Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fake number plate on road vehicle

• 23-09-2013 7:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,821 ✭✭✭Markcheese

j63a1i.jpg

Grand until a garda is behind you... Can't see That it's being done to disguise the identity of the vehicle :):)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Cool story..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055581404

Can't remember what I did at the time. It was 4 years ago but they were giving out about something or other on the radio about reg plates, I think I wanted to go on air about it but we were doing business with them at work or something so I didn't.

Facebook page here, incidentally
    https://www.facebook.com/kfmradiofans?ref=br_rs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Did you not use the same picture posted in page 3 of the 2009 thread on this thread?
    How come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

What's the main reason for having a number plate?

This isn't gonna turn into a sort of "how many blue sprinters with kfm plastered all over them are there, its not gonna get mistaken for anything else" point is it?

Its the law too apparently.

Any up to date picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

colm_mcm wrote: »
    This isn't gonna turn into a sort of "how many blue sprinters with kfm plastered all over them are there, its not gonna get mistaken for anything else" point is it?

Its the law too apparently.

I'm not defending it.
    It is easy enough for guards to spot it though. I just don't see the point in worrying about it, they don't seem to be.

I'm not defending it.
    It is easy enough for guards to spot it though. I just don't see the point in worrying about it, they don't seem to be.

Be a bit like if I got a pink Porsche cayenne with my phone number as the reg plate, its not gonna get mistaken for anything else and I'd be easily contactable if needed but it'd also be completely illegal

If its going around for 4 years its a bit ridiculous, and it's not just fixed on while doing OBs, I've seen it on the motorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

And instead of having this funny 1000 euros reserve a number plate thing, they should let people buy individual plates like that on a picture at some extra cost.

I'm sure there would be plenty of people interested in having 09-D-PADDY or 03-KY-JOE etc...
    Brilliant idea.

And instead of having this funny 1000 euros reserve a number plate thing, they should let people buy individual plates like that on a picture at some extra cost.

I'm sure there would be plenty of people interested in having 09-D-PADDY or 03-KY-JOE etc...
    Brilliant idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

CiniO wrote: »

Brilliant idea.
    Why bother with the year? Thats the crappiest part of the reg.

I agree, but if they want us to display them, then all car should display them, including those with so-called private plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

easy enough to have the year in small numbers above the main number surely...then you could have whatever you want as the main number

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Found that thread when I did a search.

And you couldn't post in that thread because....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

1A04EFB6C0774A57AD7BD68B04B47D41-0000327166-0003377413-00800L-76D0ADFC00B340F491DBBB24E740831D.jpg

Saw this the other day. A bit blurry but it says 12-d-0000. Is this just a temporary plate? Never seen one before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

http://photos4.pix.ie/1A/04/1A04EFB6C0774A57AD7BD68B04B47D41-0000327166-0003377413-00800L-76D0ADFC00B340F491DBBB24E740831D.jpg

Saw this the other day. A bit blurry but it says 12-d-0000. Is this just a temporary plate? Never seen one before

Test driving a UK import? (yet to be reg'd)

Just a guess. I have no idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

There's a diesel mini in Lansdowne motors on the Knocklyon road with the reg 09 D 0000 too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Test driving a UK import? (yet to be reg'd)

Just a guess. I have no idea...

That would be my guess too. Test drove an 09-D a while back (UK import).

That was the whole plate just 09-D in the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

It's a makey-uppy plate, the car is (presumably) being driven on trade plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

AltAccount wrote: »
    It's a makey-uppy plate, the car is (presumably) being driven on trade plates.

Correct I'd say.
    However as usual the dealer/saleman couldnt be bothered taking the 10 seconds it takes to properly attach the trade plate in the rear (and front windows). 'Ah sure just throw it on the dashboard' (i.e. where nobody can see it) :rolleyes:

In most countries dealer/trade plates MUST be attached in lieu of the normal plate before driving on a public road (heavy penalities if not attached).

And as regards the 'KFM' plates???
    ...thats a total joke...they deserve to be heavily fined for taking the p@** like that.
    People seem to forget that a reg plate is for easily identifying a vehicle...not for messing about with.

Silvera wrote: »
    People seem to forget that a reg plate is for easily identifying a vehicle...not for messing about with.

How can we expect people to realise that, if out government who sets the rules about numberplates must have forgotten about that fact (that numberplates are for easily identifying the vehicle).

CiniO wrote: »
    How can we expect people to realise that, if out government who sets the rules about numberplates must have forgotten about that fact (that numberplates are for easily identifying the vehicle).
    Eh?