Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VIDEO: square baler firing bales into a silage trailer

• 22-09-2013 5:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭

How to u post a link to a Facebook clip. Saw a good one there with a sq baler firing bales into a silage trailer after being baled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

sea12 wrote: »
    How to u post a link to a Facebook clip. Saw a good one there with a sq baler firing bales into a silage trailer after being baled

Think I saw that in real life in Canada, They were using four wheel draw trailers connected on to the baler as the baler wouldn't carry a two wheel trailer. When the trailer was full they would hitch it to the farm jeep and head off to the yard, trailer was about 15ft long and 8ft high with an open front

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

rancher wrote: »
    Think I saw that in real life in Canada, They were using four wheel draw trailers connected on to the baler as the baler wouldn't carry a two wheel trailer. When the trailer was full they would hitch it to the farm jeep and head off to the yard, trailer was about 15ft long and 8ft high with an open front
    did ya ever see a self propelled small square baler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

sea12 wrote: »
    Hope this works
    http://youtu.be/zzqVuiBxJck

self propelled small square baler

http://youtu.be/z25K8BOSEXU

There is a machine for everything these days what would the last generation think
    http://youtu.be/r9P4Fr43B8c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

hoseman wrote: »

Yea it was the same idea as that but not the same clip. U get the idea though. Interesting isn't it

Last time I handled square bales was in 1984,handled about 5000 then ,never f@@king again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Last time I handled square bales was in 1984,handled about 5000 then ,never f@@king again!
    Your hands mustv'e been still red raw in december that year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Try 25-30k over 5-6 weeks, , me feckin hands were like the sole of a shoe :(

We used to buy straw on the flat, bale and sell it on. Back when round bales were a rumour from the continent. We had two 21ft trucks on the road.

bbam wrote: »

We used to buy straw on the flat, bale and sell it on. Back when round bales were a rumour from the continent. We had two 21ft trucks on the road.
    The thoughts, i baled 40 yesterday and it was enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

First round bales appeared here in 1989 as we had a lorry on the road and were backloading them from Wexford I think. used to get 24 into/onto a cattle lorry. handballing them into position were the cattle go and another row onto the ribs ontop. Tied up with something resembling a bit of baling twine to keep them in place:eek: I remember locals coming to see them:D:D, the general comment was they looked right awkward yokes. How wrong could they have been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

First round bales appeared here in 1989 as we had a lorry on the road and were backloading them from Wexford I think. used to get 24 into/onto a cattle lorry. handballing them into position were the cattle go and another row onto the ribs ontop. Tied up with something resembling a bit of baling twine to keep them in place:eek: I remember locals coming to see them:D:D, the general comment was they looked right awkward yokes. How wrong could they have been

You surly mean. 1979 , Bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »
    You surly mean. 1979 , Bob

ah you lads up there are lite years ahead of us. 1989 sticks in my head for some reason. back then you needed to be a mechanic to drive a lorry on the road:D. Red Ford cargo, and believe it or not the cattle body is still on the road and in very good nick having been made in 82 I think by hegarty's in Killarney.

back then you needed to be a mechanic to drive a lorry on the road:D.
    yeah ya need to be a computer engineer now for anything with an engine :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

ah you lads up there are lite years ahead of us. 1989 sticks in my head for some reason. back then you needed to be a mechanic to drive a lorry on the road:D. Red Ford cargo, and believe it or not the cattle body is still on the road and in very good nick having been made in 82 I think by hegarty's in Killarney.
    first I remember were 85-86 and they were silage with the big bag tied over them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

we always had small sqaure bales when i was a nipper, we would build them up on top of the silage pit. didnt have rounds until the early 90's at home but one of my uncles has them for as long as i can remeber so that was from the early 80's, my dad used to load them as he had a loader on the tractor. used it always look forward to it as it meant i could go driving, dad would load and unload the bales and my cousin and i would drive the trailers with my uncles tractors (5 bales at at a time) while my uncles would roll the bales into position on top of the silage. we my 1st time driving a tractor was loading sqaure bales, i was about 5 and would be in the lowest gear and would drive up and down the field as the bales were brought to the trailer. i was about 7 when i was trusted with the round bales.

fella near here used to have a bale elevator that was mounted on teh front loader. the elevator would extend to go over teh cab of the tractor to the trailer. once the 1st few rows were done they would put the bales on the elevator and it would carry it up onto the trailer for stacking, a lot easier the piking them. still round bales or the big sqaure ones are much easier to use nowadays, as most farmers have a loader to lift and handle them

first I remember were 85-86 and they were silage with the big bag tied over them :D

yeah i remember them too, they would use a loader to lift the bale then sile the bag over them and then tie it. i also remember the long tubes that had maybe 10 bales together.

the big sqaures are gettign more popular each year but waht i do notice is that anyone that is selling the straw to go big distances will use the square while if they are sellign local its the round. Roun suits us best at the moment as we would feed them in teh round feeders or roll it out along the passage but i can see the big sqaures makign an apperace around here in the future.

the 1st time i saw big squares round here was actually for silage, would have been maybe 1991/92 i'd say, neighbour did an experinemt one year where he baled teh silage in big sqaures then stacked them in the shed the covered them in plastic and sealed. he then lifted out a bale at a time to feed the cattle in the winter.

small squares of hay and straw are very handy to have around tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

We made 6*4 one year. A guy bought a cheap round baler and my father got him to bale for us. Absolute monsters of yolks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkYWp_fbxZY
    This is the yoke to get rid of the hay pike:D

yeah smal hay bales are great if you want to seprate a cow or need to bring in a few during the summer. we were going to make soem this yeat but couldnt get hold of a small baler, 2 of my neighbours have them but both were out of action at the time (well one the tractor on it was out after breaking down baling on an outside farm) so got a lad witha round baler to do it instead

grazeaway wrote: »
    yeah smal hay bales are great if you want to seprate a cow or need to bring in a few during the summer. we were going to make soem this yeat but couldnt get hold of a small baler, 2 of my neighbours have them but both were out of action at the time (well one the tractor on it was out after breaking down baling on an outside farm) so got a lad witha round baler to do it instead
    yeah bought one earlier this year and was great to have with the fine weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

If your going to have a BBQ or a picnic.
    My old man had a lot of tillage when we were young all small bales. The first time he saw a round baler was at the spring show in 78-79 an International 6x5 and he bought it. The neighbours thought they would never catch on. It was driven for years by a MF 168

you d be surprised how many lads came looking for the square baler this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

you d be surprised how many lads came looking for the square baler this year

yeah a few small bales are well worth havign around the place. saw a huge amount of lads doing enough for one small trailer load then the rest in rounds. we made about 150 small ones about 6 years ago, had them for calves or a few seprated cows and had them in the shed for about 4 years.

once front loaders and pick up hitches started getting more common the big round came into its own. my dad was one of the 1st people in this area to get a loader back in the mid 70's and he actually spent a lot of his time loading round bales for neighbours even though it was square we had at home. we would put the bales up on the silage so it was vey hard to get round bales up there. when he changed to a power loader in the 80's it was easier to put in round bales and push a line of them up along the plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭jay gatsby

yellow50HX wrote: »
    yeah a few small bales are well worth havign around the place. saw a huge amount of lads doing enough for one small trailer load then the rest in rounds. we made about 150 small ones about 6 years ago, had them for calves or a few seprated cows and had them in the shed for about 4 years.

Have lots of em for sale here lads so if you know anyone looking for a few I'll happily sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭ferryman35

Don't need to go to Canada to see it!

ferryman35 wrote: »
    Don't need to go to Canada to see it!

is there much issues with soft bales or ones getting the twines knocked off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭ferryman35

No, even softish ones will go through but if very loose might just have to squeeze them back into shape. If one string is missing the bale will usually be spread out over the trailer. If the bales are anyway fair there are very few problems with it. Very useful bit of kit. Very striking that everyone's memories of small squares are usually of the hardship that goes with them. This kit is well vintage at this stage, yet very few in this neck of the woods have seen or heard of it.