Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

krone netting problem.

• 17-09-2013 4:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭

hi...this weekend i was balling with a krone roundpack baler that a bought recently...but the netting kept wrapping around a rubber roller....can anyone help me sort this out?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 CluanBomb

Masseymad wrote: »
    hi...this weekend i was balling with a krone roundpack baler that a bought recently...but the netting kept wrapping around a rubber roller....can anyone help me sort this out?
    thanks

Had this issue but it was with our JD 578 baler, dirt had stuck to the roller so a rub with a rag with a light drop of petrol regularly prevents it reoccurring.

Also could be caused by the rubber roller being damaged? Hopefully not..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

thanks

have tge same baler here. Had the same problem aswell. The roundpacks are very picky about the net. We used to use the red setter net but can't get it any where now it was the best net for the krone. What net are ye using? We used the farmers net thus year and it was a disaster net wouldn't stop lappung on the rollers. Got tge tama net and it did the job still not as good as the red setter though.

Hope this hepls

Also do you have the panel between the pick up and the netter in the baler?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

jersey101 wrote: »
    have tge same baler here. Had the same problem aswell. The roundpacks are very picky about the net. We used to use the red setter net but can't get it any where now it was the best net for the krone. What net are ye using? We used the farmers net thus year and it was a disaster net wouldn't stop lappung on the rollers. Got tge tama net and it did the job still not as good as the red setter though.

Hope this hepls
    a local man here does the red setter twine he might do the net aswell

what part of the country? I know the lads that import it into the country i just never got the chance to find out about it

just outside mullingar town

bit far from me. Thanks though. Theres a crowd in waterford that bring it in. Will try them next year

that ll do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

thanks

they are a great baler in every way but for the netting they fail badly ,i think when they land into this country new they are not rightly set up for the damp grass we have at times here however saying that if you get to know them over a bit of time and learn to get the set up of the net right the round pack will net as good as any baler , firstly if you are chopping you need sharp knives (as blunt ones end up leaving a strip of grass between the silver flap where the net enters the chamber and this prevents the netting of a bale ,its handy to have 2 sets of knives and have a sharp set to put in if needed the silver flap needs to be kept clean and dirt and dust can build up in behind it that you cant see , 20 minutes and you can take it out to clean , also make sure the net knife and net catcher are ok and mind your hands aswell ,you net to set the net brake tension in a way that if you were baling hay that the baler would start netting before the bale is fully formed and then tension the brake till this stops , also on the net idler wheel that connects the belt to start the two rollers that the net goes between this idler is also connected to the net brake and this needs to be set right , i have mine set up that i can put any make of net into it and it nets all the time , its the same as any machine all to do with setting it up right to work
    pm if you want further info on it

6480 wrote: »
    they are a great baler in every way but for the netting they fail badly ,i think when they land into this country new they are not rightly set up for the damp grass we have at times here however saying that if you get to know them over a bit of time and learn to get the set up of the net right the round pack will net as good as any baler , firstly if you are chopping you need sharp knives (as blunt ones end up leaving a strip of grass between the silver flap where the net enters the chamber and this prevents the netting of a bale ,its handy to have 2 sets of knives and have a sharp set to put in if needed the silver flap needs to be kept clean and dirt and dust can build up in behind it that you cant see , 20 minutes and you can take it out to clean , also make sure the net knife and net catcher are ok and mind your hands aswell ,you net to set the net brake tension in a way that if you were baling hay that the baler would start netting before the bale is fully formed and then tension the brake till this stops , also on the net idler wheel that connects the belt to start the two rollers that the net goes between this idler is also connected to the net brake and this needs to be set right , i have mine set up that i can put any make of net into it and it nets all the time , its the same as any machine all to do with setting it up right to work
    pm if you want further info on it

have ours 11 yr now and shes gettin shook. Going to need new chains around the chamber i think. There banging the whole time even though there at the right tension. The last two years the net wont spread out gets stuck in the two little black rollers in the front. Have to put diesel on them the whole time

i have two here a 3 year old and the other one is 7 , the main chain around the chamber have lenghted a bit on you over time its not to big of a job to build a new chain into it let the whole tension of the main chain and tie 3 or 4 of the bars together leaving you to build the new chain in between it and keep going round it till your done , i think 900 euro is the price of a new chain with new bearings , as for the net not spreading the black rollers on the net spreader bar wear and need to be replaced with new bearings

So i shouldn't need to put in a whole new chain just shorten it?
    Tryed taking iff them black rollers before but couldnt figure out how to take em off

So i shouldn't need to put in a whole new chain just shorten it?
    Tryed taking iff them black rollers before but couldnt figure out how to take em off

i have heard of lads shorting the chain but i would fit a new one , i also heard that the main chain is a big mess to get back out if it was to break it all falls back into the chamber , teleportor needed to get it back out
    i think you need to take the whole spreader bar out to get the black rollers off , i ll check in the morning for ya ,

i have heard of lads shorting the chain but i would fit a new one , i also heard that the main chain is a big mess to get back out if it was to break it all falls back into the chamber , teleportor needed to get it back out
    i think you need to take the whole spreader bar out to get the black rollers off , i ll check in the morning for ya ,

ye you would cause some damage if it broke. 900e aint bad to spend on a baler that has never gave me any trouble if i can keep her to do my own stuff. Ye we had the whole netting unit out of the baler.

I think we used a wire pullers once to pull the chains together once in a krone when the main chain snapped one day

ye you would cause some damage if it broke. 900e aint bad to spend on a baler that has never gave me any trouble if i can keep her to do my own stuff. Ye we had the whole netting unit out of the baler.

when you do the main chain you have one third of the baler reconditioned
    there is bearings on the wee silver and black rollers that the net runs through but they only kept the two rollers tight together

when you do the main chain you have one third of the baler reconditioned
    there is bearings on the wee silver and black rollers that the net runs through but they only kept the two rollers tight together

ye if i did that and put new wear plates in the chamber she'd be grand. Ye i think its just those two little black rollers is my problem if i can get them off

i would have to replace the wear plates every other season inside the chamber ,as for the net not spreading replace the black rollers and if its not any better it can be (but not too often ) the net brake releasing to early at the time the bale starts to net and it pulls the net a bit too quick at the start and it can get to spread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭himwdah

with the chamber open, look in and see if there is grass stuck between the plate above the net feed in and the spiral roller, i find that stops mine netting edge to egde. if grass is stuck there it can restict the net as it is feed in, i have to adjust once a year normally, easy enough done.

go to side of baler and lift the net knife rod that follows the halfmoon guide beside the net motor, it is the flat with the bearing on it, lift it fully to lower the knife done.

inside chamber see that the knife is down and feel up behind the allan key head bolts for 12mm nuts, remove the bolts and plate i normall remove it to clean it up with a flap disc.

replace plate as close as possible to the spiral roll, i mean rubbing it is about right, closer the better as it acts as scissors cutting the grass that was caught. easy job after the first time- 15mins tops

u could do worse than download a pdf manual for it to get the neting setting

i oil the roller bearings with the oil can it keeps them free in dry conditions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Changed the two bearings in each black roller on the spreader bar for the net. Was looking at the other two rollers thus morning that pull the net through. Would these need bearings too?

i think u mean the silver roller , i am just after doing all the bearings on both rollers and the two small rollers on the black rollers aswell , u have to line the pully on the black roller up first before u put a pullers on it , if u have the net break set to go off right at the start of netting the baler will net grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

i think u mean the silver roller , i am just after doing all the bearings on both rollers and the two small rollers on the black rollers aswell , u have to line the pully on the black roller up first before u put a pullers on it , if u have the net break set to go off right at the start of netting the baler will net grand

Ye them are the two rollers I'm on about.
    I'm lost :) what should I do?