Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well done Clare and Davy but well done to the uderage set up

• 29-09-2013 4:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭

Well done to Clare and Davy Fitz,im not a Clare man but a lot of the credit must go to the underage set up there for the last few years
    Like to hear from any Clare people on this

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Absolutely right
    We have a set up now from Under 14 feeding the whole way into seniors and its working
    Long at it continue

• Registered Users Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Radio5

There was an interesting piece in Saturday's Times about how Clare didn't make the most of their 1997 All-Ireland winning minor team and had a really bad record at
    at underage for nearly 10 years after that. They set up the structures and worked very hard to make progress at underage levels and its paying off now.

I remember thinking after they beat Kilkenny in 09 that they would be a force at senior level within a few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

It's hard to believe really that it's only 2009, four years ago, that the county panel was in a state of mutiny and almost refusing to play for Mike Mac.
    We were stuck in division 2, and even lost to Laois and struggled past Carlow.

Since Davy came in, everybody has been 100% committed, even during some tough defeats at the beginning. He has really done an amazing job. Louis Mulqueen as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Hang on, Waterford beat ye by 20 points in the Munster minor this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭alllcounty

Too true. Clare have got their act together at underage around 8yrs ago but so too have other counties like waterford, dublin in 2002, limerick and tipp. The one man that has taken clare to a different level is Paul Kinnerk. If he didn't get involved they wouldn't have won munster minor titles in 2010 & 2011, wouldn't have won all ireland u21 titles in 2012 & 2013 and certainly wouldn't won a senior all ireland. Davy will take the credit but if it wasn't for Kinnerk they would be playing davy style hurling. But he realised the errors of his way and 6 weeks ago he finally allowed them hurl without chains so fair play to him. Clare will get stronger from here and will win plenty more all irelands as teenagers and young lads on the panel become men so its up to the rest to get to their level.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭spacetrap

Yes they did but you must take into account that the team had to travel midweek to Cork and then twice to Waterford in the middle of preperation for the Leaving cert, not excuses but it did not help.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

and, ahem, maybe Waterford minors are rather good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

alllcounty wrote: »
    Too true. Clare have got their act together at underage around 8yrs ago but so too have other counties like waterford, dublin in 2002, limerick and tipp. The one man that has taken clare to a different level is Paul Kinnerk. If he didn't get involved they wouldn't have won munster minor titles in 2010 & 2011, wouldn't have won all ireland u21 titles in 2012 & 2013 and certainly wouldn't won a senior all ireland. Davy will take the credit but if it wasn't for Kinnerk they would be playing davy style hurling. But he realised the errors of his way and 6 weeks ago he finally allowed them hurl without chains so fair play to him. Clare will get stronger from here and will win plenty more all irelands as teenagers and young lads on the panel become men so its up to the rest to get to their level.

Your right about Kinnerk but your wrong about Davy taking all the credit, hes constantly saying its down to the backroom team as much as him and the work that has been done with that bunch of players at underage.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭alllcounty

Your right about Kinnerk but your wrong about Davy taking all the credit, hes constantly saying its down to the backroom team as much as him and the work that has been done with that bunch of players at underage.

Yea in fairness he does consult with his management team in team selection and other issues and doesn't try to dominate the set-up and also mention's the backroom team. I'm happy it is working out for him as he does try his best and is very passionate about hurling. I just wish we played that type of hurling when he was with us.