Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trough for mealing cattle @ grass

• 20-09-2013 3:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

Thinking of making a corripipe trough for feeding meal to cattle along by an electric fence. Have galvanised trough on legs, but they would be too awkward to be moving from paddock to paddock.

Anyone any tips/ideas before I start on it tomorrow? What diameter pipe to lads use? and how much a length are they working out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

few blue barrels cut in half?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

few blue barrels cut in half?

We have these just for handyness.. but I find they get dirty easily with cattle standing into them.. I wonder would the corry pipe be cleaner as its no way as wide...
    I'd be thinking the pipe would need to be 12", so it wouldnt be cheap..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

just tip it on the ground for them

Do you not find you have a load of bare patches left that are hard to cover again. I tried this an odd time and they literally strip the ground to the clay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Muckit wrote: »
    Thinking of making a corripipe trough for feeding meal to cattle along by an electric fence. Have galvanised trough on legs, but they would be too awkward to be moving from paddock to paddock.

Anyone any tips/ideas before I start on it tomorrow? What diameter pipe to lads use? and how much a le
    ngth are they working out?

12 inch sewer pipe split, pretty tough stuff. Have seen corri pipe split and it got out of shape and twisted when you tried to move it. local group water scheme left a few off cuts of that very heavy wall blue piping lying about for months, looked to be about three quarters of an inch thickness wall. Some other enterprising farmer nabbed it first. would have been everlasting I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Think with any light weight options like plastic pipe or barrels you have to be prepared to remove them from the cattle when they have it empty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

i made a few last year ill stick up a photo later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

You can buy a readymade Corripipe one for €70

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Throw on the ground not a morsel left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Was thinking the same thing, been lugging the trough around now for a couple weeks, could one put wheels on the trough,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

there was a pic on here i think of a trough with wheels on one end and a hitch to go on a jeep on the other end . looked class

delaval wrote: »
    Throw on the ground not a morsel left

leave them at it delaval, lugging troughs around. I was reared with just dumping it on the ground and know no better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

I seen a trough in this weeks journal that you can toe behind a quad. Be a handy job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

leave them at it delaval, lugging troughs around. I was reared with just dumping it on the ground and know no better

Progress bob:D

made one once out of aluminium box gutter with timber runners on base, lasted a year until one thick cow walked on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Use half barrels here and move them everyday, no poached ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I got a couple of 18" cori pipe. ripped them down the middle and crosscut them about 8 ft long. i then got ply and ripped them to 18" at the top and 24" at the bottom and about 18" high. i just screwed the ply directly into the ends. works grand but the ply only done 2 years. i made up another couple with ply insert ends just to stop the meal spiling and made up 1" box frames to lift them off the ground. they take a good battering and are lasting well. easily carried from field to field and i just throw more troughs in as i need them.

These are my ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Be cute when your ripping the pipe too so the slots are at the bottom of the trough so any rainwater seeps out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I cut 1 x 20ft corri pipe 12inch into 4 x 10ft U pipes and use them in the shed for meal on the silage (suggestion on here) and outside during the summer on grass. they don't hold water

This year I also cut up 2 x 9inch corripipes versions for the suck calves.

The 9inch pipes for 20ft JFC was €14.50 plus vat per pipe including the collar as I bought a bale of 14 and used to re-do a pipe the last lad here made a feck of. The local hardware wanted €60 a pipe :eek:

1chippy wrote: »
    Be cute when your ripping the pipe too so the slots are at the bottom of the trough so any rainwater seeps out.

A few drill holes do the same job

I cut 1 x 20ft corri pipe 12inch into 4 x 10ft U pipes and use them in the shed for meal on the silage (suggestion on here) and outside during the summer on grass. they don't hold water

The 9inch pipes for 20ft JFC was €14.50 plus vat per pipe including the collar as I bought a bale of 14 and used to re-do a pipe the last lad here made a feck of. The local hardware wanted €60 a pipe :eek:

pm me the name of the place you purchased them please I need to get some thanks .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 massey6480

Made trough`s here from steel 45 gallon drum`s cut in half. 12'' corri pipe is too narrow for a trough for cattle to eat from both side`s it can be widened out but it aint easy have done it with 6'' pipe widened it out to 8'' won`t be in a hurry to do it again .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

These are my ones

Nice job

That's serious value on the corry pipe.
    Can ya PM me the supplier please.

bbam wrote: »
    That's serious value on the corry pipe.
    Can ya PM me the supplier please.

Not far away from you.

Nice job

Cheers vander, bit of head scratching to make the first one but once you figure the design out its put themselves together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Cheers vander, bit of head scratching to make the first one but once you figure the design out its put themselves together

Can u post a photo . Might do my job and save me a few bob buying a trough :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Listerosis bob?

cjmc wrote: »
    Can u post a photo . Might do my job and save me a few bob buying a trough :)
    Look further up the thread lad and you ll see the photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

As others have suggest blue barrels cut in half. Easy to move/clean etc and you can buy them dirt cheap. However make sure you steam clean them well before use.

Listerosis bob?

never, or never put a case down to it. think im right in saying cattle wont get listerosis from fresh earth. They on lick down as far as the soil, dont eat it. all sheep are snacked on grass so sheep farmers dont seem to have a problem with it either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

never, or never put a case down to it. think im right in saying cattle wont get listerosis from fresh earth. They on lick down as far as the soil, dont eat it. all sheep are snacked on grass so sheep farmers dont seem to have a problem with it either
    Agree. The one and only case of listerosis that I have seen in 30 years of keeping cattle was from the dregs of pit silage. Cattle will occasionally lick fresh earth banks, a sign that they may require supplementary vitamins/minerals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Had a neighbour who lost a few cows on the winterage, he was feeding the meal on the ground and was putting it down to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

1chippy wrote: »

I got the non perforated one. If you look on the pipe you will see a seam where it was jointed top and bottom. I rain the jigsaw along these to split it and made stands from 3/4" marine ply. Left the ends open for to let water drain out

12" dia corripipe, 20' long, cut in two. Marine ply insert on one side to steady. Didn't bother putting one on other side as it was getting caught on grass. Catch rope and pull along like a sled. Didn't bother putting any ends on it so water won't hold in it and trough doesn't have to be up ended. These troughs won't last if left with the cattle, so pull them the far side of fence when they have ate.

elaw.jpg

kg3j.jpg

33w4.jpg

I tried the delaval/bob method of just throwing it on the ground. No waste, but they left a nice bare patch behind them!

8m99.jpg

Oh and if anyone knows the name of those weeds poking their head up let me know, thanks!

33w4.jpg

nice job muckit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Oh and if anyone knows the name of those weeds poking their head up let me know, thanks!

How did you cut the pipe evenly?
    I have heaps of that weed in a field reseeded a few years back

How did you cut the pipe evenly?
    I have heaps of that weed in a field reseeded a few years back
    theres a line down them pipes when they are press formed so just follow the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

No trough, straight onto grass here as well.