Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possible poachers?

• 20-09-2013 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭

I was out tonight shooting and brought the dog shot some crows and a maggie
    Anyway seen plenty of deer about also with the dog actually flushed one out of small group of trees
    Anyway heading home at about 8 ish as it was almost completelydark and it is a bit of a walk back to the car and on the way I heard 4 loud shots go off In an area I spotted some deer earlier.
    The 4 shots that went off was one after the other maybe 1or 2 seconds between each shot.
    The land owner said there was a lad out earlier but he assumed he'd gone home.
    These were loud shots. Not from a .22 defiantly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Was it 1 hour after last light?

Sunset today was at 7.25 or 7.34 depending on what site you look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I understand that law. I did say it to myself but 4 shots almost like a semi auto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Slugs are easier to get than one thinks.

The poor mans Nitro Express.

How is the Land Owner about Poachers?
    Some tollerate them, others Despise them, could prove handy if he beats the War Drums around the locals.

The Aussie wrote: »
    Slugs are easier to get than one thinks.

The poor mans Nitro Express.

How is the Land Owner about Poachers?
    Some tollerate them, others Despise them, could prove handy if he beats the War Drums around the locals.

T be frank I don't know how he'd react .
    There does be people walking around an all. Like hill walkers and such.
    But the area I heard the shots are not a place you'd see walkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭peteshamrock

I heard them too. There is a massive amount of deer up there alright.

But I felt that they were too close together for a shotgun but i do know there is a lad with the horses up there had a semi auto maybe took the plug out.

I've met him before in the jeep.
    Seemed a right pr!ck
    Told me I had no right up there. Been hunting up there with my father since I could walk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Seemed a right pr!ck
    Told me I had no right up there. Been hunting up there with my father since I could walk

So you were poaching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Well sunset was around half 7 tonite so at about 8 o clock would of been ok. I was out tonite myself and could of bad a shot at 8 with enough light.

The only thing I can think of is I could of been a new hunter and due to nerves missed and/or winged a deer. So was ****ing on himself and got carryed away with himself. Its sctually very easy to cycle a bolt that fast and shoot. I've seen deer shot and they will jump around or run for a few mins me then drop. So it could of been something like that.

Or someone poaching. On thing is the four shots I know my mag only holds 3 rounds and I think most rifle like 243upwards hold 3 aswell. But I'm not sure just the few I looked at when buying did anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

So you were poaching?

can i ask you, and im not being smart with you, but what part of dodderanglers post led you to ask him was he poaching.

Well sunset was around half 7 tonite so at about 8 o clock would of been ok. I was out tonite myself and could of bad a shot at 8 with enough light.

The only thing I can think of is I could of been a new hunter and due to nerves missed and/or winged a deer. So was ****ing on himself and got carryed away with himself. Its sctually very easy to cycle a bolt that fast and shoot. I've seen deer shot and they will jump around or run for a few mins me then drop. So it could of been something like that.

Or someone poaching. On thing is the four shots I know my mag only holds 3 rounds and I think most rifle like 243upwards hold 3 aswell. But I'm not sure just the few I looked at when buying did anyway

or it could have been a couple of lads shooting. lad did say that theres plenty of animals there. you,d never know if it was poachers or not unless you,d be prepaird to approach them, which would,nt be a good idea.

PL05 wrote: »
    can i ask you, and im not being smart with you, but what part of dodderanglers post led you to ask him was he poaching.

If your hunting in a place without permission are you not poaching?

From his post I was led to believe the occupier of the land didn't want him there, he had horses and was told he had no business there.

Land changes hands all the time, the previous owner may have had no problem with him hunting the land but the current one does.

Infairness he did say he met your man. He didn't say he was on his land it could of been on the lane or over a ditch.

Ye it could if been a couple if lads alright to be fair. As you say the only way I'd to approach them.

From his post I was led to believe the occupier of the land didn't want him there, he had horses and was told he had no business there.

Land changes hands all the time, the previous owner may have had no problem with him hunting the land but the current one does.

just wondering. he did say he was talking to the land owner about the shots. it could be that the lad with horses is a neighbour that was blowing off steam at him, i,ve come across people like this before that think because they have land ajacent to land that is been shot on they think they can tell people to **** off because they dont like anyone shooting near their land. Anyway im off to the laba, i have a date with an 8pointer in the morning. [with a bit of luck]

I said nothing about horses either.
    I've hunted this land since I could walk. Worked on the farm when I was a teenager during the summer.
    The lad who owns the horses is paying the farmer to keep the horses there.
    I've known this farmer since I was a child.
    Fcuking horses shouldn't be there. Chased me a few times aswell.
    The lad I met up there that had the semi told me I had no right to be up there but after I explained who I was and the landowner he quickly shut up and I told him to grow up.
    Anyway
    Would it be worth going up in the morning to look for signs of guts or anything?
    Probably a long shot anyway

Guts would be long gone. Might be legs or head around. If your that close ask the owner is there anyone with permission.

he just told me earlier there was a lad up there during the day.
    The area of where I think the shots went off is close to a road. Anyone could've walked in I suppose.
    I might take a walk up tomoro morning before my match towards that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

I am on the other side of the country so can't say what happened but in relation to the speed and amount of shots last year I shot 3 goats in near darkness in about 10 or 12 seconds with a bolt action .270 and still had 2 spare rounds in the rifle. I put up a post about it at the time The goat heard these 3 were culled from are on a deer permission I have. It is quite possible for 1 shooter to get off all the shots .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

I've hunted this land since I could walk. Worked on the farm when I was a teenager during the summer.
    The lad I met up there that had the semi told me I had no right to be up there but after I explained who I was and the landowner he quickly shut up and I told him to grow up.
    Anyway
    Would it be worth going up in the morning to look for signs of guts or anything?

It sounds like the lad with the horses,has the land rented from the farmer,this is common practice in the countryside.
    If he's renting the land ,why in your opinion shouldn't he have his horses there ?
    The fact that you know the farmer and worked on the farmer during the summer doesn't give you any rights,the man with the horses,is paying for his rights,simples.
    Were you reared in the countryside ?

It sounds like the lad with the horses,has the land rented from the farmer,this is common practice in the countryside.
    If he's renting the land ,why in your opinion shouldn't he have his horses there ?
    The fact that you know the farmer and worked on the farmer during the summer doesn't give you any rights,the man with the horses,is paying for his rights,simples.
    Were you reared in the countryside ?

Again and I'm explaining it one last time
    I have written permission which gives me rights to shoot this land
    The fella I ran into using a semi does not own the horses and therefore has no right to tell me I can't be there.
    The horses are also not located to just one field.these things are near wild and do jump over fences. Also show some aggression by rushing and charging. All mares.
    Anyway now that that's cleared keep on topic

Ok back on topic

So you were out hunting. Was it for deer or just birds.

So you heard a few shots about half hour after sunset ( which is perfectly legal ). Then you said to the farmer you heard shots and he said there was someone else out there. He thought the guy was gone home but couldn't say for sure.

So if there is two guys shooting on the land there could be more. And from expierience when its that time of the day things seem closer than what they actually are both visually and hearing. So its possible he was further away than you though. Or maybe not. I wasn't there myself. I just don't see anything illegal in it myself.

Your going to have to explain it one more time now, because this is making no sense

Peteshamrock said

dodderdangler said
    Seemed a right pr!ck

From what I can understand there is a farmer up in the Dublin mountains where you have permission.

Theres more waste land beside it with horses, that some other guy looks after who has a semi auto who doesn't want you in around the horses.

Is that right?

Anyway

I took from this that the land you were hunting,belonged to the farmer that was renting the land to the lad with the horse,........in the bog down in the valley oh,Oh ro the rattlin Bog............................:D:D:D:D:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

Not sure if there are any ponds or rivers around........but at that time of evening, just before dusk, it could have been a few lads flighting duck, that come in about that time.

Theres two pieballs roaming around one of our wood for the past week,every time they see me they think I have a bucket of nuts for them,the rspca were contacted last week,but their still their.

Your going to have to explain it one more time now, because this is making no sense

Peteshamrock said

dodderdangler said

From what I can understand there is a farmer up in the Dublin mountains where you have permission.

Theres more waste land beside it with horses, that some other guy looks after who has a semi auto who doesn't want you in around the horses.

Is that right?

Looking at Petes comment it looks like he says the lad with the horses has a semi
    No the he meant that he met the lad up were the horses are that had a semi.
    As for ducks there was some around during the summer which I've never seen before but are gone now.
    There is a public park not too far away from this land so it wouldn't be a suprise that they came up to it.

One shot on kill-
    I know of only one person who shoots deer on this land. Which is why I'm askin could it be poachers.
    This land has been ruined with poachers over the years with rabbits.
    Just wouldn't want the same to happen with the deer.

Just spent ten minutes of my life on this thread that I'm never going to get back:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Just like to throw it in here but the increase in the internet leads to a lot of lawbreaking.
    Finding out how to make slugs nowadays is easier than getting a computer turned on!!

Poaching is going to become a very easy thing to do in the next few years

just out of interest...any ponds/streams/floodflashes nearby?

Just spent ten minutes of my life on this thread that I'm never going to get back:o

Sure you'd only be spending it on bondage porn either way. Not my fault you can't read context.
    No point trying to be funny when your first comment on it was over a day ago so clearly you've been following it but just don't understand it.
    Sure you've never put a foot wrong when it comes to hunting anyway.
    I asked a question on whether lads think a possibility of a poacher around and your first answer because you clearly didn't read any of the replies was " so you were poaching."
    You were quickly told that at what point did I mention In my post that I was poaching.
    To which you still didn't make sense in your reply.
    If your going to TRY be funny at least make it sensible and lay off the sauce for a bit.

Anyway I walked the land this morning before my rugby match and didn't find any traces of guts or anything as another poster had said the guts would be gone.
    Il chat to some others who hunt it to see if they seen or heard anything about.
    Thanks for the DECENT replies lads.

Sure you'd only be spending it on bondage porn either way. Not my fault you can't read context.
    No point trying to be funny when your first comment on it was over a day ago so clearly you've been following it but just don't understand it.
    Sure you've never put a foot wrong when it comes to hunting anyway.
    I asked a question on whether lads think a possibility of a poacher around and your first answer because you clearly didn't read any of the replies was " so you were poaching."
    You were quickly told that at what point did I mention In my post that I was poaching.
    To which you still didn't make sense in your reply.
    If your going to TRY be funny at least make it sensible and lay off the sauce for a bit.

Anyway I walked the land this morning before my rugby match and didn't find any traces of guts or anything as another poster had said the guts would be gone.
    Il chat to some others who hunt it to see if they seen or heard anything about.
    Thanks for the DECENT replies lads.

Is this your attempt to kick start this pointless going nowhere thread again?:rolleyes:

Who gives a **** if you thought you heard poachers.

The next time you meet someone out shooting you should walk up to them and accuse them of poaching.

I'm looking forward to your thread on how you accused some of poaching and got your ass handed to you.:rolleyes:

Oh and i wasn't watching porn, it was duck dynasty! not that there's anything wrong with porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 FlushBang2013

From my understanding from your first post is that you dont know so why ask the question? You heard shots from where you seen the deer but you neither saw or heard any poachers so why suspect poachers ,maybe lads lamping foxes maybe lads shooting somewhere close by . If I was u I would count myself lucky you didn't get shot out walking at that time with lads out shooting and letting your dog flush deer is a joke it is illegal ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

letting your dog flush deer is a joke it is illegal ;-)

I would love to know where it states in legislation that it's illegal for your dog to flush a deer when out shooting.

If a wood or cover is being hunted for pheasant / fox etc. and a deer is flushed by the dogs is that a crime???...........certainly news to me!

Well he shouldn't be hunting pheasant either.

But as far as I am aware it is against the law to disturb wild life if they are not been hunted. I'm unsure of that so key board junkies stay sitting down.

At the end off the day he is lucky he wasn't shot but I'd say the hunter is luckyer he didn't shoot him. Now as far as I can read from this noting illegal or to serious happened.

Have to say lads, some pretty lame comments in here. I for one would like to thank dodderangler for taking the time to report suspected poaching. Regardless of whether it was poachers or not, it shows someone that has a genuine interest in hunting and the laws that come with it. And i think he should,nt have to explain himself to anyone. If he says he has the right to be in a certain place then that should be enough.

Thanks pl05. It's always the usual crowd on this that p1ss and moan and turn all threads around and make it out to be your fault.
    God forbid these lads had poachers on their permission.
    I'm sure they'd only be happy about it.
    The same type of lads who moan and start arguments on this are the same type of lads who shoot 6-7 pheasants or 12 duck in a day and celebrate it but moan 2 months later when nothing is around.

Hey dodderangler your dead right to keep a keen eye out for poachers. It one thing you have to remember is sometimes its a little hard to get a full picture of the story from reading on here.
    To be fair it can be a bit confusing. Anyway is ther many poachers brazing enough to be out that time of the evening when there is walkers and is a very good chance theyed run into another stalker. I personally think they would soay till later in the nite. Have you spoken to the farmer since you spoke to him last.

But I do know the Dublin and Wicklow moantains are walking with poachers

Not a bother. I said before on a differant thread that its down to individuals to tackle the poaching situation and thats what you where trying to do. Lets face it, theres always an outcry when poaching rears its head but in reality nobody gives a **** unless its happening on their patch. Its the same old irish story moan about everything but do f**k all about it. We all know that poaching is rife and it will always happen, but if everyone raised concerns as you did, it might at least give us all some idea of how bad poaching actually is or not, whatever the case may be and it might go some way to help stamp it out, or at least cut it down.