Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's all the fuss over this ploughing thing?

• 24-09-2013 12:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭

What exactly happens at this ploughing championship besides the obvious? I've been listening and watching the blanket coverage on RTE, including the live reports on news at one. I saw the president in a field spouting his usual blarney, the garda commisioner doing some PR thingy, and reports of numerous politicians in attendance, but I'm still none the wiser to what actually goes on there. I presumed it was the usual type of agricultural show with livestock displays and farm machinery. There must be more to it than this though. I know 80,000 people are not flocking to this thing just to see some tractors and cows or somebody poughing in a straight line. Could somebody enlighten me as to what the big attraction is and what all the fuss is about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Beats me - can't understand the fuss over electric picnic either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Call Mr. Plough,
    That's my name.
    That name again is Mr. Plough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

80,000 rural folk attending an event where alcohol is freely served and I'd say a good chunk of that 80,000 would be described as young. Lot's of drunken rural riding I'd say ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

P_1 wrote: »
    80,000 rural folk attending an event where alcohol is freely served and I'd say a good chunk of that 80,000 would be described as young. Lot's of drunken rural riding I'd say ;)

A lot of seed being planted in furrows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

It's a good day out. Lots of food stalls, exhibitions and new products being showcased (many of them having nothing to do with farming). It's like a really large trade show. And the amount of free pens you get is ridiculous.

The ploughing part of the thing isn't the only thing to see there (and it's really boring).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Aye, that's the actual "ploughing" they're talking about - horsing it inta some beefy Bridie in a GAA jersey behind de porter-and-hang-sanging tent. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

So basically its a rural version of Oxegen? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

It's a day out. You could go and spend the day walking around without coming next or near a plough.

To see what the fuss is you have to go at least once! I think it's always good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oxegen for us woolybacks, yes. Personally I quite like tractors and paraphernalia of that nature, mind you. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Same fuss the media always makes when it decamps from Dublin and has OBs from the Galway Races and Rose of Tralee.
    The Ploughing is part of the holy trinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

They had better hope that Christy Moore and The Waterboys don't hear about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was at it a couple of years ago. Feckin great craic... and I don't have the first clue about anything farming related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭scruffmonkey

I was at it a couple of years ago. Feckin great craic... and I don't have the first clue about anything farming related

This i have heard before,it's supposed to be a great bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Oxegen takes place in the city now? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Ah, free beer... that explains it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

Its basically a large festival.
    Hundreds of companies set up shop there and try advertise and sell their stuff. A lot of it is farming manufacturers and suppliers, car dealers, food and catering companies, amongst other stuff.

Then theres theres actual animal competitions like the best raised lifestock, healthiest. You'll see some really big crazy well groomed cows there. Very similar to dog shows and stuff. Except I think they also look for things like best quality meat and steak.

They also have a bit of live music and various stages dotted around the site, as well as plenty of drink ;).

The ploughing is actually to the side of all the main stalls complex and a lot of people who go to the championships never even see ground being ploughed. They have all sorts of different ploughing competitions and its judged closely. Even ploughing with horses like they did years ago.

There's also a HUGE scientific aspect to it, and lots of opportunities for university and school students to learn and share their ideas and inventions.

Can be a nice family day out too, they have stuff for kids and a big amusement park set up (which is probably knacker central). And of course, theres a huge fireworks trade that goes on behind the scenes ;)

Dont forget that its not just Irish people who attend. People from all over the world go attend and take part in the competitions and bring their companies products.

I'm not even a farmer, and dont have a clue about farming. I just went there on a school science trip when I was in secondary school. It really doesnt interest me tbh but I can understand why its so popular. It must bring a lot of money into the economy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

It's clearly virile young men sowing their oats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭xgwishyx

It's brilliant craic, used to go often when I was in school, the amount of pens you come away with would set you up til the next Summer.

The ploughing part is out of the way and we didn't bother with it, instead we went to all the nice craft stalls, ate lovely food, checked out some nifty looking gadgetry (both farming related and otherwise).

Highly recommend going at least once, and bring wellies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Since every farmer in the land is at it, it gives the small town sheep-worriers a chance to interfere with their livestock.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

some farmer figured out how to get ploughing done for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its kinda like a oxygen, electric picnic, glastonbury for muck savages

everyone should go at least once

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

There will be about 200,000 visitors over the week. it's a great day out ,even for the city slickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Went years ago as a child, I hated it. But I must go again as an adult and check it out, I would imagine there would be much more there for the non-farmers now. Strangely enough in the last few years it seems to have become a big thing with teens, they get a bus up, bring a few slabs with them and take the day off school, there was a massive group of them standing in my local village this morning waiting for the bus they had organised. I find it very odd tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

*Waits for next scandal involving a bus full of drunken teens on the way to/back from "Da Ploughing"*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

You get loads of free pens and rulers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

I presume you can buy a spine in a bap and feed a donkey some chips at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I presume you can buy a spine in a bap and feed a donkey some chips at it.

A baguette would make more sense though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Cosmicfox wrote: »
    You get loads of free pens and rulers.

been years since i owned me a ruler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Beats me - can't understand the fuss over electric picnic either.

Well then I assume you've never been, go next year!