Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JCB 406 or JCB2CX???

• 27-09-2013 11:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭

How the Bhoys??? just wondering what ye think about JCB 406 or JCB 2CX? i'm thinking about buying one, something around the early 90's.

i've a 83 JCB 3CX and its lovely machine and i've got great use out of it with last 5 years as i was building my own house. It clean up the yard great as well but i think now is a good time to sell as i'd get more use out a 406 or 2CX.
    i've a tractor and rear shear grab on a mast but the pit is too high and shear grab is too small and i was thinking of trading in the digger for 406 or 2CX. The shed is extremely tight as it was never built for cattle in th first place.

Just wondering is there any of you out there with either JCB 406 or JCB 2CX? Which would you recomend?

Thanks for looking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

if your pit is high, best check if a 2cx Will reach. Very handy machine, but you Will find its limited in lift height. Would you not sell the 3cx and move on up the years with a 89 or early 90's model? and get a 7 foot shear grab for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Mushy06

The 3CX is just too cumbersome inside the shed. You'd want about 6 eyes when you driving it inside the shed, between the back actor been too high, the jacks waiting to take down the H-iron in the middle and so fourth. i'd like something a bit more versitile thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

A 406 will definitely be more nimble than the 3cx but artics can take a bit of getting used to esp in tight spaces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭cavandown

There 2cx here 6 or 7 years. Grand machine in ways but lift height is relatively limited (10 foot to bottom of bucket/dung fork when fully extended)
    Will you be travelling long distances with it (say to out farm) 'cos with the small wheels it can be quite slow. The small wheels also leave it very easy to keel over with the arms fully lifted or if your yard is very uneven. It will also get bits of grass wrapped around drive underneath so is no good for filling silage pit. A few people - myself included - find it a very blind machine as you cannot see the prongs of a dung fork when you working it close to ground. Serious lift capacity for size and can lift two silage bales or work a 6 foot shear grab no problem A very heavy machine which is problem on wet cavan ground here or if you foddering in field despite it been 4wd. The 4 wheel steer though leaves it ideal for confined sheds. The compressor on this here is handy enough although all i use it is to pump wheels but my neighbour has used it for spray painting without it cutting out due to over heating like his electric one was doing. Before you buy, look underneath machine. There rubber plug/cover about 4 inches by 2 inches. Pull this out and see if there any transmission fluid there. Mine started leaking fluid and was trapped there. Built up and eventually leaked into starter and fcuked it up. Now i just leave this plug off and it not give any trouble but any time you stop machine and trickle of fluid comes out. Not much but unsightly. Told about a grand to fix. The wiring on some JCBs have bad reputation for wiring problems. Despite what i say, i still think it handy and very manoeuvreable yoke about a place but often wonder would i be better with tractor and loader as more versatile for spreading slurry, topping etc. Sorry for length of reply but wanted to give my views. If i could see out better a grand machine.

Thank you for the lenghty reply Cavandown. i already have tractor and it does all the rest of the farming duties. i just thought it would be better to buy 2cx or 406 that putting loader on tractor. At least with a 2Cx or 406, they're built for lifting as well as been very nimble. i like the idea of putting a 5' shear grab on front of them than putting on loader for tractor. Also would be handy loading big bags of fertilizer/dung etc. thanks for your help. You know yourself, we'd always be thinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭cavandown

No problem mushy06, i have to say a machine solely for foddering etc very convenient. Ya, we always thinking, if my SFP was linked to the number of thought i have i be very wealthy......now that another thought!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

We've a 2cx and reckon its a good yoke, bit slow, not too much power, but a big cab, reliable, fast hydraulics, massive manoueverability, come with industrial tyres which are useless in a field, narrow..easy to hop in and out of...a bit unstable with a load, keep the load low!! A lot of grease points took look after!
    Overall a good yard machine...

Thanks oldsmokey. i'm hearing alot about the 2CX but nothing about the 406. Not sure if thats a good thing or a bad thing?? i went looking at a 406 during the week but it was sold when i got there. looked a very tidy machine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Mushy06 wrote: »
    Thanks oldsmokey. i'm hearing alot about the 2CX but nothing about the 406. Not sure if thats a good thing or a bad thing?? i went looking at a 406 during the week but it was sold when i got there. looked a very tidy machine though.

Neighbour has a jcb 520 telescopic loader. Great little yoke. Ground clearance isn't great but it used for yard work and cleaning out sheds and feeding silage bales and loader big bags, great for doing work around the house too like fixing Roofs. Runs on the sniff of diesel. He has a old 3cx too but uses that for and heavy work and and digging but it didn't fit into the sheds.