Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a road bike - new to cycling

• 19-09-2013 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭

Hi folks,

Myself and my wife want to take up cycling - neither of us own bikes at the moment. We are doing the bike to work scheme.

Can anyone recommend a couple of bikes - willing to spend up to €1k each if needs be. Don't know much about bikes.

Thanks for your help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Paddy1234 wrote: »
    Hi folks,

Myself and my wife want to take up cycling - neither of us own bikes at the moment. We are doing the bike to work scheme.

Can anyone recommend a couple of bikes - willing to spend up to €1k each if needs be. Don't know much about bikes.

Thanks for your help

spend the €2k on your bike, and tell the wife fcuk off! :)

What type cycling ye hope to do?
    Do ye want hybrids, road, mountain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Try try try ,borrow a couple of bikes before you lay out 2 k on something your not halfway up to speed on, where you located ? For shop recommendation. What's your plans ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Maybe buy a cheap bike first or borrow one and see how much use it actually gets before shelling out 2k.

The miserable weather is coming and it's only the hardy souls that'll cycle through the winter.

Plenty of choice for that kind of money so get yourself into some shops and see what catches your eye and what fits best. You may find your other half getting less of a % of the budget :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Paddy1234

Bigus wrote: »
    Try try try ,borrow a couple of bikes before you lay out 2 k on something your not halfway up to speed on, where you located ? For shop recommendation. What's your plans ?

Located South Dublin. Plan his s few leisurely cycles up the Dublin mountains at weekends - maybe if I get into it do a triathlon. That might be wishful thinking though.

We are both doing it through Bike to Work so up to 1k each.

Thanks for your help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭djburchgrove

As someone mentioned previously it depends on what you want to do with the bike.

Your €1k will also need to incorporate all your cycling gear, Helmets, Mudguards, Pumps, Hi-Vis jackets etc.

Also dependent on your height, some bikes are a lot harder to come by. Im 6'3" and buying is a nightmare (especially around this time of year when all the new models are coming out and everyone is looking for a bargain on the 2013 model!).

I'd recommend either a Giant Defy 4, Merida Ride 90 (or Scultura 900 if you want a racier version) all will cost around €700 if you shop around. Some people are big fans of Specialized Alles, which again is around same price point. Im looking at a Felt Z95 at the moment in that price range.

All these bikes mentioned above are from quality manufacturers with great warranty systems. These are all alloy aluminium frames with Carbon forks for shock absorbing on the front end, as well as greater front end control.

The best way to find out, is really just to get yourself down to the likes of McLoughlins, or Cycle superstore in Tallaght and try many different ones to see which you like best. I'd recommend trying to buy through your local cycle shop as this will benefit you with future services and just all round helpfulness.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Your €1k will also need to incorporate all your cycling gear, Helmets, Mudguards, Pumps, Hi-Vis jackets etc.

Says who? Surely buying the best bike you can for 1k is better use of the BTW scheme? You can pick up the rest as you need it. Personally I would (and have) spend every cent of the BTW budget on a bike.

Even if you decide in 6 months time you never want to ride a bike again, you have a better bike to sell on. Try selling a second hand helmet and pump.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

A mate of min just got a Trek 1.5 on the BTW scheme in this place:

http://www.cyclesurgery.com/store-dublin/content/fcp-content

Helmet, pedals, shoes, bottles, computer included to make up the grand.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭djburchgrove

You sure they do Cycle to Work scheme? cyclesurgery.com

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

You sure they do Cycle to Work scheme? cyclesurgery.com

Yup. But it's really down to how your company runs it.

As far as I know they are on the voucher scheme one.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

does that btw sceme work here if you buy in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Lepidoptera

spend the €2k on your bike, and tell the wife fcuk off! :)
    ?

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    You may find your other half getting less of a % of the budget :)

Random and unasked for sexism, always helpful when someone posts a thread looking for help getting into cycling with their partner :rolleyes: I'm sure these attitudes will be very helpful to his wife starting cycling; it's not as if she's already going to be a minority.

As for the OP, there was a recent thread that might be a good read on a similar topic with a similar budget, or there is a Cycle to Work mega thread floating around somewhere if you search for that which might also have some good advice.

Here are some other "which bike" advice threads you might find useful which have been around your price range:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85775258

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86476262

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86291719

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=83669849 - though this one involves going over budget I think, but I included it as it as the more you read up on the different bikes, the better idea you get of what is out there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Random and unasked for sexism, always helpful when someone posts a thread looking for help getting into cycling with their partner :rolleyes: I'm sure these attitudes will be very helpful to his wife starting cycling; it's not as if she's already going to be a minority.

Ah go burn a bra it was a joke. :rolleyes:

His wife will be in the minority... the minority of what? the TDF :eek:. They're cycling together as a couple. :rolleyes:

Unasked for assumptions are also a pain in the arse or derriere whichever upsets your sensitive soul the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

yip i thought it was good i laughed i'm sure the op did as well .:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Paddy1234

yip i thought it was good i laughed i'm sure the op did as well .:cool:

Not only did Op laugh but my wife did too!

Thanks for all the tips. Basically I think she has her heart set on a Giant Avail 1 a little bit over budget but she thinks its worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Paddy1234 wrote: »
    Not only did Op laugh but my wife did too!

Thanks for all the tips. Basically I think she has her heart set on a Giant Avail 1 a little bit over budget but she thinks SHE'S worth it.

Fixed that for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

etc.

I hope you dont fall of your high horse of moral indignation with my rather old, but topical butterly joke:

Four linguists were sharing a compartment on a train on their way to an international conference on sound symbolism. One was English, one Spanish, one French and the fourth German. They got into a discussion on whose language was the most eloquent and euphonious.

The English linguist said: "Why, English is the most eloquent language. Take for instance the word "butterfly". Butterfly, butterfly... doesn't that word so beautifully express the way this delicate insect flies. It's like flutter-by, flutter-by."

"Oh, no!" said the Spanish linguist, "the word for "butterfly" in Spanish is "maripose". Now, this word expresses so beautifully the vibrant colours on the butterfly's wings. What could be a more apt name for such a brilliant creature? Spanish is the most eloquent language!"

"Papillon!" says the French linguist, "papillon! This word expresses the fragility of the butterfly's wings and body. This is the most fitting name for such a delicate and ethereal insect. French is the most eloquent language!"

At this the German linguist stands up, and demands: "Und vot is rongk mit 'SCHMETTERLING'?"