Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking ban and marts

• 20-09-2013 7:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭

Was at local Mart yesterday and auctioneer announced there is to be no smoking on mart premises (and rightly so) wonder why it has taken so long smoking ban in ten years in the work place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

jesus the poor auld lads that enjoy a smoke and a chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Was at local Mart yesterday and auctioneer announced there is to be no smoking on mart premises (and rightly so) wonder why it has taken so long smoking ban in ten years in the work place?

There is still the odd ruffian that lights a sneaky one in the ring so they have to give a reminder just so he cant tell them he hasnt left the farm in years and didnt know it applied in the mart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Can't wait for this to appear at our local mart, there'll be some 'effin and blindin' then.

They might aswell throw out the old boy with the big pipe in maam cross as tell him to stop smoking

moy83 wrote: »
    They might aswell throw out the old boy with the big pipe in maam cross as tell him to stop smoking

Ah now "The Hat" will be our one exception to the rule, he's a national monument :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

buffalobilly its a pity the mart u were in wouldnt announce to the fat boy in the heifer ring to stop whaleing cattle in the ring with the stick i hate to see that they dont need that at all would love to give him a black pipe accross the back of the legs

leoch wrote: »
    buffalobilly its a pity the mart u were in wouldnt announce to the fat boy in the heifer ring to stop whaleing cattle in the ring with the stick i hate to see that they dont need that at all would love to give him a black pipe accross the back of the legs
    Thick thick tossers , they should be out on their ear with the first sign of unneeded clattering

Buyer in local mart here picks up lambs by the wool to judge weight, talk about ignorant. That leaves big black marks on the carcass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

The regular auctioneer where I usually frequent was on holidays and they got in a different man for one week.

Some lad lit up and your man stopped bidding and went ballistic with the smoker.

Poor auld devil was well humiliated as a result.

To be honest, it is no harm to see it banned in and around the ring despite the fact that most marts are the draughtiest places you could be :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Auctioneer in our mart lights up in the box !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 PMurph048

I thought maybe the mart would be considered an open space considering theres always a fierce wind blowing through them with the open sided sheds?? Dont really think a smoke in the mart effects anyone really like.

Its smoking in the workplace, thats what is banned so if you can smell the fag it is damaging you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

in fairness most boys at my mart (myself included) only smoke out in the holding area, which is only right as the ring is technically inside

suppose next twill be banned out in the holding area as is bad for the cattle

Maybe try giving them up for your own sake

dharn wrote: »
    Maybe try giving them up for your own sake

:eek: lots things bad for ya my friend

im actually agreeing with you, in the ring should be banned, outside in the holding area is generally open on 3 sides which is not banned

and yes ur right, i have tried and will again,

Ya not being critical, eventhough I hate cigarrette smoke I sympathise with smokers as they are fierce addictive, I have seen people who have given up drink but cant ditch the fags, goodluck with giving them up maybe let today be the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

As a former smoker, there is nothing as bad as being exposed to the smell of other peoples smoke. It drives me mad. There seems to be a lot of concern of the 'rights' of the smoker. Well, how about the 'rights' of the person who gave them up but might struggle when forced into a passive smoking situation.

Please refrain from childish,silly and neanderthal comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭stand on!!

suppose next twill be banned out in the holding area as is bad for the cattle[/quote]

In a few marts you have to be outside to smoke its not allowed in the holding areas at all

As a former smoker, there is nothing as bad as being exposed to the smell of other peoples smoke. It drives me mad. There seems to be a lot of concern of the 'rights' of the smoker. Well, how about the 'rights' of the person who gave them up but might struggle when forced into a passive smoking situation.

I was over a year off them and went out for the wifes birthday a few weeks ago and smoked a few in my drunken state . I nearly went mental the following few days and had to buy a box , in the space of a few weeks im on about 50 a day again . Talk about a clown but ill get off them again

same happened to me Moy, went out a few weeks back and ended up smoking after 8 months off them, will give them up again too

dont think anyone is saying that (well im not) rules are rules and smoke where you are allowed, can never understand people who smoke in stands at football matches and cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Was in a restaurant in NZ a few years ago. As a smoker I asked for a smoking table and Mrs Del being the loving sort she is agreed.
    There was a couple on the next table non smokers and started complaining. Another guy a smoker kicked up a fuss to get them removed as they weren't smokers. He must have been a barrister or something as he confused the manager so much that he moved the non smokers.

delaval wrote: »
    Was in a restaurant in NZ a few years ago. As a smoker I asked for a smoking table and Mrs Del being the loving sort she is agreed.
    There was a couple on the next table non smokers and started complaining. Another guy a smoker kicked up a fuss to get them removed as they weren't smokers. He must have been a barrister or something as he confused the manager so much that he moved the non smokers.

what part were you in delaval, great country

remember the first time i flew to australia, there was a smoking section on the plane:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

hugo29 wrote: »
    what part were you in delaval, great country

remember the first time i flew to australia, there was a smoking section on the plane:D

I've been 5 times probably know a lot of back roads at this stage. First visit was 95 and boy has it changed a lot since. I enjoy less with each visit people are getting well off, reminds me of a few years ago here!!

When I first went to Oz it was 95 also. We flew from SA and smoked and drank till we got to Oz airspace and had to stop. Aus is a big country to cross drunk with no smoke. That day I remember well, England were steamrolled in the World Cup semi by Lomu and the All blacks. The pilot kept the plane up dated as we flew along. I never had such craic on a plane.

delaval wrote: »
    I've been 5 times probably know a lot of back roads at this stage. First visit was 95 and boy has it changed a lot since. I enjoy less with each visit people are getting well off, reminds me of a few years ago here!!

When I first went to Oz it was 95 also. We flew from SA and smoked and drank till we got to Oz airspace and had to stop. Aus is a big country to cross drunk with no smoke. That day I remember well, England were steamrolled in the World Cup semi by Lomu and the All blacks. The pilot kept the plane up dated as we flew along. I never had such craic on a plane.

spent a month driving NZ in a camper van with herself in 05, loved it, say it has changed a bit since then

yea 97 first time going to Oz, pretty much same thing, smoked and drank the whole way over, great craic, Flew with Garuda, fcuk such an experience,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Funny how threads get derailed, smoking ban and marts is branching onto trips to NZ and Australia.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Funny how threads get derailed, smoking ban and marts is branching onto trips to NZ and Australia.

:D you have a light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Auctioneer in our mart lights up in the box !

I know a few that smoke selling the cattle aswell, ate drink also during the chant. Im waiting for a day one of them gets up and takes a leak of the back wall while still in the chant

Chant ? What sort of mart have ye bob ,you have to chant as well:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Chant ? What sort of mart have ye bob ,you have to chant as well:D

auctioneers chant - is auctioneers mumbling and splurting on as he takes the bids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I'm guilty of smoking at the ringside:o
    Was dating a dealer and I was on bulls and him on heifers!

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    I'm guilty of smoking at the ringside:o
    Was dating a dealer and I was on bulls and him on heifers!
    I thought you were into the latvian muscely type lads Kovu . Have they gotten in on the cattle dealing now ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

spent a month driving NZ in a camper van with herself in 05, loved it, say it has changed a bit since then

yea 97 first time going to Oz, pretty much same thing, smoked and drank the whole way over, great craic, Flew with Garuda, fcuk such an experience,

Remember we flew Garuda on our flight from Bali to Frankfurt on our last leg from oz in 99. The two of us were last onto the plane as we were too busy getting rat arsed at the bar. Got seats at the back and the woman beside me smoked a box of 60 horizon during the flight. What an airline - never again.

Are they gone now, between losing luggage and planes they were a disaster, but cheap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Are they gone now, between losing luggage and planes they were a disaster, but cheap :D

Yea Hugo they're gone now. This trip to oz in November will be a different story looking after a pair of twins so flying emirates. I'll probably need a box of winfield by the time I get off. ðŸ˜႒

I don't envy you, friend went back with his 3 kids a while back, longest flight ever he reckons,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭aidanki

the mart in listowel co kerry has a warning letter from whoever it is enforces the smoking ban on display

and there has been at least one article possibly relating to a threat to appear in court in the local newspapers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I thought you were into the latvian muscely type lads Kovu . Have they gotten in on the cattle dealing now ?:D

We'll see how much they like the tattoos next week:D