Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT test centre in Dublin?

• 19-09-2013 6:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭

Hey, my nct is due in 30 Oct and I went to book it, but from all list of cities, I don't think there was any in Dublin?
    My car reg is 01-MO, does it only show available areas around the city that reg is from or what?

Can I just come in to nct test centre and that's it, or does it need booking?

Thanks.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

http://ncts.ie/locations.html

4 in Dublin, definitely need to book in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Stheno wrote: »

Font hill as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Because your reg is MO, you have to get it tested in Mayo

:P There are four test centres in Dublin, check the nct website locations tab

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Font hill as well!

DUH
    Because your reg is MO, you have to get it tested in Mayo

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

thank you, I find it pretty confusing to search for centers by names rather than specific addresses.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I found that initially confusing too.
    Usually I go to fonthill and always found them friendly etc and also (more importantly) they always seem to have saturday appts free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, just so you know for next time, you can book your NCT appointment up to 3 months before it's actually due date (up to 6 months if the car is 4 years old). This is to help with long delays in getting an appointment.

I just booked mine in Fonthill, for 4th of November (5 days overdue my NCT)

Also is it true that while you have nct booked and receipt printed, you can get away with driving with no nct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

arleitiss wrote: »

Also is it true that while you have nct booked and receipt printed, you can get away with driving with no nct?

As with most RTA laws, it is down to the guard you get at the checkpoint. 99.9% of the time you'll be grand, but if you meet one who is pi$$ed off they can penalise ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Keep the confirmed booking print off in the glove box and you will be fine if you run into a Garda check point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭OREGATO

arleitiss wrote: »

Technically you shouldn't but most will tell you that the guards will be ok with it.

Certainly in the past for me anyway, they've been fine once you have it.

Keep your eye on the dates, they tend to have dates come up now and again that weren't previously available. Mine's booked in for October 2nd and I booked it last night, previously when I checked, no dates were available.

I see, well guess all that's left is prepare car for test now, already ordered brake pad sensors (brake system changed recently, while sensors not).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

If you want the test sooner, ring them up in the morning and ask do they have any cancellations for font hill. People cancel all the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

Max Power1 wrote: »
    I found that initially confusing too.
    Usually I go to fonthill and always found them friendly etc and also (more importantly) they always seem to have saturday appts free!

Got mine done there last sunday. Guy at reception was quite friendly but the tester wasn't. Car passed and got my NCT cert off him so not really bothered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

bazz26 wrote: »
    OP, just so you know for next time, you can book your NCT appointment up to 3 months before it's actually due date (up to 6 months if the car is 4 years old). This is to help with long delays in getting an appointment.

Yep had over the tax money early and they will bend the law ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

visual wrote: »
    Yep had over the tax money early and they will bend the law ....

Like death, taxes are inevitable and not limited to this country. The NCT is one of those few taxes that I am ok with paying as it manages to put a few buckets of $hit off the road.