Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best shampoo on market

• 19-09-2013 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭

I've been using AG bodywork shampoo and its ok.. and i got the Chemical Guys strong wash shampoo (bugs and tar) and i found it pretty damn useless.

The more a shampoo suds up, the more dirt it removes right ??

Whats the best out there, strong enough to remove dirt that i've missed with the power washer, but also one that wont affect lsp.

I've seen some shampoo's that say they enhance the gloss of the car too, but it sounds a bit gimicky to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I've always used Meguiars Hyperwash and Shampoo Plus. Both are excellent at foaming and removing dirt and they smell great.

Funnily enough, Shampoo Plus smells like an aftershave I have :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I've always used Meguiars Hyperwash and Shampoo Plus. Both are excellent at foaming and removing dirt and they smell great.

Funnily enough, Shampoo Plus smells like an aftershave I have :D

Its not Joop is it :D

Slattsy wrote: »
    Its not Joop is it :D

Nope, Davidoff Coolwater :)

Oldschool !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Slattsy wrote: »

The more a shampoo suds up, the more dirt it removes right ??

No not necessarily!

Shampoo is similar to snowfoam. You wont get one that is LSP safe that will do an amazing job at cleaning. With a shampoo you want it to give you a slick solution for washing as this will help limit damaging the paint.
    Chemical Guys Glossworkz and Orchard Autocare Bramley Bubble Bath are two that are slick and that also suds up well. Suds help with dirt suspension if you dont have the option of snowfoaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Head and shoulders ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Nizerol, never had a itchy head since I started using it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

restive wrote: »
    Nizerol, never had a itchy head since I started using it.

Don't think I'd want to use that on my cars paintwork!

Scortho wrote: »
    Don't think I'd want to use that on my cars paintwork!

Why not? It's a medicated anti-dandruff shampoo so it can get rid of stone chips and any other white specs on paint :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Meguiars NXT/Gold class

The former is cheaper and smells better than the latter besides they are the exact same.

Any specifically made to repel water as a matter of interest??

Alot have Hydrophobic properties but thats not really the shampoos job :p

If a shampoo was made to repel water, you'd never get it to foam up ;)

So thats why the AG shampoo i have doesnt foam as much as i'd like...

its all coming together now lads !!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I love using either
    Wolfs white satin
    Or
    Wax-Tec stuff

Was chatting to a lad in Halfords this morning, big into his detailing apparently... anyway he says the best he's ever used is the Mer High Shine shampoo. Although he doesnt rate their other Mer products highly, he was quite adamant the shampoo is the dogs nuts.

Sounds like the fella who corrected me on the Stereo surround i ordered and changed it to one 3x the price.

He ordered a single din for a double din stereo, yea Halfords...

LOL...was thinking along the same lines!

There are plenty of lads who are "big into detailing"....there's even a few detailers!

Gtechniq it is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Meguiar's Gold Class is the best i've come across to date. Can't believe I've been wasting my time with other crap for so long.

I can't believe you're wasting your time with that when you could be using Meguiar's Hyperwash or Shampoo Plus :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

Chemical Guys maxi suds is nice :)

Personally im suprised more people aren't agreeing on one.

I just ran out so am eager to try something new (all i have left is useless aldi wash+wax)

Personally im suprised more people aren't agreeing on one.

I just ran out so am eager to try something new (all i have left is useless aldi wash+wax)

I'm agreeing on one ya clown :pac:

www.cleanyourcar.co.uk is where I get my Meguiars shampoo plus and hyperwash

Oh well now that out majestic leader has decided :p

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm currently using turtewax nano wash and wax, does a good job. Also have big bottle of NXT generation stuff to use.

I bought some 3m stuff in Tesco when it was on clearance for about €1 each. Smells of raspberries!

I have too many shampoos at home tbh. Might wash the Mrs' car tonight.

Which Bilt Hamber clay works best for regular use guys and also which wax/sealant ? Thinking AG HD Wax and Jetseal 109 ? Or should i just get collinite wax instead, also that gtech trim restorer and wheel sealant look impressive

If you do a good job on de-tar and use a fall out remover, then the Regular Auto Clay is spot on!

What colour is your car? And are you looking for something to get you through the winter?

AG HD Wax is very good, but I wouldnt use it on top of JetSeal109 - wont bond as well as using say JetSeal and Pete's53 if wanting to use JetSeal or as well as AG EGP and HD if wanting to use the HD.
    Collinite is a very durable wax, and will do a good job during the winter.

If its the winter protection you are thinking, then go with something durable and then a gloss enhancer detailer spray for after your washes. I was seeing 4-6 weeks of protection during the spring with Orchard Autocare Perfection, which would be enough to keep your protection topped up during the winter if you were planning on washing the car every week or two.

Regular use clay?? You shouldn't have to use it any more than twice a year.

I found that JetSeal 109 and Collinite 476 are an excellent duo. I've used Jetseal and Meg's NXT 2.0 wax but it's nowhere near as good.

Regular use clay?? You shouldn't have to use it any more than twice a year.

Id say he means regular/normal usage - as it his car isnt destroyed and that he wouldnt need a heavy grade / something too agressive!?? No??

From what he posted, it came across like he was going to be claying the car every 3 weeks :pac:

As Curran said the grade of clay not the frequency :p

Fair play to him if he is....and in that case something in the Turtle Wax range will be sufficient as protection! :D

I know someone who bought a much larger more expensive filter and said it does a good job. How effective that little device would be, Im unsure!

Would you get a year out if it? If you only used it twice you would! :D:p Very much, how long is a piece of string!! How much you use it and how bad your water is! ;)

Well judging by my kettle, pretty bad :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

You could buy a rainwater butt too - rainwater will be pretty soft once you keep a lid on the butt. Plus you'll save money when water metering comes in.

Chimaera wrote: »
    You could buy a rainwater butt too - rainwater will be pretty soft once you keep a lid on the butt. Plus you'll save money when water metering comes in.

Would you need a special power washer for a water butt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Nope. Most washers are capable of being used with tank supply instead of a running tap, you just need to buy a filtered pickup for the tank.

Chimaera wrote: »
    Nope. Most washers are capable of being used with tank supply instead of a running tap, you just need to buy a filtered pickup for the tank.

Hmm.
    I tried my one from a bucket as a test one day and it would not suck up any water,
    I assume that can only mean one thing :o

It wont suck from a bucket but if you had the bucket raised and took water from the bottom if would work...in other words, gravity is your friend! ;)

Would the rainwater not have all the ****e that comes out of your gutters.

I wouldn't want to wash my car with that stuff!

You'd have a filter on the exit point of the butt! ;)

Curran wrote: »
    You'd have a filter on the exit point of the butt! ;)

Feck it for the minimal amount that they'll be charging ill use drinking water !:D

Curran wrote: »
    It wont suck from a bucket but if you had the bucket raised and took water from the bottom if would work...in other words, gravity is your friend! ;)

Actually you are probably right,
    I put the hose in the top of the bucket and held it at shoulder level.
    I assume as you say, Gravity with the outlet at the bottom,

vectra wrote: »
    Actually you are probably right,
    I put the hose in the top of the bucket and held it at shoulder level.
    You can get a water butt with a tap attached.

vectra wrote: »

Yeah. It wont suck it up over the water level but gravity should be enough if the water is being fed from the bottom of the water source....water pressure due to gravity! :)