Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JOHN DEERE 4440

• 17-09-2013 4:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know much about them . A neighbour has one sitting idle for the last few years, 2nd gear doesnt work ,it has no starter or link arms .
    Everything else is working and the cab is in good enough nick .
    Can parts be got for it as it doesnt seem to be a popular tractor ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

moy83 wrote: »
    Does anyone know much about them . A neighbour has one sitting idle for the last few years, 2nd gear doesnt work ,it has no starter or link arms .

American tractor, Nick Young in the UK may help.

Parts should be very easy to find in the US.

If cheap enough has to be worth a punt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

powershift or quad-range gearbox? if its a powershift do not tow it to move it. you wil cause endless damage to the box . an all time classic if the price is right.

PS, Lyons and Burton were looking 10k for one last spring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I had a look at it last night . It was a ball of crap and the engine wasnt turning in through the starter . The door was glued closed with rust . I think ill leave it where it is or just offer to take it away for free . I dont understand people that can park up a tractor that was running and leave it there to rust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

I had a look at it last night . It was a ball of crap and the engine wasnt turning in through the starter . The door was glued closed with rust . I think ill leave it where it is or just offer to take it away for free . I dont understand people that can park up a tractor that was running and leave it there to rust

ditch tractors

yeah i aggree, i have seen loads of tractors that just need a bit of work left to rust. back them into a shed or just sell them off. was helping out a friend of mine doing grain a few weks ago and he had land rent of this lad, i had one of the trailers dropped in his yard over night and as i was walkign in to get it i noticed 2 JD's parked at the back of the yard, a 3050 hi lift 4wd and an 3040 2wd. glass and tryes green and covered in moss, covered in leaves from the trees and oil stains under neath. i asked the buddy about them and he said the 3040 is parked there about 7-8 years after the clutch went and the othe ris there about 3 years as the brakes went. he tried buying the 3050 off the lad a couple of times but no luck. As tey stodd they were proably worth about 5 and 10k to fella in the trade at the time they stopped.

one of my friends had a 100hp lambogrini back in the late 90's. it was a ditch tractor too, he was baling for a fella and spotted it in the corner of the yard, asked yer man what was wrong with it. said it belonged to his brother and that it was parked there for about 5 years and that there was soemthing wrong with the enigine he said you can take it for a grand. tractor had only about 1000 hrs up and was used to pull a mower in teh summers. all that was wrong was the starter was faulty and wirign to the dyno was damaged. put in a new starter, battery and rewired the dyno and it went ok. changed the oil and cleaned up the cab and got a second hand set of tyres and she ran like a dream. he got a great run of years from it and traded it last summer, got 5k for the trad-in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

grazeaway wrote: »
    ditch tractors

yeah i aggree, i have seen loads of tractors that just need a bit of work left to rust. back them into a shed or just sell them off. was helping out a friend of mine doing grain a few weks ago and he had land rent of this lad, i had one of the trailers dropped in his yard over night and as i was walkign in to get it i noticed 2 JD's parked at the back of the yard, a 3050 hi lift 4wd and an 3040 2wd. glass and tryes green and covered in moss, covered in leaves from the trees and oil stains under neath. i asked the buddy about them and he said the 3040 is parked there about 7-8 years after the clutch went and the othe ris there about 3 years as the brakes went. he tried buying the 3050 off the lad a couple of times but no luck. As tey stodd they were proably worth about 5 and 10k to fella in the trade at the time they stopped.

one of my friends had a 100hp lambogrini back in the late 90's. it was a ditch tractor too, he was baling for a fella and spotted it in the corner of the yard, asked yer man what was wrong with it. said it belonged to his brother and that it was parked there for about 5 years and that there was soemthing wrong with the enigine he said you can take it for a grand. tractor had only about 1000 hrs up and was used to pull a mower in teh summers. all that was wrong was the starter was faulty and wirign to the dyno was damaged. put in a new starter, battery and rewired the dyno and it went ok. changed the oil and cleaned up the cab and got a second hand set of tyres and she ran like a dream. he got a great run of years from it and traded it last summer, got 5k for the trad-in

Yup the starter that went in this tractor , thats why he parked it . He bought it for pulling a low loader and he got out of the plant hire game so it wasnt much use to him then he said . Maybe these lads have too much money !

Some hardcore JD fans would give their right eye for one of those and then lads treat them with such lack of maintainance and care :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

back in my young days i used to drive a 4240 for a local contractor, twas a beast of a machine but slow. when we used to be at silage the 3050 and 6400 would leave me for dust on the road, great yoke for doing the rotovating for the beet and pulling the ring roller+harrow. used to use it for drawing beet at it would pull away all day. broke the exhaust pipe off it when a brach snapped goign downa narrow road, jaysus she sounded great afterwards...ha ha ha

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It would be a nice winter project if a lad was handy with a spanner, There is one near us and it was split in half outside a garage for years, don't know where it is now.
    On the other hand the engine is seized, gearbox needs attention and back end is probably shagged from brake filings if it was pulling a low loader. A lad would probably want deep pockets as well as be handy with a spanner. :eek:Shipping from the states is gone expensive lately.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

nashmach wrote: »
    Some hardcore JD fans would give their right eye for one of those and then lads treat them with such lack of maintainance and care :(

neighbour here has 4 tractors parked up in his yard 2 fords that could fecth about 5k for export as they stand, a fiat 110/90 thats crying out for a bit of tlc and a jd 2140. he actually used his neighbours little massey to feed silage bales last winter. the jd is proably beyond help now as its been there about 10 years but it has a tanco loader and grab on it that might be salvable, the gearbox went and it was towed round the back and left there. not sure what is wrong with the fiat it was running fine up to about 2 years ago. pin hol ein teh block of the 6600 buts that easy to do if you wanted to get it going again, other then that the tractor is perfect and was running up to last winter, the clutch is gone on the 7610. it seems when ever soemthing goes he just parks them up. i offered to give hima hand doing the clutch on the 7610 during the summer as he borrowed mine to throw out some fertilzer he said great and i said give me a call and we can get it done, thats a few months ago and no call back. i know there are a few things else going on at home and i dont want to be annoying him but it would make a big difference to him is he can one of them going again. even if he sold one for scrap or export he could use the money to pay a lad to get another going. not sure how he'll get the bales out this winter i'd say you could seen another 2nd hand yoke in there in a few weeks

It makes you wonder though how many other tractors/implements are left out around the back of sheds etc to rot.

I know we have come across some here and eventually been able to purchase them but in some cases after they had been left out for a few more years :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p5M-VuCkAgs
    looks to be a bit of an animal might be worth offering a few bob and trying to do her up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

ah the memeroy's!

the 2wd are a great yoke in dry weather, used to see a lot of them pulling mowers during the silage season of trailers of grain. quite heavy on the front so were a distaer in the wet, would pull alright but only in straight lines. used to see lads drawing beet but having to use the smaller single axel trailers as the ground was too wet for steering. no problems on the road though.

contractor near here use to have one of these, had it for years but it only did 3 jobs, mower for the summer, converted lorry trailer for beet to mallow in the authnm, and rotoving in the spring. that said i have seen them pulling 4 furrow reversibles too.

depends on what you want to use it for.