Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Low is less fun ?

• 16-09-2013 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Lads I haven't played with too many very low handicap guys. So I don't know.

But when you get very low, say 5 or less.

Does it take so much effort and concentration that you cant be having a laugh joking with your playing partners.
    I know it is a generalisation. These lads are perhaps great craic off the course, but are in a zone on it.

So it is a hypothetical question, but are lads that are low less fun or have less fun on the course.

Strange one. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

One of the guys I play with regularly plays off 4. He is a fun guy to play with as he jokes and talks about anything in between shots however as soon as he gets to his ball he 100% focuses on the shot in hand and then forgets it as soon as he hits it.

I guess it depends on the individual and their mental strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Lads I haven't played with too many very low handicap guys. So I don't know.

But when you get very low, say 5 or less.

Does it take so much effort and concentration that you cant be having a laugh joking with your playing partners.
    I know it is a generalisation. These lads are perhaps great craic off the course, but are in a zone on it.

So it is a hypothetical question, but are lads that are low less fun or have less fun on the course.

Strange one. :)

Played with a guy off 1 last week. Was like a relaxing walk through the fields with an occasional stop to hit a ball. Very relaxed - no intensity at all.
    Maybe that's the key - I know I have played some of my best golf when i jsut stopped caring :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

On a couple (and only a couple) of occasions I have played with a Cat 1 player who moaned, sighed & whinged his way around. All of the above-mentioned complaining centred around how unfair the handicapping system was & how many bandidos were rustling from his (herd) handicap. Thank Jaysus there are only 18 holes.

Generally speaking the Cat 1's are of the kind that can control themselves better, on & off the course, and maybe that's part of the reason they are Cat 1's.

If you want to play a round with a someone who obsesses on golf & everything to do with it, try playing with a 'improving' 16 handicapper !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Yeah, I'd say most of the very low guys I've played with are good company on the course. Oftentimes the lower they are the better company they are. Maybe its they're more comfortable in their own skin and with their own game or something.

I played a Barton Cup match a few years ago against a guy off +2 who played something like 40 times for Ireland and he was absolutely great company on the course. He was guiding his 16 h/cap partner around and was happy to chat away.

Mind you I've played with some right knobs too, but not so many at the really low handicap range now that I think about it. As a very general observation from my experience, the intense, "in the zone" guys tend to be, say from 4 to 8 handicap but think they should be off 2, whereas the 1 to 3 handicap guys tend to be less so and they just "play". Not a whole lot of difference between a 5 and a 2, maybe that's it - the low guys let it flow a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I find the lower they are the more likely they are to focus 1-2 mins before and during the shot, after that its all gravy.

I find the higher guys either try to focus for 4 hours or dont concentrate once, I try to avoid either type, but especially the zero concentration guys, because, no, I dont want to chat about united once Im standing over the ball, and I dont want to hear you chat either. If Im over the ball, or about to be over the ball, or clearly trying to shut you out then shut the hell up.

/end rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭TrapperChamonix

I played with a 5 hc on Sunday.

I was having a mare. Shots all over the place and constantly looking for my ball.
    On the other hand he was playing really well and was obviously in contention. It should have been a recipe for him getting pissed off because my golf must have been distracting him.
    Through out it all he was terrific company and good fun. Even having the good grace to tell me how unlucky I'd been on various shots and holes. When he knew it wasn't luck at all.

I've never been so happy to see someone win as I'd hate to have thought that my faffing about all day would have cost him the win. Mind you he needed the 20ft put on the 18th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I have to say this has been a nice surprise, low lads coming out well. Ok they need that time for the shot.

They are not odd balls.

joking, so there is hope for me when i get to 5 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

I have to say this has been a nice surprise, low lads coming out well. Ok they need that time for the shot.

They are not odd balls.

joking, so there is hope for me when i get to 5 :D

Nah you're fooked....you'd be working on a sonnet for every shot you hit ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I've played with lots of low men over the years, a +2, a couple of 1's, 2's and 3's. Don't see any noticeable difference in enjoyment levels. In my experience a lot of people around the 11/12 mark who can obviously play a bit but maybe lack consistency or make dumb choices are the most volatile.

I played with a 2.something a few weeks ago. We had a bit of a laugh. He was in contention and I knew this round meant a lot… but he was carefree between shots, you couldn't have guessed whether he was under par or had already N/R'd as we walked around.

But once it was time to play, I watched him closely... man. That was a lesson and a half. The closer we got to the hole the higher his concentration gauge. It was unreal to watch him over chips/pitches putts. Eyes darting all over the place, checking the lie, few practice shots, look at where it’s landing, stand back, visualise, study… then into the ball, stitch! Sure, he berates himself after a bad shot (by his standards), he wasn't a robot, but it's done then and the next one gets even more attention as it matters more.

Really was an eye opener. Not only does he clearly have an edge talent wise, but when it comes to concentration and effort, worlds apart. I thought I was ok focus wise & was a trier... but on reflection, I was miles away during the round.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I've played with a few low lads, one of them threw his clubs a few times after bad shots but sure I'm just as bad :pac:

For me they know they can the play the shots and that's why they can relax more, yes they get in the zone etc but when you are 200 yards out and grabbing your 5i to make a par 5 in two it's easy to relax...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I've played with a few low lads, one of them threw his clubs a few times after bad shots but sure I'm just as bad :pac:

For me they know they can the play the shots and that's why they can relax more, yes they get in the zone etc but when you are 200 yards out and grabbing your 5i to make a par 5 in two it's easy to relax...

Don't agree necessarily. They have only got a couple of holes where a Bogey doesn't mean 1pt. If anything it's harder as there is no margin for error. Double Bogey in a Medal due to a bad hop and you're shots are as good as gone.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

High/Low, no difference, all to do with the person and not their golf capability

Mr. Larson wrote: »
    Don't agree necessarily. They have only got a couple of holes where a Bogey doesn't mean 1pt. If anything it's harder as there is no margin for error. Double Bogey in a Medal due to a bad hop and you're shots are as good as gone.

True however low guys are more likely to get birdies to get those shots back.

TRS30 wrote: »
    True however low guys are more likely to get birdies to get those shots back.
    Indeed... and you don't get Birdies by faffing about. Takes no small measure of concentration and focus. They certainly aren't easy!

Mr. Larson wrote: »
    Indeed... and you don't get Birdies by faffing about. Takes no small measure of concentration and focus. They certainly aren't easy!

Very true. I think the one thing that has come out of most of the replies is the ability of low guys to focus at the correct times and forget bad shots.

Something I really need to work on!!