Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Championship Zdenek Stybar

• 25-09-2013 9:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭

Anyone think he has a shot at this? Currently at 80/1, is this too long as I think it might be or is the finishing course too tough for him?

Any other tips for each way?
    I find it hard to look past fabian for the win however

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭AnotherView

Anyone think he has a shot at this? Currently at 80/1, is this too long as I think it might be or is the finishing course too tough for him?

Any other tips for each way?
    I find it hard to look past fabian for the win however

I am not a betting person and everyone in my fantasy team either crashes, gets Ill, or has crap form but I think koenig is a good bet. Also Morena, Mollema . I think those that rode the vuelta are better bets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

273201.jpg

273202.jpg

Over 270 kms and that series of climbs 10 times!! means its going to take an exceptional rider and agree the Vuelta legs will help. Cancellera has proved himself many times at this distance but is he a LBL candidate? This type of course is for a LBL style rider. Valverde,Rodriguez Nibali hopefully Dan. Cancellera has based the last 4 months on winning this one. Woiuld love to see him do it apart from one of our guys

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Remember Mendrisio? Evans up the road. Cancellara at the front of the chase group, forlornly looking for and failing to find someone willing to help him chase Evans down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭morana

I think he is too fat for this circuit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I think that the winner will have and Ardennes classic or Lomardy on their palmares in winning or at least seeral podiums.
    Dan won't do it I feel.

Very high quality field with huge amount of contenders.
    Can't see Stybar this time but he will be a serious contender eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

morana wrote: »
    I think he is too fat for this circuit

yeah u may be right. I must have a proper look at the course profile. I was just thinking stybar has the potential to win a lot of classics and this is a classic style course but you might be right that he can't climb well enough.

just think he is the kind of rider who could stick with Spartacus.

can't wait for the race. Is lined up for an epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Remember Mendrisio? Evans up the road. Cancellara at the front of the chase group, forlornly looking for and failing to find someone willing to help him chase Evans down.

Pretty much, only this year, Sagan will be sitting on people's wheel to even make them more afraid of helping.

Chris Froome and the British are planning to attack all the climbs to try and lose Sagan and Gilbert ...don't want them at the end

I think the distance is just as big a factor as the hills. Especially if Froome and the gang attack early as promised. That last 600m kick with a 17% gradient 3km from finish might be the launch pad and with 270kms in the legs we might see a repeat of this classic move :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Forecast (although will wait and see) is saying there could be rain. Something like that would probably play into someone like Stybar's hands. You'd still have the likes of Nibali and Cancellara who'll be grand in that weather, but could rule out a good few.

As for the Brits thinking they can control it and attack every climb, if no one helps them, they'll crack really early. Their team isn't that strong and whilst no one will want to face Sagan in a sprint at the end, there's a lot who'll be looking at breaking away on the last climb or two.

Weather won't be anything like Belgium or Northern France in April but rain would make it more interesting. Sagan looked really strong in Canada especially in how he closed gaps and climbed in GP Montreal. If he holds that form then it should be fun.
    Odds

I think the Italians and the Australians want rid of the sprinters/fast finishers also.....

The Spanish have Valverde and Moreno
    The Columbians Betencur, Uran and Quintana ( though not his type of race IMO)

The Irish lads have to hang in there and be patient....Like to see Bennett in a breakaway though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Going to say Nibali for the hell of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

I'm covering all bases im backing Farrar and Betancur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

I'm covering all bases im backing Farrar and Betancur

yeah bentancur must be up there in the betting after his epic Vuelta performance.

At least with backing bentancur he might not win but you'll get a great run for ur money. he's the sort of rider who only knows how to give 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

yeah bentancur must be up there in the betting after his epic Vuelta performance.

At least with backing bentancur he might not win but you'll get a great run for ur money. he's the sort of rider who only knows how to give 100%

110% at the very least I think you mean. Reaches peaks of 123.7% on good days.