Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro Rugby Manger 2014

• 26-09-2013 10:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Hi, I've been a bit of a long time reader on this forum but I thought I might post something some of you were interested in.

If any of you remember the Rugby Manager games, a new one is being funded via Kickstarter at the moment.

So far they need £100,000 to fund their goal and are looking for donations to finance the game. The minimum donation to receive the game upon completion is £10 or around €12. So far it looks pretty good and am looking forward to seeing where it goes!

The team seemed to have worked on a few successful titles since their last rugby game such as Cycling Manager, Blood Bowl and the Game of Thrones video game, so here's hoping they have the experience and talent for a reiteration of their Rugby series.

And if you're worried about wasting €12, your buy-in will only be accepted if funding is realised, which has already given me a reason to opt in.

The link to their page is here, with information, early screenshots and a nice video where they talk about their concept and plans.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/165858262/pro-rugby-manager-2014?ref=recently_launched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Pledged!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

Nice idea. For anyone who is not used to the idea of Kickstarter, there are a few things to be aware of:
    • You're not “donating” to the game. In most cases, you're pre-ordering the game and getting a little bit extra when you go up the reward tiers
    • If they don't reach their £100k funding target, you don't pay a penny
    • If you do reach their £100k target, you pay, but there's no guarantee you'll get anything for that money
    £100k is a very low budget for producing a game like this, but it looks like they have a track record in delivering games (admittedly, with fairly poor reviews) and I'd imagine the £100k is not the entire budget. Having said that, I backed it because I'd like to see a franchise like this evolve and games like this raise the profile of the sport globally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 CyanideStudio

Hey there !

Thanks for your interest in the game and your support.

As it precised on our Kickstarter page, we fund most of the game ourselves. We are asking an extra 100K to make a better game and see what kind of support we can get from the community. We want to achieve a certain standard and it is not decided yet if we will make the game if our goal is not reached.

As it was pointed out, Kickstarter provide a real win-win situation : we can make the game and you pay it less than you would at launch if you want to, or get a special reward.

As for this point :
    "If you do reach their £100k target, you pay, but there's no guarantee you'll get anything for that money"

We engage our founds and our credibility in the project, meaning that if it is funded, it will happen. We have been making games for years, including 2 Pro Rugby Manager, and we have no plans on stoping.

We are used to demanding audiences and have a very extensive experience in sport management simulation games, and we are convinced we can make the rugby game players have been looking for.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Regards,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I love the Cycling Manager series, and used to play the Horse Racing manager game from Cyanide, and they were great games.

Would love to see Cyanide make a decent Rugby Manager game.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Well lads obvo they made the money - "Pro Rugby Manager 2015" is out tomorrow

very tempted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭oneshot0kill

25% discount if you preorder it, so get in quick. Preordered mine off Steam.

The Leinster team:
    ss_4b0fd915f98565223beadbdecbc5ca16d0ab919e.600x338.jpg?t=1410960129

Macca only 2 stars :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

Quite looking forward to this actually.
    I've been playing football manager for years without any interest in the real world sport. It's gonna be nice to play at managing a team I support in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭clsmooth

SOB dropped?? :eek:

clsmooth wrote: »
    SOB dropped?? :eek:

Toulon prob snapped him up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I bought this just now, it unlocks in 2 hours. I hope it's as good as the pro cycling manager series.

Whats the verdict?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Extremely buggy game, don't think it's worth 30 quid because it feels like we're in alpha testing. Also Jamie Heaslip got a 100 match ban in the 3rd or 4th game of my first season, which is extremely excessive to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

joshrogan wrote: »
    Extremely buggy game, don't think it's worth 30 quid because it feels like we're in alpha testing. Also Jamie Heaslip got a 100 match ban in the 3rd or 4th game of my first season, which is extremely excessive to be honest.

Jesus what did he do? Eat the opposition pack? Or was it the headphones again?

Well there are some problems...

Penalties are a mystery - when you or the opposition get a penalty it's never explained for what or who gave it away.

Who has the ball? - When watching the 3D game it's hard to know if the ball has just been prop or to a winger. The numbers are two small to read and the names don't appear above them. This means there's no excitement through the phases.

Buggy - During a game i tried to take off Cronin and put on Straus. It just won't let me. in fact it refused to let me make any substitutions. Didn't tell me why

I wasn't able to work out how to see the league table - in fairness i didn't look very hard BUT it should be obvious.

There's a nice little feature where you're able to choose from a list of set plays when you get a lineout. It seems to do nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Has a dreadful reviews from Inc Gamers and pretty much every user review I've seen. Glad I didn't go for this in the pre-order, i almost bought it blind there because I'd like to support any project like this, but its hard to get behind what appears to be an unfinished and poor simulation of rugby management.

Ditto. I was one click away from getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Sounds just as buggy as all the other games like this that they've put on the market.

I don't think it's all that bad - it's only a few good updates away from being a fun little game. But, as it is now, it's not worth the money i paid for it.

Still, i'll hold out hope that one day, someone will get this genre right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

i wish it took some things out of football manager series eg The way you could accept jobs from other clubs

Its so hard to sign players in this game

Playing as munster and after 2 games im out of the champions cup

a few updates and it could be a decent game

PTH2009 wrote: »
    i wish it took some things out of football manager series eg The way you could accept jobs from other clubs

Its so hard to sign players in this game

Playing as munster and after 2 games im out of the champions cup

a few updates and it could be a decent game

Seems fairly realistic :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Rugby 15 is coming out for the ps4 and xbox in november so thats something to look forward too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Captain Average

Game has some serious flaws, but I always enjoy these management type games.
    I've emailed the developers some of my notes on the game twice now, they've been fairly quick to reply and say that they're working on some big patches for the game at the moment.
    Might be worth emailing support@505games.com with any issues you guys are getting.

Two biggest issues for me are infuriating bugs with subs. Unable to make them and exhausting my players, and inability to recruit anybody who isn't Irish, because they're "not interested in moving to my country".

Still though, first season over, won the Euro Cup and came runners up in the pro12 with the existing Munster squad.
    Sheridan playing better than Murray is a little unrealistic. Tommy O'Donnell with a rating of 1 star is a little harsh too.

I've given up on it for now - They need to fix the bugs with substitutions, they need to sort out the way penalties are handled during the game, it's really jarring when for no obvious reason play has suddenly stopped and some dude is lining up a kick.

I'll give it another go once a good update comes out.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'm nervous about buying any rugby game after that rugby game that came out for xbox last year I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

has anybody played this since the patch was released?

Patch notes. It could be playable now. Lack of subs completely put me off before
    Dear Players

Thanks for your ongoing patience. The first patch 1.13 for PRM 2015 is now live on Steam.
    It is recommended that you delete your save game and restart from the beginning for all patches to work. In order to delete your save games, you need to erase the savegame located in “my documents/pro Rugby Manager 2015/Savegame”

This patch fixes the following:
    Fixed the issue with non-working substitutions.
    Added more accurate feedback when trying to replace a player out for yellow card or player that is temporarily on the field because of auto substitution for yellow card.
    Fixed the incorrect points allocation in TOP 14
    Fixed the “Tom Crux” bug. Opening a scouted youth player will not open the "Tom Crux" sheet anymore.
    A Red card still has a very low chance to ban a player for a long time but the maximum duration is reduce from 100 to 50. (Will not work for old saved game)
    Reduction in the frequency of training injuries (Will not work for old saved game)
    Reduction in random injuries for accidents away from the pitch (Will not work for old saved game)
    Reduction in the chances of player illness (Will not work for old saved game)
    Players have a chance to decline when they reach 30 instead of 27 but the chances are very low. They are more likely to decline between 32 and 33.
    Increase minimal age for retiring from 30 to 32.
    Fix crash when offering a contract to a South African's free agent player.
    Fix a bug that can slow the game application after matches
    It is now possible to manually remove from the roster a player who received a red card in the last played match without being forced to use the "automatic" command.
    Fixed some cases where some "not in the game" players could appear on research results with placeholder name.
    Maximum infrastructure level will no longer reduce the chance that a player sign a contract for your team

Please note that we will continue to work on optimizing and updating Pro Rugby Manager 2015; we aim to deliver the best Rugby management experience, so please submit any issues you encounter via support@505games.com, and we welcome any feedback via the Pro Rugby Manager Facebook page.

Thanks again for your support.

PRM Team

Ha they've only just changed the age of decline from 27 to 30? That used to be one of the more ridiculous things in the old game. I remember Paul O'Connell started declining at 27 in a game I played of the old game, and he was released by 29...!

Because of those kinds of issues, I just never got the impression these games were developed by rugby fans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭accidentprone1

I enjoyed this review. I really wish that a truly great rugby game could be made. There just isn't the demand however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I played it for 30 minutes. I'll probably never play it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I'd be extremely reluctant to buy any rugby game for a while after the RWC 2011 game and the two Rugby Challenge games. Absolutely shocking stuff. There just has not been a decent game since Jonah Lomu rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

try this on for size www.blackoutrugby.com

So I got that Pro Rugby Manager game for the ipad there the other day. Started off as Leinster for the 2014-15 season and the first thing I did was bring Sexton back. Got to the SF of the Champions Cup and in a game against the Dragons the week before it I lost Toner, Heaslip, O'Brien and Sexton to injury. I still made the final (managed to get Heaslip back) and lost by 3 to Toulouse. But I won the Pro12.

Started the 2015-16 season and had a look at my fixture list to see who I drew in the Champions Cup and lo and behold Leinster didn't qualify. The only Irish team that did were Connacht who finished in 9th or 10th place. Now Heaslip is fecking off to Munster because Leinster aren't prestigious enough and is phoning it in while Conan has reached his potential as a poor 8.

It had gone pretty well in the first season all things considered, but has just gone to pot in the second. At least Sexton has retired from international rugby to focus on Leinster.... :confused:

We lost our semi final because Molloy put SOB, Toner, Heaslip and Sexton out against the Dragons the week before the semi final. What a waste, he hasn't ever heard of squad rotation. No game plan, they even FORGOT to take part in Europe. I'm not saying I've completely made up my mind on Molloy, but I definitely want him to be fired immediately, #molloyout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Are there any easy games in the Premiership?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Is it worth buying Molloyh?

Teferi wrote: »
    Is it worth buying Molloyh?

I'm not quite sure yet tbh. It is a little fiddly at times and some of the stuff that happens during the matches can be frustrating. The number of times I've had players make a clean break and be in for a try only to turn for the posts long before making the line and getting caught 5m out is ridiculous. And once you're caught 5m out you never, ever retain possession. Even if you have support. And I've yet to see the opposition kick out on the full yet but Sexton has done it loads.

Generally you're just better off auto-resolving the games. Once you do that it's decent enough. Although at the moment I've got guys coming to me with offers from other clubs constantly which is starting to get annoying. Trying to balance the squad and maintain good depth is a challenge. I'll stick with it for a while anyway and it was only €5. I'm sure there's things I can be doing better, e.g. tying guys down to longer contracts before their last season etc. I did buy Henshaw for the 2015-16 season and he really has been a great signing.....:cool:

EDIT: Actually if they fixed up a couple of the issues (e.g. the qualification for the Champions Cup and the players thinking a Leinster side who are runners-up in Europe and champions of the Pro12 are just a mediocre team - that sort of general randomness) I might be inclined to recommend it. I believe the PC version is muck, but the ipad one is grand once you can get over those things.

Are there any easy games in the Premiership?

There are no easy games in the Pro12, nevermind the AP! I played Zebre and got a very rare try bonus point. But the scoreline was something like 42-36 so they weren't exactly a walk over.

molloyjh wrote: »
    I'm not quite sure yet tbh. It is a little fiddly at times and some of the stuff that happens during the matches can be frustrating. The number of times I've had players make a clean break and be in for a try only to turn for the posts long before making the line and getting caught 5m out is ridiculous. And once you're caught 5m out you never, ever retain possession. Even if you have support. And I've yet to see the opposition kick out on the full yet but Sexton has done it loads.

Generally you're just better off auto-resolving the games. Once you do that it's decent enough. Although at the moment I've got guys coming to me with offers from other clubs constantly which is starting to get annoying. Trying to balance the squad and maintain good depth is a challenge. I'll stick with it for a while anyway and it was only €5. I'm sure there's things I can be doing better, e.g. tying guys down to longer contracts before their last season etc. I did buy Henshaw for the 2015-16 season and he really has been a great signing.....:cool:

EDIT: Actually if they fixed up a couple of the issues (e.g. the qualification for the Champions Cup and the players thinking a Leinster side who are runners-up in Europe and champions of the Pro12 are just a mediocre team - that sort of general randomness) I might be inclined to recommend it. I believe the PC version is muck, but the ipad one is grand once you can get over those things.

So game not life like then? ;)

wprathead wrote: »
    So game not life like then? ;)

God no. Connacht were in the Champions Cup. :D

You walked into that one....