Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Under rated TV personalities/actors/actress/singers

• 22-09-2013 5:01pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

I was watching the final of America's Got Talent this week and I was reminded of the amazing talent that is Nick Cannon, I dont think it'd be half as good without him.

He's not exactly talked about much over here though, as in he never pops up in print media or UK and Irish websites, even with his famous other half. The guy should be a global name and not just an American one imho.

I'll calm down before I veer into man crush territory (too late?)

What celeb/actor/actress/singer/other do you think is under rated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

For me it's Kevin Bridges.

Frankie Boyle couldn't lace his boots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

For me it's Kevin Bridges.

Frankie Boyle couldn't lace his boots.

He's new to me but he's hilarious ^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i always thought William Peterson is wasted on TV he could've been a huge movie star, he has the looks & charisma

he was brilliant back in the 80s in Live & Let die in LA and Manhunter yet for some reason he never really made the big time

fryup wrote: »
    i always thought William Peterson is wasted on TV he could've been a huge movie star, he has the looks & charisma

he was brilliant back in the 80s in Live & Let die in LA and Manhunter yet for some reason he never really made the big time

100%

Same with John C. McGinley who played Dr Cox in Scrubs. He never really had the major film roles he deserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Matt King who plays Super Hans in Peep Show.....one of my favourite comedy characters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Tobin Bell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Nerina Pallot. I don't know why she isn't better known. Her last few albums have been fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

the guy who plays sid in home and away,always seemed to be much more believable than the other characters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭WeHaveToGoBack

Agree with William Petersen and Tobin Bell. John Noble would be another for me, he's brilliant in Fringe and it just seems like he should be more famous :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

fryup wrote: »

He's in CSI though, tv wise he made it big. Good actor though.

Kurt Russell is one for me, he's well known but never really made it to the A list, and didn't want to as far as I know. But he's always solid and had a great run with John Carpenter, Escape From New york, The Thing and Big Trouble In Little China are all brilliant.

Keanu Reeves gets a lot of stick from people on the internet, but I won't hear a bad word said against him, he's meant to be one of the soundest guys in Hollywood, and has given away more money than most of us could dream of because he knows actors get paid ridiculous money for what they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Paddy Considine is seriously under rated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭BlurstMonkey

I feel like not enough people know Bill Burr. He's a great standup, some might recognise him from his bit part in Breaking Bad as one of Saul's guys.

Aah! So thats why he looked so familiar. There's a couple of his stand ups on Netflix, I must give them a go

krudler wrote: »

Kurt Russell is one for me, he's well known but never really made it to the A list, and didn't want to as far as I know. But he's always solid and had a great run with John Carpenter, Escape From New york, The Thing and Big Trouble In Little China are all brilliant.

Tarantino is a big fan as well, I think if he'd put him in one of his mainstream films (as opposed to Death Proof) he'd have been a much bigger star, or at least a revived one in the way Pulp Fiction gave John Travolta's career a second wind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Mark Wahlberg was out of the public eye for a long time and had hardly any good roles. I know his career has taken a turn for the better in recent years and deservedly so. I think he's a great actor and has a really good range even though he's pretty typecast in a lot of the roles he plays.

Also, Peter Boyle who played Rays dad in Everybody Loves Raymond, was a great actor. He got a lot of roles in B movies and never got the recognition he deserved in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Gamayun

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Mark Wahlberg was out of the public eye for a long time and had hardly any good roles. I know his career has taken a turn for the better in recent years and deservedly so. I think he's a great actor and has a really good range even though he's pretty typecast in a lot of the roles he plays.

Also, Peter Boyle who played Rays dad in Everybody Loves Raymond, was a great actor. He got a lot of roles in B movies and never got the recognition he deserved in my opinion.

He could have got the recognition from this piece of genius, but the pilot was never picked up (for some reason):

Matthew Perry, ex of Friends.

Easily the best of the cast and I expected him to be a big Rom Com film star after the show had ended

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Matthew Perry, ex of Friends.

Easily the best of the cast ...

The fuckin couch in that show was better than 90% of the cast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Nic Cage

There's not a role he can't or won't do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

kfallon wrote: »
    Matt King who plays Super Hans in Peep Show.....one of my favourite comedy characters

The whole staff of Peep Show, be it the writers, actors etc is criminally underrated and unwatched by the masses. I can't believe it has been on ten years and I only started watching it last year after getting my hands on a season one DVD, being on on a Friday night when its target audience are out on the beer does it no favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Agree with William Petersen and Tobin Bell. John Noble would be another for me, he's brilliant in Fringe and it just seems like he should be more famous :)

Feck. Immediately when I saw the thread title I was going to say john Noble. The search function on touch is terrible, but I remember one of the lads in the Fringe forum say that they should just put him up on stage and throw awards at him all night! :D

He played such a vast array of character personalities across different timelines and different dimensions in Fringe that you just wondered was there no end to this man's extraordinary range? The emotion and the intellect he portrayed in each aspect of Walter and "Walternate" is definitely something that should've seen him at least nominated for an Emmy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

John Cusack. He looks like he's half asleep in some of the movies he's in, with that deceptive tired face that he has, but he is deceptively brilliant at acting.

You can insert Bill Murray for John Cusack too, another brilliant actor, sarcasm drips from every line he has.

John Cusack. He looks like he's half asleep in some of the movies he's in, with that deceptive tired face that he has, but he is deceptively brilliant at acting.

You can insert Bill Murray for John Cusack too, another brilliant actor, sarcasm drips from every line he has.

...Bill Murray who is one of the most known, loved and appreciated actors in the world, who starred in one of the most successful films of all time, along with dozens of fantastic critically lauded and successful films. That Bill Murray?

I recently discovered this amazing song via the TV show The Shield.

Both the song and the band are new to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

...Bill Murray who is one of the most known, loved and appreciated actors in the world, who starred in one of the most successful films of all time, along with dozens of fantastic critically lauded and successful films. That Bill Murray?

if there's one thing the internet has a raging boner for its Bill Murray, and cats.

He's had a few turkeys but Ghostbusters, Scrooged, Groundhog Day, Lost In Translation and The Life Aquatic are all superb. and his turn in Kingpin is absolutely hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Billy de Bollix

Jeff Lynne from E.L.O. travelling wilburys, production work for...George Harrison. Mc Cartney, Tom Petty, Roy Orbison, The Beatles. Joe Walsh....and on and on...I rest my case!!!

krudler wrote: »
    if there's one thing the internet has a raging boner for its Bill Murray, and cats.

He's had a few turkeys but Ghostbusters, Scrooged, Groundhog Day, Lost In Translation and The Life Aquatic are all superb. and his turn in Kingpin is absolutely hilarious.

He's great in all of Andersons stuff. I'm surprised you wouldn't mention Rushmore. Caddyshack, Stripes, lots of great films. Talking about "the internet" as an entity is silly. There are more than enough detractors for anyone or anything, it's a weak kind of thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Sam Rockwell.

This could be an obscure one - Ken Finkleman. Writer of "The Newsroom". (A Canadian comedy, not the current Sorkin one).

Also writers- Darin Morgan, Rob Thomas and Daniel Waters.

Forest Whitaker