Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget Build September/October

• 16-09-2013 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭

Hi guys, I'm hoping to build my first PC over the next couple of months and was hoping you guys could help me out.

1. What is your budget? [€400-600]

2. What will be the main purpose of the computer? Gaming mainly, with usual stuff like movies etc. on occasion. Games such as Rome Total War 2, and other MMORPGs and FPS such as new Battlefield etc.

3. Do you need a copy of Windows? Not sure, may be able to get one

4. Can you use any parts from an old computer? Possibly but I don't know how good these are. The current PC is a self-build and I think it was good enough spec. at the time

5. Do you need a monitor? Possibly, current one is pretty good but will post specifics later on to see if you think it's any good.

5b. If no, what resolution is your current monitor and do you plan to upgrade in the near future?
    I think it's 1920x1080

6. Do you need any of these peripherals? I will need all essentials. I have speakers already. Suggested models of gaming keyboards etc. I can maybe keep for future acquisition.

7. Are you willing to try overclocking? I don't know a lot about it but would be open to trying it if it is considered a good option

8. How can you pay? Any way

9. When are you purchasing? Soon, over the next couple of months

10. If you need help building it, where are you based? Waterford City

Thanks lads, looking forward to seeing your suggestions, there are so many parts available, it's hard to know what way to go!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 148 ✭✭bezerk

Better off asking a week or so before your buying but heres a build to get started.

Item|Price
    AMD FX-6300 Prozessor, Boxed, Sockel AM3+|€98.98
    WD Caviar Blue 1TB 6Gb's|€54.81
    Super-Flower Amazon 80Plus 450W|€45.88
    8GB-Kit G.Skill PC3-10667U CL9-9-9-24|€63.09
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660Ti OC, 2GB GDDR5, 2x DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort|€199.90
    ASRock 970 Pro3 R2.0, AM3+, ATX|€61.72
    BitFenix Merc Alpha|€33.19
    Shipping|€18.99
    Total|€576.56

Could add a decent cooler and SSD down the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Slksht

Nice one! I know it's better to ask as you're buying but I won't have all the money at the one time. If I were to add peripherals, have you any suggestions of good ones?

Just found an 8350 for 127 excl. shipping from Tigerdirect. What would ye think of the extra 20 for that? Seems like a serious price?

What peripherals do you need? Don't really know whats the best keyboard, mouse etc. 8320 has two extra cores which games are not making use of at the moment but if you have the money I'd pay the extra 20.

Cooler for when you plan on overclocking.

SSD

You could go with a better case in the build as well. If your budget is only 600 then the above PC is perfectly fine and will be able to overclock the processor to around 4ghz on the stock cooler. The above PC will max out any game currently available.

If I use that SSD, which is the one I was looking at coincidentally, can I connect my WD external HDD through the usb ports as a permanent drive ye? Get all the benefits of the SSD but not be hampered by the potential shortage of memory?

Slksht wrote: »
    If I use that SSD, which is the one I was looking at coincidentally, can I connect my WD external HDD through the usb ports as a permanent drive ye? Get all the benefits of the SSD but not be hampered by the potential shortage of memory?

You could but it would not be too good, better off with an internal one

If I were to upgrade on the case, which one would be likely to suggest? One of the beQuiet models?

Something like this

Merc Alpha is a grand small enough case all the same. heres a review