Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good detail and new cd changer

• 21-09-2013 9:14pm
    Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Lads,

My anniversary with the Oh is coming up (five years :eek:) and as the modern and old traditions for it are silver/wood, I'm thinking of the following

1. Watch (got this )
    2. He's recently gotten a 2000 E class which has a wood bit on the dash, so it covers the silver/wood theme. Anyway, I have two things I'm thinking of (I'm one of those very sad people who spend literally weeks planning birthday/anniversary/christmas gifts)

They are as follows:

1. A really good body detail, I know the OH would absolutely love this along with a really good interior clean.
    2. His car comes with a built in six cd changer in the boot, and it seems to have a problem with the mechanism as it doesn't work. Can I just replace it with another six cd changer? I.e. are the connectors the same?

And before ye drool and say he is spoiled, he knows it, he gets breakfast in bed every day of our work week!

I just want him to have an anniversary he won't forget :)

So I'm looking for a recommendation on where to send the car to make it look fantastic and how to sort the cd changer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Where are you located?

I've used CleanCar.ie for a detail and the attention to detail was top notch.

As for the changer, get the part number and search eBay.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Where are you located?

I've used CleanCar.ie for a detail and the attention to detail was top notch.

As for the changer, get the part number and search eBay.

Swords, I'm trying to sort it so that it gets done on one day, I have the watch as the gift on the day, hoping for the cd changer that I can just swap out as I've replaced radios before on his car, then anniversary is on a Tuesday so wanting to send his car in for detail the Sat. after.

How much did the detail cost?

Exterior detail with them is €60, that's not correction just a proper de-tar, clay, polish, wax, wheels properly cleaned and tyres/arches dressed.

When I got mine done it was new so got extra wax and stuff done. Looked fantastic. Booking in for week after next again Monday morning.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Exterior detail with them is €60, that's not correction just a proper de-tar, clay, polish, wax, wheels properly cleaned and tyres/arches dressed.

When I got mine done it was new so got extra wax and stuff done. Looked fantastic. Booking in for week after next again Monday morning.

Jeepers that's a great price, that's exactly what I was looking for, a really good job on the exterior. I'll give them a ring, and see what else they can do on the interior, the seats are cloth (weird as it's an elegance level trim) and a bit grubby

Thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Women like that actually exist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

colm_mcm wrote: »

Stheno drives an alfa. Women like that are a rare breed!:P

Stheno detailing shed are based in swords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Scortho wrote: »

nah, alfas are woman's cars......:pac:runs for the hill

He's spoiled rotten.

ROTTEN

If I am working away from home, he gets coffee at a minimum in bed, he works from home so I am up early, it varies from that to scrambled egg and smoked salmon. His lunch is in the fridge, I give him a call to get him out of bed, and a chat at lunch to tell him what he needs to do to have a nice meal.

If I am working from home, he gets no breakfast, but gets lunch served up.

Obviously dinner is served every night.

His dry cleaning and laundry are taken care of with the mild rule that any cash left in his clothes is mine (I usually refund it in fairness)

I'd a stupid male work colleauge once ask my OH why he put up with me.

OH said "breakfast in bed every morning, laundry done, lunch in the fridge, dinner sorted, what more can I ask for"

Colleague nearly died of horror.

I'll check them out Scortho, what I'd love to do is have his car disappear on the Sat morning and come back sparkling :D

Stheno wrote: »
    Jeepers that's a great price, that's exactly what I was looking for, a really good job on the exterior. I'll give them a ring, and see what else they can do on the interior, the seats are cloth (weird as it's an elegance level trim) and a bit grubby

Thank you!

Think the interior one is the same price. But the attention to detail really is top notch...and I'm very fussy.

Think I got one. I got a present of a trip to Modena and a Ferrari tour for my 30th.* I should post the pics of that actually.

*The rest of the week may not have been car related.

He's spoiled rotten.

ROTTEN

If I am working away from home, he gets coffee at a minimum in bed, he works from home so I am up early, it varies from that to scrambled egg and smoked salmon. His lunch is in the fridge, I give him a call to get him out of bed, and a chat at lunch to tell him what he needs to do to have a nice meal.

If I am working from home, he gets no breakfast, but gets lunch served up.

Obviously dinner is served every night.

His dry cleaning and laundry are taken care of with the mild rule that any cash left in his clothes is mine (I usually refund it in fairness)

I'd a stupid male work colleauge once ask my OH why he put up with me.

OH said "breakfast in bed every morning, laundry done, lunch in the fridge, dinner sorted, what more can I ask for"

Colleague nearly died of horror.

Hugh-Hefner_1459935c.jpg

nah, alfas are woman's cars......:pac:runs for the hill

Do you drive a BMW perchance?
    Think the interior one is the same price. But the attention to detail really is top notch...and I'm very fussy.

Wow so I can get the interior and exterior done for a lot less than I was budgeting? (I spend a small fortune on gifts for my OH, but only if they are practical, he's fecked when it comes to me as I'm evil to buy for)

I think he'd just love this, and I'm going to dress it up by "stealing his car" for a few days and having him all anxious.

His first birthday we were together, I did a magical mystery tour with clues for each stage, and whilst he was going for a facial, I'd him convinced he was off to be waxed hee heee.

Yis all probably think I am mad.

But OMG he would nearly die of happiness if his car was all cleaned and spruced up internally and externally and his cd changer worked, he'd be thrilled.

Looks like €110 for the works.

http://www.cleancar.ie/services.html

We all think your great. Can we all move in...

Looks like €110 for the works.

http://www.cleancar.ie/services.html

Jeez I was budgeting three times that, nice dinner out added to the cards :D

Thank you so much, it's the sort of gift that you always want, you'd never pay it yourself, but you'd love it as a gift, he will be absolutely thrilled.
    We all think your great. Can we all move in...

NO. I can only cope with one manchild at a time :D

And unlike him, you collectively could never ever buy me a gift I've not think of but love :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

He's a jammy bugger :P

dharn wrote: »
    He's a jammy bugger :P

He is to be honest, how many women do you know who spend an evening drilling a wardrobe to fit their OHs shirts (He's about 120 shirts and I'd to put an extra rail in the wardrobe)

And isn't it great to get piles of help to get him a gift he will adore from people who don't know me from adam just cos we chat online rather than taking a chance on god knows who?

He's a lovely man, and I take pride in getting him gifts he will enjoy and appreciate, and if I sound like a sap asking for help with that I don't give a crap. His new to him 2000 merc is his pride and joy, I treated him to a handsfree set for it this week and he was delighted.

You do DIY as well? Jesus stheno...:pac:

A gift. Hmm a gtv for parts!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I have a NOS (new old stock) JVC CH-X400 12 disc changer that I might sell if it suits. PM if interested.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Swords, I'm trying to sort it so that it gets done on one day, I have the watch as the gift on the day, hoping for the cd changer that I can just swap out as I've replaced radios before on his car, then anniversary is on a Tuesday so wanting to send his car in for detail the Sat. after.

How much did the detail cost?

The guys at Detailing shed http://www.detailingshed.com/ would be a lot closer to where you are than Cleancar,
    I am sure they also do mobile so could come to your home and do it.

Another option is Brian at Spirit Detailing http://spiritdetailing.com/ in Leixlip

He also does mobile. But is more into extremely high quality service. If the merc is a keeper and he would like a super job then Brian would be worth a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What is the current name and model of the CD changer?