Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Declaration of non use - dealing with this situation from abroad

• 17-09-2013 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭

The new declaration of non use will come into affect in October and I am in the process of ensuring I do not get caught out.

However this is my difficulty, I own three Republic of Ireland cars and while I am not living in the Republic of Ireland anymore my cars are located there and safely off the road. I am trying to fill out the forms but I do not know where to send them.

In the UK you can do it online and its a whole streamlined process but it looks like I need to fill in the form and go to the motor tax office. I don't have this luxury, can you fellow boardsie's care to help me on this matter?

PS - I have sent an email to motortax@dttas.ie and I am still waiting a response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You'll need to declare them off the road from the time the tax expired to now as well. This requires a Garda stamp.
    Unless you want to pay the arrears that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

If you have 3 cars safely stored over here surely you have someone who can do the legwork for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

you can post the forms...have to have that Gardai stamp on the Rf100A though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

The new declaration of non use will come into affect in October and I am in the process of ensuring I do not get caught out.

However this is my difficulty, I own three Republic of Ireland cars and while I am not living in the Republic of Ireland anymore my cars are located there and safely off the road. I am trying to fill out the forms but I do not know where to send them.

In the UK you can do it online and its a whole streamlined process but it looks like I need to fill in the form and go to the motor tax office. I don't have this luxury, can you fellow boardsie's care to help me on this matter?

PS - I have sent an email to motortax@dttas.ie and I am still waiting a response.

don't hold your breadth waiting for a response from DTTAS email address - I'm awaiting an answer for two weeks now on something else.........

Better to email your actual local County Council office with a query, explaining your predicament - I've found they're quicker/easier to deal with.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

corktina wrote: »
    you can post the forms...have to have that Gardai stamp on the Rf100A though

But the garda stamp is to witness you (the owner) signing the Rf100.
    If the OP is out of the country then he will find it very difficult to get a guard to witness him signing a form.
    He could try phoning his local garda station, explain his situation, and see if they are willing to stamp a form which he has already signed...they can only say no.
    If all else fails the Op could transfer ownership to a relative or friend, get them to sort out the forms, and then transfer ownership back to himself when it suits him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭squeekyduck

Thanks for the replies.

I am still awaiting the response! Not surprised there!!! :D

In the end I had to get someone to do it. Its such a terrible system, surely in the age of technology they could have streamlined the entire process. I should be good for 12 months but I will have the same problem in 11 months!

Thanks for the info on the RF100 form, I was unaware this needed to be completed and stamped by the Guards.

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    But the garda stamp is to witness you (the owner) signing the Rf100.
    If the OP is out of the country then he will find it very difficult to get a guard to witness him signing a form.
    He could try phoning his local garda station, explain his situation, and see if they are willing to stamp a form which he has already signed...they can only say no.
    If all else fails the Op could transfer ownership to a relative or friend, get them to sort out the forms, and then transfer ownership back to himself when it suits him.

Unfortunately when they were designing the system they didn't account for people like me! I say I am not alone though, with the mass emigration I am sure there are thousands in my position. Its an area they can gain on quickly especially if you don't have friends/family in Ireland.

It looks like the only solution is to get a close friend/family member to do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

In the end I had to get someone to do it. Its such a terrible system, surely in the age of technology they could have streamlined the entire process. I should be good for 12 months but I will have the same problem in 11 months!

Thanks for the info on the RF100 form, I was unaware this needed to be completed and stamped by the Guards.

My brother has this problem too, but did you get someone else to.. pretend to be you and sign the form and get witnessed? The only legal solution I could come up with was to get my brother to transfer ownership to someone else in the family and the the signing and witnessing becomes there problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I suppose you could get a declaration from a local solicitor or magistrate that the signature is yours and submit it together with a letter explaining your circumstances. It's only witnessing that it IS your signature so maybe this would be accepted.

Hi Matt. Ye unfortunately this person had to sign as me, not legal in the slightest but I do not see another way around it. I dont feel happy about the situation but its the only way I can see getting around it. I do not want to transfer ownership as these cars are rare and I want to keep the owners low on them.

To be honest, you did what most people in your situation would do, especially if the cars in question are classic (or have few owner's names on the book).

Just be aware that while it is free to declare a car 'off the road' at present this will change in the future, so the more cars you declare now the more you will have to pay to keep the declarations current......possibly heading for a situation where people will transfer ownership to a friend/relative (who lives abroad, but use their Irish address) and then re-transfer when you want to put the car back on the road.

As mentioned on boards previously, the piece of paper the local authority give you when you declare an 'off the road' car is already being referred to as a 'receipt', just with a zero amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 andrew1300r

This new system of bleeding the general motorist by the Goverment is going to lead to a lot of cars for sale in the future with lots of owners by people avoiding back tax. If road tax was more reasonable more people would tax their cars for the full 6 or 12 months & not doing 3 months on..3 months off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Hi Matt. Ye unfortunately this person had to sign as me, not legal in the slightest but I do not see another way around it. I dont feel happy about the situation but its the only way I can see getting around it. I do not want to transfer ownership as these cars are rare and I want to keep the owners low on them.
    Yeah thought you might have to, my brother likely will have to do the same. Gotta do what you gotta do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Just be aware that while it is free to declare a car 'off the road' at present this will change in the future, so the more cars you declare now the more you will have to pay to keep the declarations current......possibly heading for a situation where people will transfer ownership to a friend/relative (who lives abroad, but use their Irish address) and then re-transfer when you want to put the car back on the road.

As mentioned on boards previously, the piece of paper the local authority give you when you declare an 'off the road' car is already being referred to as a 'receipt', just with a zero amount.

Is this certain?
    whats the advantage of the latter? surely they would have to pay also, if such a thing started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

cerastes wrote: »
    Is this certain?
    whats the advantage of the latter? surely they would have to pay also, if such a thing started

You can bet on it. As I pointed out elsewhere look at the paper you get back from Co Co - is a receipt for zero euro.

For now. ...

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    You can bet on it. As I pointed out elsewhere look at the paper you get back from Co Co - is a receipt for zero euro.

For now. ...

If that changes, there will be no advantage of transferring ownership to someone else? They will only be liable themselves.
    Any hints as to how much this will be if when it occurs?

I recently did a non use decleration for a vehicle stored for the last year, the Garda at the desk of the nearby station, was declining to sign Rf100? or whatever the form no. is for non use now for the current out of date/non use tax up to the day of declaring non use for the new system for me and someone else, saying its not how its done, the guy in the tax office was saying rightly so, the Gardai have to sign this and was sending people over as has always been the case, this was a month ago, Id hate to see what its like in a week.
    Or worse trying to sort it when you aren't present if they wont even sign the damn form when you are present, they should have considered there would be an influx, surely it would have been easier to start the system online and allow people to make their declaration there equivalent to making it in front of a Garda, I find it hard to believe they were checking every paper based declaration anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭mowhawk

A few posters have mentioned the RF 101 form and Garda stamps etc. It is my belief that that is not the correct form. I think the RF 150 (Declaration Of Non-use Of A Motor Vehicle) is the correct one and requires no Garda stamp.
    It can be downloaded online, printed out and when the details are entered what the website says it must be submitted to your local motor tax office.

Here is a link that explains it :)

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/staticContent.do?page=gappinginfo

Enjoy!

mowhawk wrote: »
    A few posters have mentioned the RF 101 form and Garda stamps etc. It is my belief that that is not the correct form. I think the RF 150 (Declaration Of Non-use Of A Motor Vehicle) is the correct one and requires no Garda stamp.
    It can be downloaded online, printed out and when the details are entered what the website says it must be submitted to your local motor tax office.

Its the rF100a
    https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/pdf/RF100A_en.pdf

It has always been required to have a Garda stamp for declarations of non use periods in the current system when taxing or renewing motor tax at least private motor tax anyway. In my past experience on the odd :) occasion I used the forms, the Gards stamped and initialled it rather than signed, or signed illegibly.

The RF150 form is for declaring non use in other circumstances, it seems to me, like in advance? maybe its used by car dealers?

http://www.dublincity.ie/Documents/RF150_Declaration_of_Non_use_of_a_motor_vehicle.pdf
    Never seen one or been offered one at motor tax office to explain non use period when renewing motor tax in the past ever in the last20 years.

It will be irrelevant soon enough, the Gardai wont have to sign it anymore and the sooner its online the better. I think the minimum 3 month period is crap though.

cerastes wrote: »
    Its the rF100a
    https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/pdf/RF100A_en.pdf

It has always been required to have a Garda stamp for declarations of non use periods in the current system when taxing or renewing motor tax at least private motor tax anyway. In my past experience on the odd :) occasion I used the forms, the Gards stamped and initialled it rather than signed, or signed illegibly.

The RF150 form is for declaring non use in other circumstances, it seems to me, like in advance? maybe its used by car dealers?

http://www.dublincity.ie/Documents/RF150_Declaration_of_Non_use_of_a_motor_vehicle.pdf
    Never seen one or been offered one at motor tax office to explain non use period when renewing motor tax in the past ever in the last20 years.

It will be irrelevant soon enough, the Gardai wont have to sign it anymore and the sooner its online the better. I think the minimum 3 month period is crap though.

The OP's problem was avoiding being liable for back tax on vehicles which are genuinely off the road long term. The RF 100a is for taxing a car going back on the road after a period of being off the road and requires a Garda stamp to 'prove' that it has not been driven in a public place since the last tax disc expired and, thus, is not liable for any back tax to be paid. In the OP's case the RF 150 is the correct form as the vehicle is still off the road and remains off the road and is not going back on the road anytime soon. Again I refer you to:

I believe that there is a 'honeymoon' period valid until the end of this month that allows people to declare vehicles that have been off the road for a period of time, be that months or even years. From the beginning of next month they can only be declared from the day the declaration is made forward. Not much time left I am afraid unfortunately.

^^^You, the OP or anyone else would have to get an RF100a stamped by the guards to allow for the lack of tax up to the current time.
    You then fill in an RF150 and send this (along with the RF100A) to your local Tax office.
    The RF150 is only for declaring future non-use.....the RF100A is used to declare any previous non-use.
    This is only until the end of this month. From then on you would be liable for any back tax from the time you purchased the vehicle up to the time you wish to declare it off-the-road.
    If you just send in an RF150 at present (and the car has not been taxed for any length of time) they will return the form to you and ask that you fill in an RF100A and send both documents back to them.

This is despite the impression given by the 'official' documentation.

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/staticCo...ge=gappinginfo Q16 in the FAQ explains this.....
    ......and Q23 explains what the OP should have done, just picture the face of the local Guard when you arrive in with all that paper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

mowhawk wrote: »
    The OP's problem was avoiding being liable for back tax on vehicles which are genuinely off the road long term. The RF 100a is for taxing a car going back on the road after a period of being off the road and requires a Garda stamp to 'prove' that it has not been driven in a public place since the last tax disc expired and, thus, is not liable for any back tax to be paid. In the OP's case the RF 150 is the correct form as the vehicle is still off the road and remains off the road and is not going back on the road anytime soon. Again I refer you to:

I believe that there is a 'honeymoon' period valid until the end of this month that allows people to declare vehicles that have been off the road for a period of time, be that months or even years. From the beginning of next month they can only be declared from the day the declaration is made forward. Not much time left I am afraid unfortunately.
    If your car is off the road you will need to fill in an rf100a form to cover when it was last taxed up until the last day of August or whatever month previous to that you declared it off the road. It's from this date on that you will be declaring it off the road using the rf150 form to avoid back taxing.

If you just fill in the rf150 form as you say, you will then have have to declare the car off the road from when it was last taxed which will mean you will have to pay the arrears up to the current month.