "legally" own my car and like to have all of the documents in order asap. Fingers crossed it gets sorted.

So, you get screwed over by a private sector business, and your first port of call is unleash a hurricane of unsubstantiated public sector bashing nonsense?

Your gripe is with the dept. of transport, here is their number + 353 1 670 7444, call them now, and it states the office opening hours are 9.15-5.30.

If your actually on about the motor tax offices, then your wrong again as they ope during lunch and open until after 5pm too. The reason the doors are closed at 4pm is to get through the que that is already in the building and to process postal requests.

Why don't you call the dealer and ask him to put the request in again as he obviously hasn't done it tbh. Shannon usually have a new VLC issued within a week and I've only recently bought a new car too.

bazz26 wrote: »
    That is their open to the public hours though, not their full working hours. They all just don't go home at 4.00pm. Similar to what banks do.

Ah I was mistaken so. I'll just have to keep trying them and the dealer. I'm a little freaked as I've seen a few threads on here of people having major trouble getting their log book.

kceire wrote: »

If your actually on about the motor tax offices, then your wrong again as they ope during lunch and open until after 5pm too. The reason the doors are closed at 4pm is to get through the que that is already in the building and to process postal requests.

Why don't you call the dealer and ask him to put the request in again as he obviously hasn't done it tbh. Shannon usually have a new VLC issued within a week and I've only recently bought a new car too.

No just Shannon, and I was wrong about the opening hours it turns out that their phone in hours are the ones I've stated. I'll be getting on to the dealer so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I bought a car recently (3 weeks ago) and got the log book within a few days, I'd go talk to the dealer again, in my experience log book trouble is rarely shannons fault.

Be wary of the dodgy dealer! Turns out they never even sent away the logbook. Here's hoping my persistent phone call paid off. Any suggestions on how to motivate them in the case that they "forget" again? A couple of trips through the M50 toll bridge perhaps? :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

If they don't want to send it, you can't make them. They may just turn around to you and say they sent it but it must have gotten lost in the post.

You can proceed without them, but it involves you getting a form filled out by a local main dealer AND a solicitor. Shannon can advise on which form. I stress.. Do this as a last resort. It really is a PITA.... And may cost ye.

RangeR wrote: »
    If they don't want to send it, you can't make them. They may just turn around to you and say they sent it but it must have gotten lost in the post.

You can proceed without them, but it involves you getting a form filled out by a local main dealer AND a solicitor. Shannon can advise on which form. I stress.. Do this as a last resort. It really is a PITA.... And may cost ye.

I don't understand, if you have paid for a product and have proof of purchase then can they not be held totally liable? Is it not fair to say that once a car purchase has taken place, then, legally ownership must be transferred to the new owner? This is gone way off topic but I'm a bit concerned now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If they haven't sent it off by now then it sounds like the didn't get it with the car from the previous owner and are hoping you get tired of ringing them and will go sort it yourself rather than them having to chase the previous owner.

So you have two choices - either go down to them everyday and torment the life out of them until they get from the previous owner or go about the process of filling out forms, getting Garda to stamp them, etc. and getting Shannon to transfer ownership over to you.

bazz26 wrote: »
    If they haven't sent it off by now then it sounds like the didn't get it with the car from the previous owner and are hoping you get tired of ringing them and will go sort it yourself rather than them having to chase the previous owner.

So you have two choices - either go down to them everyday and torment the life out of them until they get from the previous owner or go about the process of filling out forms, getting Garda to stamp them, etc. and getting Shannon to transfer ownership over to you.

Jaysus. I hope it doesn't come to that it sounds like a lot of hassle.