Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Campagnolo Super Record Recommendations?

• 19-09-2013 8:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭

So I was thinking of buying Campagnolo Super Record 11spd groupset piecemeal over the next two years as I can't afford to buy it in one go.
    Planning on getting a new bike in two years time. My existing bike will be ten years old then and it's the deal I made with myself and more importantly my wife.
    Frontrunners at the moment are a De Rosa King RS and a Cervelo R3/R5, although it largely depends on how much is in the long running bike fund by then and what new models come out over next two years.
    I certainly won't be able to purchase either of these framesets with Campagnolo SR in one go, hence the reason for doing it piecemeal.

I have a few question and would be much obliged for answers to any one or all of them.

1. Has anybody done similar and what was their experience?
    2. What are peoples thoughts on EPS and should I perhaps be considering that too?
    3. Any good website recommendations for good value Campagnolo components?
    4. Out of curiosity, De Rosa or Cervelo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Ribble usually have a good discount sale a few times a year for Campy compenents. I think there is one on now .
    Regarding EPS and buying piecemeal....I wouldnt do it.
    Why not consider the Athena EPS uprgrade kit (shifters,mechs, battery and cables) at about E1100 from Humphries in Finglas. I wouldnt reccomend buying EPS online as if there is a warranty issue its gotta go back whereas Humphries in Finglas are a hell of a lot easier to get to and is a Campy authorised outlet.
    You can get then pic up the rest of the gruppo in SR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

1)I built my bike with SR over a 2y period. But I started with a relatively cheap frame as I couldn't afford a more expensive one. I have 3 bikes with athena, record and super record at this stage. The shifting between record and super record has absolutely no difference. Athena is a step down, you can feel it's a bit more clunky. Not that it doesn't shift great, it does but Record/SR has a more definite and assured shifting.

2)About EPS, if I could afford I would go for it, but not until the internal battery is officially out. The outside one is one big ugly heavy mofo.

3)Shinybikes is always really competitive on Campag prices.

4) From the two Cervelo, De Rosa while it's nice it's just a repainted chinese frame. If you would go for that money though, check the Neilpryde Bura SL frame, it's stunning and very light http://www.neilprydebikes.com/bikes/burasl/overview.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭c50

i think you'll get 101 different recommendations when it comes to campagnolo equipment because its such a love/hate affair.

As above poster says, record to super record- virtually no difference. i've even heard rumours that the springs used in chorus 11 are the same as SR11 but speculation only.

i love the mechaincal SR11 but no matter what- if youre going electronic, Di2 is the only option id ever look at unless you want something that looks flash but kinda has a tendency to break...a lot...

Shifting is poor compared to Di2 and theres been odd trouble like the equipment getting waterlogged.

i wouldnt personally use athena11 myself, id be much happier going for 10speed record or chorus and getting quality thats made to last and work well.

Between de rosa and cervelo you'll never notice a difference in performace so id go on what prices and deals are around as well as what you like the look of cosmetically. im not a big fan of cervelo frames myself however they are perfectly good frames having ridden an s2 in the past and gotten a test off an r5 vwd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Spins

bcmf wrote: »
    Why not consider the Athena EPS uprgrade kit (shifters,mechs, battery and cables).............You can get then pic up the rest of the gruppo in SR.

Good idea, will look in to that too, thanks
    AstraMonti wrote: »
    From the two Cervelo, De Rosa while it's nice it's just a repainted chinese frame. If you would go for that money though, check the Neilpryde Bura SL frame, it's stunning and very light http://www.neilprydebikes.com/bikes/burasl/overview.html

Yes, that is nice, don't know much about NeilPryde's though, do they have any 'pedigree' if you know what I mean. No sure if I'm mad on the name either and that may be a bit shallow but if I'm spending that much money, I kinda want to love everything about the bike, thanks though.

By the way, did you build your bike yourself when you had the full gruppo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Actual Paramedic

NeilPryde bikes are currently used by United Healthcare pro team. I have seen one in North county Dublin been used for training by the world track champ Martyn Irvine and also Philip Deignan soon to be off Sky rides them for the same team too. Pedigree, more the riders than the bike but yes suppose it does.

Camapg, the EPS is super slick and works so well. Only know of one EPS unit that isn't working and then again could be a Monday morning unit. Campag have been sorting out their electronic groupset for the last 20 years, wouldn't say its gonna be bad or rubbish. Di2 is nice but then again I am a Campag fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'd get mechanical Chorus and spend the savings on a better frame.

I picked up a full 2012 Chorus groupset for about €850, SR is more like €1700.

If you look at component weights, a most of the difference is bits which wear out (chain and cassette) and the titanium-axled crankset. The crankset is appealing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 835 ✭✭✭countrykid

Spins wrote: »
    So I was thinking of buying Campagnolo Super Record 11spd groupset piecemeal over the next two years as I can't afford to buy it in one go.
    Planning on getting a new bike in two years time. My existing bike will be ten years old then and it's the deal I made with myself and more importantly my wife.
    Frontrunners at the moment are a De Rosa King RS and a Cervelo R3/R5, although it largely depends on how much is in the long running bike fund by then and what new models come out over next two years.
    I certainly won't be able to purchase either of these framesets with Campagnolo SR in one go, hence the reason for doing it piecemeal.

I have a few question and would be much obliged for answers to any one or all of them.

1. Has anybody done similar and what was their experience?
    2. What are peoples thoughts on EPS and should I perhaps be considering that too?
    3. Any good website recommendations for good value Campagnolo components?
    4. Out of curiosity, De Rosa or Cervelo?

I'm lucky enough to have 11 speed chorus and super record...
    Apart from weight ( which doesn't matter too much when your like me and a tad heavy anyway!!) I see no reason to spend the extra money...
    MY SR came to me fairly right... But I wouldn't pay the premium price if I was in that position now...
    11 speed chorus is beautifully mechanical and precise... Needs no fettling and runs smoothly long term... Hail rain or shine!!
    For me eps is a luxury beyond requirement...
    And for the record....CERVELO...
    Love Italian bikes... But de Rosas don't merit the price anymore sadly..
    A note.... LOTS of Internal cabling and super record isn't a great relationship...
    Keep that in mind with the CERVELO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Rua_ri

countrykid wrote: »
    A note.... LOTS of Internal cabling and super record isn't a great relationship...
    Keep that in mind with the CERVELO

Not to hijack the thread but what has been your experience of internal cabling and Chorus 11 speed?
    Is internal cabling and Campagnolo on all mechanical groupsets fiddly or hard to get right. It seems to indicate that in the official campag instructions.

I am in the process of a Chorus build on a frameset with lots of internal cabling. Just starting the cabling this evening so any pointers appreciated on this.

Rua

Rua_ri wrote: »
    Not to hijack the thread but what has been your experience of internal cabling and Chorus 11 speed?
    Is internal cabling and Campagnolo on all mechanical groupsets fiddly or hard to get right. It seems to indicate that in the official campag instructions.

I am in the process of a Chorus build on a frameset with lots of internal cabling. Just starting the cabling this evening so any pointers appreciated on this.

Rua

Hi rua

Best advice is to maximise the curves on the cables that are outside of frame...
    I.e go around the back of handlebars then under....with gear cables obviously
    And a MASSIVE swoop of cable at rear mech...
    Also use only campag inner cables in campag outers...
    Leave plenty of adjustment on rear adjustment knob on mech...(set it half way) so you can go up and down...
    And if u can put an inline barrel adjuster up front before the cables enter frame.
    ( have a couple if your stuck for one tonight)
    Chorus is better than SR anyway through frames...

c50 wrote: »
    but kinda has a tendency to break...a lot...

Is this through personal experience or via friends or internet forum reports?
    Camapg, the EPS is super slick and works so well.

Again, is this through personal experience?
    Lumen wrote: »
    I picked up a full 2012 Chorus groupset for about €850

Where, please tell.
    But de Rosas don't merit the price anymore sadly..

Why? I'm getting a distinctly anti De Rosa vibe from this thread.

Why? I'm getting a distinctly anti De Rosa vibe from this thread.[/QUOTE]

For me de rosa steel frames were and are still class... Lugged frames amazing...
    However when it comes to carbon they just jumped on the Asian bandwagon...
    No world tour pro teams use them... Which means no pro feedback..
    When you spend as much as a de rosa costs you ( or me anyway ) ould like to think the beast is used to being pushed to within an inch of its life and does it well!
    Just my opinion
    They look great and paint jobs are beautiful...
    Slane cycles have a good selection...seen a few in the shop.
    They also have s2 cervelo frames at circa 1200 sterling..
    Beautiful frames. Looks fast just as a frame set !!

all feedback i provided is me talking- not a forum or a friend.

again, i personally wouldnt bother with all these anti de rosa posts very much.
    if you dont want something chinese made its either a trek 7.x or a colnago c59 or something else thats stupid money. any frames made in china could be said to have hopped on the bandwagon. theres two types of chinese made frames; factory branded frames no.2 ; Outsourced factory frames, the biggest example being cube, this lets the company choose cheapest price in factory from year to year but MAY compromise in quality. as far as i know de rosa own their own factory so cannot be really said they hopped on more than any other brand did...

from what i'm reading right now, all cervelo's in regular manufacturing are chinese made, but again ive nothing against this.. maybe the cervelo california, hence the name may be made in the US but havent seen yet either way

edit: ah here we go :D i know a lad with one and seems to loveit so go right ahead :P

http://www.bicycleretailer.com/product-tech/2013/03/14/cerv%C3%A9lo-launches-california-made-rca-frame#.Ujxh3dKfiHg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

in 2 years time everything will have changed that groupset you want will be classed as vintage thats just the way tech stuff works.
    so my advice save your pennies buy a Tom Parlee frame in the meantime.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Spins wrote: »
    Where, please tell.

Turns out it was actually 2011 Chorus but I believe it's identical to 2012.

http://www.velo-motion.com/Race-Components/Groupsets/Campagnolo-CHORUS-groupset-11-Speed-2011::311.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Lumen wrote: »
    I'd get mechanical Chorus..

Chorus: Best groupset I've ever owned. I reckon it was better than the Record I 'upgraded' to :-(

No world tour pro teams use them... Which means no pro feedback..
    When you spend as much as a de rosa costs you ( or me anyway ) ould like to think the beast is used to being pushed to within an inch of its life and does it well!
    Just my opinion

Never really took that in to account but think I prob agree with you, might have to reconsider, thanks.
    a trek 7.x or a colnago c59

Don't like Treks. Kinda on a classic Italian bang, so must look at Colnagos, anyone any personal experience there?
    in 2 years time everything will have changed that groupset you want will be classed as vintage thats just the way tech stuff works.
    so my advice save your pennies buy a Tom Parlee frame in the meantime.:cool:

Really? Will the difference really be that pronounced in two years?
    Do'nt know anything about Tom Parlee frames but will investigate.
    gman2k wrote: »

Chorus: Best groupset I've ever owned. I reckon it was better than the Record I 'upgraded' to :-(

Really? Do you really mean that, if you could go back, would you not bother 'upgrading'?

Don't like Treks. Kinda on a classic Italian bang, so must look at Colnagos, anyone any personal experience there?
    [/QUOTE]

yep plenty. my favourite frames for the seasons i dot get around to racing. so, so comofortable. im usually not into saying carbon feels different from frame to frame but this is the one and only brand i can truthfully say i thought the frame was miles more comfortable and direct power. Dont get me wrong when i say theyre seriously price new hence the whole made in italy thing.

Also id +1 on the chorus topic, no hitches with it.

This is where I got my 2013 11 speed mechanical chorus groupset from.
    Great service and I highly recommend them.

http://bike-palast.shopgate.com/item/475031332d434843

Rgs
    Rua.

i have a c40 and a c50.....they are old bikes nowadays of course but the pair of them are unbelievably comfortable..
    c 50 eats road even when you dont feel your up to it!
    new c59 is mega expensive as a frame set but there are still some good deals on the 2010 EPS which came just before the c59. rated by many as the best all rounder colnagos made in years... seen some new on an italian site for 2k landed to here.
    the m10 , clx, ace etc are all made in china...by GIANT for colnago...
    c 59 only made in italy nowadays...
    m10 is a beauty...

This is where I got my 2013 11 speed mechanical chorus groupset from.
    Great service and I highly recommend them.

http://bike-palast.shopgate.com/item/475031332d434843

Rgs
    Rua.

bolted on yet??? pic

Everything on bar the crankset/BB cups. Need to source a 1/4 inch extender for that or a 60nm torque wrench.
    I didn't route the gear cables last night as I realised I didn't have any barrel adjusters. I stupidly thought they word come with the groupset.
    Thanks for your offer on these, I will hopefully pick up a couple this week in town.

Rua.

Everything on bar the crankset/BB cups. Need to source a 1/4 inch extender for that or a 60nm torque wrench.
    I didn't route the gear cables last night as I realised I didn't have any barrel adjusters. I stupidly thought they word come with the groupset.
    Thanks for your offer on these, I will hopefully pick up a couple this week in town.

Rua.

Can sort u with that socket if you want till u buy one...

Thanks again for the offer, but I have been promised the torque wrench at work. Don't feel like buying a 60nm torque wrench for just one job.

Up to now I used shimano, with campagnolo it seems every time I start building I need new tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭AmberGold

I bought my bike last year, it was a brand new model but likely designed in 2011. It came with 10 speed force. Now it's all 11 speed and Electronic.

I know you have the itch but my advice is to keep all your cash until the day you decide to buy the lot.

Thanks everyone for the feedback. Lots to think about.
    Gonna look in to Colnago frames and reconsider chorus gruppo.
    Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

If it's classic Italian why not look at 'Wilier'. They've been around a heck of a lot longer than Colnago and De Rosa and make some the most stunning looking bikes today. A couple of Pro teams ride them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Or a Bianchi.

happytramp wrote: »
    If it's classic Italian why not look at 'Wilier'. They've been around a heck of a lot longer than Colnago and De Rosa and make some the most stunning looking bikes today. A couple of Pro teams ride them too.

who cares how long theyve been around?

if you want to take that approach, only look at trek or look because they were the first two big boys to manufacture carbon frames...

who cares how long theyve been around?

Well the OP specifically said he was looking for a classic Italian frame with pedigree. So I guess he cares.

well he obviously wasnt set on that if he was thinking cervelo...

my point being its not pedigree just because theyve been around long, only pedigree steel. if you want a brand that are pedigree carbon its trek/look

well he obviously wasnt set on that if he was thinking cervelo...

You'd best take that up with the OP.

not slating, just saying willier arent better because theyve been around longer.
    any known italian brands have a pretty reliable name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

not slating, just saying willier arent better because theyve been around longer.
    any known italian brands have a pretty reliable name

In fairness to happytramp, he didnt just say they've been around a long time so go buy one - but also said "and make some the most stunning looking bikes today. A couple of Pro teams ride them too"...

I think it is hard to argue with that.

letape wrote: »
    In fairness to happytramp, he didnt just say they've been around a long time so go buy one - but also said "and make some the most stunning looking bikes today. A couple of Pro teams ride them too"...

I think it is hard to argue with that.

ok, suppose thats a fair point. was a bit too eager maybe ;-)