Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why record cover songs?

Options
  • 28-09-2013 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭

The iTunes thread put this in my mind but rather than derail that thread....

I don't understand why any bands/solo artists would want to record covers. I've been playing music for about 12 years and the thought of recording a cover has never entered my mind. I've never seen the point. I mean, why bother recording a song that someone else wrote and recorded already when you can write your own song, record it and have something brand new that you've actually created?!

I've never really rated pop groups as legitimate for the very fact that they don't write their own songs (n.b. This is a generalisation - I fully respect any that do) but it's never really perplexed me that they would release covers; it's their bread and butter. But bands... I just don't get it?! You play an instrument, you understand your instrument... why not put that towards writing something new and putting everything into that?

I'm not judging bands that do this. I just don't understand it. When I record a song, the best part of it is listening to how it went from an idea in my head, to a few lyrics on a page, to a skeleton song with the band, to a full-on song. With a cover, the only feeling I can imagine is pride in making the song sound like... it already sounded.... and maybe, if you're a kooky sort, making it sound like a different version of the same song... Whoopdie-doo....

Anyone else have any thoughts on this whole thing?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Rigsby