Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cow overdue to calve

• 22-09-2013 2:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

Cow that was due to calve ten days ago still hasn't calved. Should i be getting worried???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

jersey101 wrote: »
    Cow that was due to calve ten days ago still hasn't calved. Should i be getting worried???
    any sign of any springing and whats she in calf too, did ya have a bull with the cows to clean up? have one myself too, going to get her handled, scanning man normally spot on though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

whelan1 wrote: »
    any sign of any springing and whats she in calf too, did ya have a bull with the cows to clean up? have one myself too, going to get her handled, scanning man normally spot on though

ye she has an unbelievable udder on her she didnt have as big as one last year when she calved. She a BF/HO in calve to a JE. No bull here. The father is a bit worried about here and he never gets worried

you could induce her, ask vet, you can use estrumate or voren , but ring vet to make sure what to do

father won't let me. Said it yesterday and he wouldn't agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Find once they're handled it starts them in to labour most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

I had 2 suckers this year that went 30+ days with the 9 months and both calved by themself....my vet dead against inducing when I asked he said it would cause problems with retained placenta and getting back incalf......one was incalf to a charolais so I was expecting abit of time but the other was an Angus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Average gestation for say the Limousin is 290 days so that could 17/18 days with the nine months. And that's just average.

PUT her in the trailer and bring her for a bumpy drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Durrus Boy

pakalasa wrote: »
    Average gestation for say the Limousin is 290 days so that could 17/18 days with the nine months. And that's just average.

Ya, would agree with that. Majority of cows here are LmX & when crossed back to a Lim bull i'd hardly bother looking at them until they're 10 days short of 10months! Routinely induce here at 42 weeks especially cows i/c to harder bulls scanned with bull calves. Rarely have issues afterwards once they're gone past 290 days & all calve within 48 hrs.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

PUT her in the trailer and bring her for a bumpy drive

A good hot curry!!!!

had a cow calved this evening to pbm, massive heifer calf, was 100% sure it was a bull... have 20 calved, 21 calves 11 fr heifers, 3 angus calves, 7 fr bulls, 1 of the fr bulls died at a week old.. all born alive so far and lost 1 cow who damaged her spine calving:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

She will calve when she gets the pain. Cows calved by themselves long before humans started annoying them by watching and checking on them ever half hour.

when the apple is ripe it will fall:o:o

i need to watch this lady she pure fat. Ye cant see a bone on her. Dont want her to calve and get milk fever and im not around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Do jerseys carry much time usually ? Ten days wouldnt worry me much .

moy83 wrote: »
    Do jerseys carry much time usually ? Ten days wouldnt worry me much .

ive never had any this long. Could be a bull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

ive never had any this long. Could be a bull?
    Can't be a bull they don't go incalf:P:P

did she calve yet?

Still no calf. I wonder is there a chance she had the calf and i never noticed. Her bag is getting bigger and bigger everyday. Ive walked the ditches 3 times now

handle her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Had a cow last yr that went over afew days, mad springing, turned out she had bloody calved, beside a drain, and the calf had fell in. Dead of course by the time we found it. Annoying mistake to have made, we don't let them calf in that field anymore.

father says her pins are down so ill see what the craic is at 12. if not ill put her in the crush before I go off to the ploughing in the morning. I had dogs kill calves before around 3 year ago, not a nice sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Well, any update?

Nothing this morning either. Couldnt get her out of field this morning so she may wait till i come back from the ploughing today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Timmaay wrote: »
    Had a cow last yr that went over afew days, mad springing, turned out she had bloody calved, beside a drain, and the calf had fell in. Dead of course by the time we found it. Annoying mistake to have made, we don't let them calf in that field anymore.

that is fair annoying, most times the cow will stay by the calf but every now and then they will stray. was watching a heifer a few years ago, was very young so we were keeping a very close eye on her. went up in the mornig to check her, no sigen of a calf but she was very agitated and thetail was up a bit so said i'll open the wire and get her int the shed to sheck her, by the time i came up there was a small black calf in the field so she must have calved during the night. grand job says i, i'll just go back down for the idoine, came back about 15mins later, calf gone. spent about 3 hrs checkign the ditches and no sign of the little fecker. my dad was up in the afternoon and the calf was there caught it and checked her she was fine. missign again that evening and spend hours looking for her. this apperaing and disapperaing act went on for about 3 days. evenually found her inside the ditch of a meighbours adjioning field in behind the biars, as she was black she was almost impossible to see, once we managed to tag her the yellow tags were easier to spot.

had a cow calved a good few years ago and we couldnt find the calf . there was 3 or 4 of us looking, eventually my da heard calf bawling, it had fallen down a fox hole:eek: , he could just about feel its tail with his hand. eventually we got her out- a fr heifer- with all scrape marks all over its face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

remember myself and my brother bringing a cow up from the bottom feild to calve. couldnt figure out how it was taking her so long and the huge bag of milk on her. found half a calf about a month later >:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

We had a cow calf last year she hid the calf in the ditch I searched the field for hours no sign of the calf. I even went up a neighbours hill which over looks our land and sat up there watching for a few hours. still no sign of the calf. The next evening I went walking the field again was watching for a reaction from the cow if I got close to the calf it got dark then BANG the bloody cow rammed me broke 3 ribs and lots of bruises but I found the calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I bet she's calved!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

hi Whelan did you find the calf you were looking for sometime back.

ye sold him in the mart last week, he was asleep in a ditch

WP_000471.jpg

WP_000472.jpg
    well she had had the calf by the time I came home from the ploughing at 6 and of course she had a bull:mad: would have made a nice heifer lovely markings on him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Some bag of milk. It's often the ones you worry about that give the least hassle!

tis a serious bag alright. And now she has a massive slit on her teat and cant me milked on one quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Happy days,

Better then trying to find a calf in a ditch. She probably knew ye were away for the day.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Happy days,

Better then trying to find a calf in a ditch. She probably knew ye were away for the day.

the mother looked at her at 3 and she had nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I had a new arrival yesterday as well. Calf arrived within seconds! Little rat of a thing that practically bounced when it hit the ground. Heifer is very protective, has the calf buried in rushes, so I haven't yet checked to see what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

KatyMac wrote: »
    I had a new arrival yesterday as well. Calf arrived within seconds! Little rat of a thing that practically bounced when it hit the ground. Heifer is very protective, has the calf buried in rushes, so I haven't yet checked to see what it is.

get anotehr person with you, make sure you have a good stick with you, clip her on the ear or nose if she gets too close (no point hitting her on the head as she'll close her eyes and just plough through you) and dont turn your back, get the calf between you and the cow