Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battaglin world champion 1987 road bike

• 22-09-2013 9:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Hi everyone first time posting,
    I purchased a battaglin 1987 world champion road bike from revelo.ae I am just looking for advice , should I get it sprayed in the blue white and red that Roche used in the 87 season or should it be left alone in the irish colours it is in ? I have the rolls saddle ready to put on it and am going to try get it signed by the great man himself ( fingers crossed ) just looking to see what you guys think should i leave it as it is or go all out and get it sprayed ........ Here is a link to the bike http://revelo.at/?product=battaglin-world-champion-1987# thanks in advance ..........j

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

wow,, lovely bike? Leave as is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Leave
    it.

Nice bike Jack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 835 ✭✭✭countrykid

Holy **** leave it....!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭kingoffifa

leave it as it is - a classic!

enjoy !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Jack74

Can't wait for the bike to arrive , I'm hoping the size will be ok now if not I'm hanging it in my shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 835 ✭✭✭countrykid

Jack74 wrote: »
    Can't wait for the bike to arrive , I'm hoping the size will be ok now if not I'm hanging it in my shop

Eh,.... No yer not!!! I'm buying it if it doesn't fit!!!!!
    Sweet machine... Lucky lucky boy

Lol @ countrykd, decided last year I was going to to start trying to make up a retro road bike found the bike online at revelo bought it on their eBay site , I had that poster from bank of Ireland on my wall for years as a kid ( Roche , battaglin yellow jersey etc)was thinking about getting it sprayed to match his tour bike but with it in the irish colours and all was just looking for advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

lovely bike enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Good luck with it and don't re-spray it( but do replace the tyres with a matching pair).

Just wondering - were the brake cables originally routed under the bar tape?

No I don't think so and I think he had brown or tan brake covers I'll take more pics when I get It and will sort out tyres for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Lol I was only looking at that bike on eBay yesterday.
    Lovely looking bike. Enjoy it.
    You do know that one vintage bike is never enough, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

You do know that one vintage bike is never enough, don't you?
    Better be quiet Tax Man, I started building up my first one. Don't want to think about another one yet :).

Ups... just realised I actually have another one that I bough this summer to keep it abroad as a holiday bike :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

Lovely authentic bike - I would definitely leave the frame as it i!

If the bike does not fit when it arrives Ill hang it up and start again maybe try sort out a vitus 979