Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Husbands/Boyfriends + masturbation...

• 24-09-2013 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

<Mod Snip>

My story is a little different.. but I would like to hear other ladies opinions/advice.

I've been going out with my boyfriend for a little over a year.
    Sex was fine at first, fun, regular.. I was really happy with our sex life..

However about two/three months in I noticed that my boyfriend was less likely to initiate sex.. or just really couldn't be bothered! I always initiate sex and am usually declined.

I have a high sex drive, or maybe it's normal.. I would LOVE sex every night.. morning.. whatever..

I enjoy sex with my boyfriend, he doesn't last ages.. Our 'sessions' last roughly ten mins.. which I like.. He never has a problem cumming.
    He usually is never that bothered about pleasing me.. I usually have to ask and then he says it's off putting when I'm 'begging' for it!

So I've been snooping on his Samsung Internet history.. porn every day..
    We don't live together and spend a few nights a week together.
    I don't think he's particularly into anything specific..
    teens, milfs, even some daddy daughter crap, slutty blondes etc..

So he's masturbating himself when he could be actually having sex with me!!

I'm attractive, Being honest I'm probably a 7.5/8 out of 10!

I know 100% that he's not cheating with me (apart from constant porn)
    Is he just lazy?
    Do guys find it off putting when women 'pester' them for sex?

My boyfriend was single for about a year and half before me, and didn't sleep around altogether that much so I guess he used a lot of porn throughout that period.

I honestly don't mind him using porn, when I'm on my own for a night I use it myself!
    But it's the fact that he can't be bothered having sex with me most of the time..

Any other guy I've been with before my boyfriend has LOVED how 'up for it' I am!

I should probably add that apart from the bedroom, everything else is fine.. we get on amazingly well and despite how insulted I feel about his attitude towards sex (with me) I love him to bits!

Would like to hear other Irish women's thoughts/advice etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

Um, do you initiate sex instead? You'd be getting loads if you did, by your account of your sex drive! Or do you already, but he just pleads tiredness or something?

I was going to suggest doing a dominatrix on him, tie him up and make him give you loads of pleasure, but if he's not into anything kinky online then perhaps not....I'm thinking he needs a little firing up though - so that he can't stop thinking about the last time ;) Toys? See if he can take it like a man?! :eek:

I don't know hon. In my experience, porn is the lazy way to the imagination. I've met some men who genuinely are disappointed with the real thing because the actual physical act of keeping up (pun intended) your urges throughout all the messy and clumsy stuff (maneuvering into position - even suggesting another position!) is more difficult than watching someone else go through the motions online. I think it can numb people from the actual physical engagement of sex, as it's far less bother getting off on watching people than it is to get off on what you are doing to your partner/they are doing to you.

I know it is kind of hurtful when your partner just seems to lose interest - I've done it to my man and he to me. Only takes one hot night to be back on track though, and begging for it again! Did you ever ask him what he fantasizes about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Mod
    Hi Loomk, I have moved your thread to here as it's a more appropriate place for your query.
    Sauve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

OP - I have removed that link as it will prompt Off-topic discussion. As this is the relationship issue forum advice given has to be on topic to your situation and not anything that maybe in the news at the moment.

Taltos

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Tbh it sounds like you guys aren't compatible. He doesn't care about pleasuring you, and you have very different sex drives. His is probably going to get lower over time, not higher. The fact that he finds you "begging" for it off-putting raises major red flags too.

If this is going to be an issue, I'd suggest ending it sooner rather than later. There's plenty of men out there who would love a gf with a high sex drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭heretochat

While recognising that sex is not the be all and end all for a relationship it is a very important part of a loving relationship.

The problem arises as, in the OP's case, one partner has a significantly higher sex drive than the other. The partner with the lower drive inevitably feels under pressure to perhaps do things that he/she is not comfortable in doing.. Then the resentment can come into play..

Sex is meant to be enjoyable for both partners and not a chore. I would also be a little concerned about the daily porn intake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I know this might sound out there but I've done extensive research in to sex addiction due to my own discoveries about my ex bf.

Like that, sex was fine, great, fun at first but the novelty wore off me fairly quickly and like yourself I'm pretty attractive so I just didn't get it.

I was buying sexy lingerie and trying all i could think of to try seduce him and get some form of gratification but...nothing.

We weren't living together either and we were together 4 years so that too annoyed me that we were both renting out our own places.

I'd noticed a few times that he was very protective over his laptop so I never went near and actually I wasn't worried he was cheating because I thought "Sure I'm gagging for it if he wasn't to get his leg over something"

So, one day when I stayed in his place and he was at work I wanted to open a work file/image but didn't have the correct software. He'd every kind of software going so I figured it was ok to use his.

I got my image and then started looking at the other images...mostly homosexual sex stuff, Asian sex, every kind of weird sex and there were THOUSANDS of them. I opened a folder of videos too but I couldn't watch that kind of thing.

So, I told him I used his laptop to open an image and he screamed at me to get the **** out of his apartment.

a few hours later he called me and told me he had a problem. We went to a counsellor and he signer up for a treatment program as a verified sex addict.

That was pretty much the end of our relationship. It was something I could never get my head around but from the little bit of research I did in to my vulnerability in it all...

It's like the longer someone is in active sex addiction the more it takes to excite them. So normal fun sex is completely uninteresting to a sex addict, like hanging out the washing or something, a chore required to keep your relationship functioning but a waste of orgasm for him.

I know, it's weird, and it might not be what's going on at all. It just sounds familiar to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Maybe the sex with you OP is boring or unsatisfying and he doesnt know how to bring up the subject... ask him if he would like to try new things in the bedroom and spice things up

What a crappy thing to say. Are you being deliberately hurtful for a reason?

Obliq wrote: »
    What a crappy thing to say. Are you being deliberately hurtful for a reason?
    No? It can happen in a relationship, it doesn't sound like the sex is satisfying for her either

Of course it happens. Talking about sex is probably the only way through any sexual problems in a relationship, but realistically - how helpful is it to question the OP as to whether sex with her is boring? If I asked you the same question, you might rightfully consider me to be inciting bad feelings in you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Hardly boring if he has no problem orgasming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

I think people may be jumping to the 'sex addiction' conclusion a bit quickly. To begin with, they didn't being their relationship this way, so there's a presumption that 'sex addiction' has developed during the relationship for some reason, and that it turn begs the question of what that 'some reason' is. I've also noticed that the discussion has gone from an emphasis on masturbation to porn, which has naturally engendered all the pop theories on the subject today.

Men will almost always masturbate, even when in the most healthy of sexual relationships. There's a few reasons for this:

Sex is not frequent enough for the man. While, according to the OP, this isn't the case here, it's worth mentioning. In short, the man has a higher sex drive than the woman and thus has to take care of himself to make up the shortfall.

He has kinks or desires that are not possible with his partner. These may be completely off the wall things that he might never want to do in reality (not unusual for either gender to have fantasies they'd never actually play out) or simply that their partner is not into or refuses to partake in. If that's the case, the desire is still there, so what does he do? He satisfies it with fantasising and masturbating to it.

If this is the issue, then communication is obviously the key, although if it's the former type he may not want to discuss it, and finding if there is something he's into that is not presently on the sexual menu, that could be added. But if at the end of the day, if he's into something and the OP is not, then that's life and she'll just have to let him cater to it privately.

Often you just want to be selfish. Masturbation is very functional and importantly requires that only one person is satisfied. This is important because, for a man, having sex can involve a lot of foreplay and attention (both pre and post-coitus) twoards the woman you're with so that she can also enjoy the experience and reach orgasm.

Reality is that all this is a drag, especially when it's a prerequisite of sex all the time. Other than the effort, it also means men have to concentrate on the woman enjoying herself, which means we don't enjoy ourselves as much - in some rare cases at all.

So sometimes men prefer being able to be utterly selfish about sex and, unless we're the type of men that are selfish anyway during sex, then that means that masturbation is the only way to do this in a monogamous relationship.

If this is a factor, then again communication is the key; perhaps agreeing that both can take turns to being totally selfish in sex upon occasion.

Anyhow, these are the reasons why men would want to masturbate, rather than have sex with their partner. There's probably more, if I thought on it and they're not the only reasons why a man may begin to prefer masturbation to sex with their partner (stress, being the single biggest reason, AFAIK).

However, if the OP discusses the latter two with her boyfriend, she may find strategies with him that will improve matters. The more I think on it, the more that communication is the key to dealing with such problems; for example, an earlier poster talked about the efforts she made, by buying sexy lingerie. Were my other half to do that, I'd be touched, but not turned on - sexy lingerie never did it for me.

In short, talk to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

Why not just price it up and watch porn together? May just spike his interests to see what gets you goin? I think a lot of men and women get used to using porn and just don't realise they use it so much.

But I can bet watching it with him will spark something in him? What have you got to loose? May help ye both understand the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭loomk

At the risk of sounding like I'm full of myself, I know I'm 'good' at sex.
    I'm up for everything, initiate it. He has told me countless times how amazing I am in bed.

Any break up I've ever had, my ex's have always said how much they miss the 'amazing' sex with me.

He didn't have a relationship or many sexual partners for two years before I came along and I'm convinced that during that time, he developed a porn addiction.

Like most people, 'normal' porn soon starts to lose the appeal..
    And they look for more bizarre porn to satiate their appetite.
    This is an interesting read.. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/29/porn-addiction_n_4004069.html

I don't care that he watches porn when we don't see each other.
    It's the fact that he pretends that he doesn't masturbate, he pretends that he isn't that bothered by sex..

I had an argument with him on Friday and said how offended I was that he turns down sex so often and he was like.. 'I'm not constantly horny.. blah blah blah..' so I see his internet history.. porn watched about two hours before we went out.. so infuriating

It's really getting to me.

I'm going to try a bit of reverse psychologically with him this week.

See how that goes..

Reverse psychology? Just talk to him for gods sake rather than playing games

Like I've said, I've tried to!! He just denies and lies..

loomk wrote: »

Maybe, just maybe....approaching him with a view to accusing him of not being satisfactory (whether because of lack of sex or unwillingness to address this issue with you) is the wrong approach. Also, withholding sex is not satisfactory for either of you, so is just playing the "I know you have a sexdrive because I've seen your internet history (and I'm still checking up on you)" card where YOU get the satisfaction of oneupmanship, but no sex. A bit childish tbh, and not in the interests of resolution. If you do love this guy's company, then you might also be able to put YOURSELF on the line, instead of just requiring that he answers your questions. How about asking him if he can see anyway that your sex life might be better for both of you, if you were prepared to be non-judgemental and rather accomodating? Ask him in a way that lets him know he does it for you - that you are turned on by him and attracted to his personality, so that for you, this is worth exploring further. ??

I'm up for everything, initiate it.
    Alright then; check what kind of filth he's looking at when he masturbates and offer to do it with/for him.

I can't offer him a 'big black d**k, f**** a teeny white teen'
    or 'mum & daughter lick each other out' ..
    That's why I say I think he's addicted to porn because I know the type of porn he's looking at is getting increasingly more different!

Maybe, just maybe....approaching him with a view to accusing him of not being satisfactory (whether because of lack of sex or unwillingness to address this issue with you) is the wrong approach. Also, withholding sex is not satisfactory for either of you, so is just playing the "I know you have a sexdrive because I've seen your internet history (and I'm still checking up on you)" card where YOU get the satisfaction of oneupmanship, but no sex. A bit childish tbh, and not in the interests of resolution. If you do love this guy's company, then you might also be able to put YOURSELF on the line, instead of just requiring that he answers your questions. How about asking him if he can see anyway that your sex life might be better for both of you, if you were prepared to be non-judgemental and rather accomodating? Ask him in a way that lets him know he does it for you - that you are turned on by him and attracted to his personality, so that for you, this is worth exploring further. ??

I know it's childish and I'm usually straight down the line, not up for silly game playing but it's a last resort.

I have asked him what are his fantasies, does he want to role play, I have offered my body to him on a plate to do whatever he would like.

He knows that I'm attracted to him.

I can't offer him a 'big black d**k, f**** a teeny white teen'
    or 'mum & daughter lick each other out' ..
    How do you know the obvious is the kick? Of course it may be or it may be down to what the couple in the first video actually do, or the lesbianism in the second video, or something else again. Are there recurring practices or positions? Are they all couples or more groups, and if so, what's the composition of the group?

TBH, this is something you really need to discuss with him, but given he's your typical Irishman in this regard, you may need to figure a few scenarios out by yourself at first before he's more comfortable opening up to you in the future.

Also never forget the possibility that fear of being bad in bed (or weariness at the effort not to be) may also be a possibility. If so suggest a spontaneous quickie - effectively offering your body as a masturbatory aid, where he need not worry or put in effort, if he's in such a mood. If that is a success, then some mutual arrangement could become part of your sex lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭dannyc31

to be honest as someone else said i think this comes down to you both having completely different sex drives. he's tried to tell you in so many ways that he's not always horny. i think women often sometimes think that all men just want to f*ck 24/7 but in reality men are just as human as women and will be in the mood certain times and not in the mood other times.

i think you are blowing the porn thing way over the top. most men will look at porn especially after being in a relationship for a good length of time. its just that naturally men tend to crave variety i.e. many different shapes and sizes of women. studies have proven this. would you prefer if he was out on the weekend with his mates looking for no strings attached flings with real women??

the other thing with him being into the porn and not just into the sex with you all the time is that you may just have too high a sex drive for him. by the sounds of things, you could probably go for hours so he's probably knackered trying to satisfy you or maybe feels inadequate that he is'nt satisfying you everytime so why bother. where-as with the porn he can just pick a clip masturbate and be done in 3mins.

anyway in the end sexual compatibility is just as important in a relationship than all the other elements so you need to see if its going to be a red line issue for either of you going forward so talk to him like an adult and forget about the ridiculous mind games, thats only likely to make things worse.

How do you know the obvious is the kick? Of course it may be or it may be down to what the couple in the first video actually do, or the lesbianism in the second video, or something else again.

Yes, this. I've got off on both of the scenarios you mentioned before now, but specifically from looking for consensual and enjoyed sex between two comparitively different set ups to my own preferences. The "different" set ups don't mean a thing really - just the imaginative composition - and occasionally during sex I put my mind to including my fella and me in these different set ups to either get off more on what really gets him going or just selfishly make the most of what he's doing to me....

I found that when I asked about what my man fantasises about, I got answers that I didn't expect. Fantasies are just that, in a lot of cases - like someone said earlier, they might be the last thing someone would actually follow through with. Man on man, woman on woman - we both have had these fantasies but realistically might not want to go there in real life. Great in the imagination though! There's no harm in understanding that your partner may be imagining a scene very different to what you're physically doing, if it is also in their head that the sole physical presence of you and him may not be the be all and end all for what you get off on. Mutual fantasising can be serious fun :D

Fantasies are just that, in a lot of cases - like someone said earlier
    That was me.

Anyhow, I'm just spit-balling, throwing out suggestions. Ultimately, the boyfriend in question does appear to have issues with sex and as has been suggested he may simply have an incompatible sexuality or drive. No harm in checking under every bush though, before giving up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Two Tone from Limehouse

<Mod Snip>

My story is a little different.. but I would like to hear other ladies opinions/advice.

I've been going out with my boyfriend for a little over a year.
    Sex was fine at first, fun, regular.. I was really happy with our sex life..

However about two/three months in I noticed that my boyfriend was less likely to initiate sex.. or just really couldn't be bothered! I always initiate sex and am usually declined.

I have a high sex drive, or maybe it's normal.. I would LOVE sex every night.. morning.. whatever..

I enjoy sex with my boyfriend, he doesn't last ages.. Our 'sessions' last roughly ten mins.. which I like.. He never has a problem cumming.
    He usually is never that bothered about pleasing me.. I usually have to ask and then he says it's off putting when I'm 'begging' for it!

So I've been snooping on his Samsung Internet history.. porn every day..
    We don't live together and spend a few nights a week together.
    I don't think he's particularly into anything specific..
    teens, milfs, even some daddy daughter crap, slutty blondes etc..

So he's masturbating himself when he could be actually having sex with me!!

I'm attractive, Being honest I'm probably a 7.5/8 out of 10!

I know 100% that he's not cheating with me (apart from constant porn)
    Is he just lazy?
    Do guys find it off putting when women 'pester' them for sex?

My boyfriend was single for about a year and half before me, and didn't sleep around altogether that much so I guess he used a lot of porn throughout that period.

I honestly don't mind him using porn, when I'm on my own for a night I use it myself!
    But it's the fact that he can't be bothered having sex with me most of the time..

Any other guy I've been with before my boyfriend has LOVED how 'up for it' I am!

I should probably add that apart from the bedroom, everything else is fine.. we get on amazingly well and despite how insulted I feel about his attitude towards sex (with me) I love him to bits!

Would like to hear other Irish women's thoughts/advice etc!

As a guy I would have to say that no way is it off putting for a woman to 'pester' him to have sex... Not that you'd have to pester me!!seriously though, it's flattering for a lady to initiate sex also, makes a guy feel good. Any relationship I've been in I've been up for it most if the time, maybe the odd time you'd not be in the mood, but just the odd time. Even with regular sex I'd have a tommy each and every day, at least once a day. Rarely use porn though, once a month at most.

That was me.

Anyhow, I'm just spit-balling, throwing out suggestions. Ultimately, the boyfriend in question does appear to have issues with sex and as has been suggested he may simply have an incompatible sexuality or drive. No harm in checking under every bush though, before giving up.

Same here - just throwing out possibilities! Everything possible.....this is sex, after all. All bells and whistles, all zips, buckles and whips catered for :D Open minded acceptance of what turns you on and where you draw the line at what turns someone else on is always going to be an issue in any relationship....
    As they say; kinky is using a feather, perverted is using the whole chicken.

Laughed at that, thanks :D Must tell the fella to put the chicken AWAY in future....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Porn and masturbation is fine in a relationship. Choosing it in preference to sex with your partner as a matter of course is not fine. I wouldn't put up with it. Lying about it is not ok either, since it is an issue, and you are being more than reasonable about it. It probably is giving your ego a bit of a battering. You might consider if that is a factor in your choosing to compete with it. This porn addiction idea might or might not hold water, but it's irrelevant when he is making no attempt to deal with it at all, and belittles you for wanting normal intimacy - "begging for it" etc. Leave him to his black penises and teenagers I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 letssee7

Hi op.

I don't think its difference of sex drives and I think you are spot on his porn usage is the problem.

I say this as a guy who has let porn destroy my sexual desire in the past. I have have gone out with incredibly beautiful girls in the and while I would masturbate thinking about them or watching porn there was not enough desire to initiate sex.

For over a month I have given up porn and masturbation, I know people will think this is nonsense but I have become hungrier for sex and as a single guy my body seems to be more naturally sending out messages of interest to women. The changes I've felt are wonderful and it its possible with your bf.

Porn/masturbation can be like a drug, I know this is probably taboo as people like to have very liberal views on porn and masturbation, but it brings a free brief high and then a nice relaxed low. Dare i say a day is probably to much for people with normal sex drives.

If lack of sex is a deal breaker, then I would tell him to either stop **** so much or the relationship is over. Its not that hard to cut down.

Also I know this post will arouse suspicion of religious undertones- I am atheist and after done research and treating on the topic have come to the conclusion that porn and **** is a waste of energy, time and potential love.

letssee7 wrote: »
    Hi op.

I don't think its difference of sex drives and I think you are spot on his porn usage is the problem.

I say this as a guy who has let porn destroy my sexual desire in the past. I have have gone out with incredibly beautiful girls in the and while I would masturbate thinking about them or watching porn there was not enough desire to initiate sex.

For over a month I have given up porn and masturbation, I know people will think this is nonsense but I have become hungrier for sex and as a single guy my body seems to be more naturally sending out messages of interest to women. The changes I've felt are wonderful and it its possible with your bf.

Porn/masturbation can be like a drug, I know this is probably taboo as people like to have very liberal views on porn and masturbation, but it brings a free brief high and then a nice relaxed low. Dare i say a day is probably to much for people with normal sex drives.

If lack of sex is a deal breaker, then I would tell him to either stop **** so much or the relationship is over. Its not that hard to cut down.

Also I know this post will arouse suspicion of religious undertones- I am atheist and after done research and treating on the topic have come to the conclusion that porn and **** is a waste of energy, time and potential love.

Good post, except the religious bit??! :confused: Can't see any religious undertones at all, right up until you mentioned them ;)

However, this interesting experience of your's cannot be related to the OP's circumstances, as her boyfriend does not know that she knows about his everyday porn habit. She has been sneaking onto his online history, so clearly can't bring that up in conversation.

"Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practise to deceive" - Sir Walter Scott

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 letssee7

Good post, except the religious bit??! :confused: Can't see any religious undertones at all, right up until you mentioned them ;)

However, this interesting experience of your's cannot be related to the OP's circumstances, as her boyfriend does not know that she knows about his everyday porn habit. She has been sneaking onto his online history, so clearly can't bring that up in conversation.

"Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practise to deceive" - Sir Walter Scott

I can guarantee you that he doesn't realise his habit is negative. Everyone just believes its normal. I didn't really believe I was destroying my sexuality until something really negative happened and I joined the dots.

It will be the same for him, either he realises when he gets dumped our he realises when she calls him out on his porn habit. The fact is she has sensed that he was lying and she checked and was right. He is sowing the seeds of doubt and lying, looking at his history may not be nice but it seems necessary. If she wants a better sexual relationship she has to take action.

I see there is a documentary from a lads mag guy about the effects of porn on tv. Maybe people will begin to accept that we have been foolishly liberal with our views of porn being perfectly ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Op, have you given consideration to the possibility that you just might not "do it" for him anymore? That maybe you're not as good in bed as you think you are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Dubhlinner

I find a lot of women don't understand they way we look at porn. The main thing having sex with your girlfriend and having a quickie over porn have in common is they cause the release of semen.

After that its sort of like comparing a fine steak dinner with a pre-made tuna sandwich from Spar. They're both food, but really not in the same category

So, whilst I suspect he seems to be over using it a bit, it may be symptom of something else that's wrong with him or the relationship