Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Races to do before you die?

• 16-09-2013 12:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

Is there any particular race out there that you would like to do before you die? Does not have to be a big city marathon like New York etc as everyone knows about these, more like the less heard scenic marathons that I would like to hear more about :)

For example, I think this looks pretty cool:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4y9By9GPDc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Yes, I'd love to do the 1500m in the Olympic final before I die!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

not technically a running (well human running) race, but if I was indepentantly wealthy I'd take a couple of years and train for the iditarod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

I want to do the Comrades marathon before I'm 40. Set the goal about 6 years ago, and I've 9 years left to arrange it. I want to hopefully do it when I'm at lifetime peak fitness in order to get a silver medal. Despite setting the goal around 6 years ago, I've done absolutely nothing to make it anywhere closer to being achievable.

The Marathon du Medoc is probably the other one I'd absolutely love to do. It'd take some seriously impressive pacing to reach the end of it and still be upright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

pconn062 wrote: »
    I'm with you there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

not technically a running (well human running) race, but if I was indepentantly wealthy I'd take a couple of years and train for the iditarod

Yes would love to do this too and seeing that Seavey is the current champ at 53 I have around 15 years before I can give up on the dream!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 stirwell

NOOB ALERT!! :eek:
    Not that i'm anywhere near the fitness but for me it would have to be the comrades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭hypersonic

A track 10k, I have modest ambitions. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Lads, if you want to enter the Comrades just go for it!! And if you have an ambitious target like getting the silver medal, presume you're going to enter it at least twice... Once for the experience of "learning" the race, and once to apply that knowledge to get your target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

I have to agree with Enduro regarding Comrades. It was my first ultra, I was woefully under prepared for it but I got around and wouldn't change a thing about it.

The great thing about Comrades is the entry requirements should be attainable for most and you should be able to get an entry most years without many hoops to jump through.

As for my dream races, I probably have 3 in mind.

UTMB: I just need to get my ass in gear for that one.

Wicklow Way: Be nice to think in a few years it will be established enough that I can race it myself.

Something polar: Not sure yet, but something multi-day and cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

UTMB/CCC

Wicklow Way (Full Route)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

pconn062 wrote: »

I'd be happy just to run one lap of an Olympic stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭corkrunner71

Would love to be in a position to do western states or utmb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Once I stop racing for times I will look to the bucket list of ones I just wanna tick off the list;

Niagra falls marathon
    Comrades
    Great Wall Marathon
    Empire states run up
    Irish 24hr championship
    Marathon des Sables
    North Pole Marathon
    Everest Marathon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

ecoli wrote: »
    Once I stop racing for times I will look to the bucket list of ones I just wanna tick off the list;

Niagra falls marathon
    Comrades
    Great Wall Marathon
    Empire states run up
    Irish 24hr championship
    Marathon des Sables
    North Pole Marathon
    Everest Marathon

Very similar to mine, though I'd strike out the Empire States, and reluctantly MdS as well as the missus informed me that the divorce papers would be awaiting me on my return if I ever signed up for that one. :rolleyes:

I'd replace them with the Spartathlon and Badwater (and I've already done the Irish 24hr championship :) )

Actually, I might add a few more destination marathons like Avenue of Giants or Big Sur and the likes as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I want to do the Comrades marathon before I'm 40. Set the goal about 6 years ago, and I've 9 years left to arrange it. I want to hopefully do it when I'm at lifetime peak fitness in order to get a silver medal. Despite setting the goal around 6 years ago, I've done absolutely nothing to make it anywhere closer to being achievable.

The Marathon du Medoc is probably the other one I'd absolutely love to do. It'd take some seriously impressive pacing to reach the end of it and still be upright.

Combining 2 of my passions......although the beer mile didn't work out too well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

Comrades and CCC are the only two essentials for me. Though I know if I did well in CCC, I would be obsessed with completing the full UTMB, and if I finished that, I would have to do Spartathlon.

Also want to do the two big US city marathons - New York and Boston - but more for the atmosphere than the challenge and happy to jog around the course at a time in life when that's all I can manage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I watched a 30 mins highlight show of Transvulcania last week and it has now jumped to the top of my list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

belcarra wrote: »
    I watched a 30 mins highlight show of Transvulcania last week and it has now jumped to the top of my list!

Hoping to do this. The logistics are a pain tho.

I was in Bordeaux at the same time as the marathon de medoc. Spoke to a few runners, not one of them was sober. A met a few in a bar the night before who were langered. Seems its a massive piss up for the whole weekend. Met some afterward who....you get the picture!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

In no particular order:
    G2E because we could do with a weekend away and Edinburgh is a great city break for the missus. She can spend the day shopping while I spend the day running.
    Zugspitz Ultra Trail Similar to above, would make a nice short break, maybe a family holiday in Bavaria. I'm sure she would understand if I disappeared for a day or two.
    South-West Coast Path 100 I'd like to check this one out myself, again could couple with a family holiday bringing the car over.

I had a leaning towards Sparthalon but not too sure, like the idea but serious commitment required and logistically hard with a young family.

Western States, simply because of what it is, I'm sure if I looked around there are other lower-key events that might tick more of my boxes.
    Obviously I would also like another (few) cracks at Kerry Way Ultra.
    Also spotted this last week, looks a gem, currently trying to decide if it's good value, herself saying no...:D
    Transylvania Trail

Big City Marathons not on my Radar, but never say never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭clear thinking

This 220k Colorado Ultra is my 40th birthday present. All of it above 9000'.

http://www.beyondtheultimate.co.uk/mountain-ultra.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Just ran a qualifying race for the western states 100 last weekend, so will see how the draw goes!! I picked the race, Headlands 50, according to where I was headed on holidays but it was pretty special in it's own right. It was along the Pacific Crest trails of Marin County in San Fran...spectacular and highly recommended.

Would love to take on the WW solo next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

...Never mind your long distance, foreign fields runs...There's something special on your own doorstep: Eagle AC's 4M Cheetah Run, Thursday May 15th 2014.

Stunning scenery, run with the animals!

Europe's only race through a zoo!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCX70PpEoQ4 (as seen on ITV, Fox News and Good Morning America)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GarCgB74Dog

Cost just €12 (2013), chip timed, 50% of proceeds went to charity. Where are ya goin' with that bargain....put it on your calendar.

Condo131 wrote: »
    Stunning scenery, run with the animals!

Anytime you run with Aimman you run with the animals!!
    (Granted scenery leaves a lot to be desired though...):pac:

sideswipe wrote: »
    Just ran a qualifying race for the western states 100 last weekend, so will see how the draw goes!! I picked the race, Headlands 50, according to where I was headed on holidays but it was pretty special in it's own right. It was along the Pacific Crest trails of Marin County in San Fran...spectacular and highly recommended.

Any sign of a race report K?
    The North Face Ultra goes on in the same area in December which could be another good one to do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

Great thread! I've never heard of half of these races.... Getting lots of ideas :D

The Tor Des Geants race sounds epic. 330km with a time limit of 150 hours. Basically a week of running around the Italian Alps. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tor_des_Géants

Pikes Peak marathon in Colorado sounds great. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pikes_Peak_Marathon

Re the UTMB. As far as I know, it’s relatively easy to do it yourself. There is plenty of accommodation along the route, so you can run 20/30/40km a day and spread it over a few days. There’s dinner included in a lot of them (and wine/beer). Hikers do it in around 7 days. Make a great running holiday. Boards road trip anyone ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    The Tor Des Geants race sounds epic. 330km with a time limit of 150 hours. Basically a week of running around the Italian Alps. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tor_des_Géants

Pikes Peak marathon in Colorado sounds great. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pikes_Peak_Marathon

Re the UTMB. As far as I know, it’s relatively easy to do it yourself. There is plenty of accommodation along the route, so you can run 20/30/40km a day and spread it over a few days. There’s dinner included in a lot of them (and wine/beer). Hikers do it in around 7 days. Make a great running holiday. Boards road trip anyone ;)

This kind of thing (multi-day, non-competitive scenic mountain run) really appeals. I used to go hiking every year in the Alps, really miss it.

Great idea nerraw.
    What are the options for transferring your non-running baggage from place to place?

Yeah really appeals to me too. A bit more relaxed and time to take in the views.
    There’s a great post on irunfar by a couple of runners who ran a route around the Italian dolomites carrying very limited gear, basically clothes and a few gels.

No sleeping bags etc. There's a pic of the gear at the end of the post.

http://www.irunfar.com/2013/07/opening-the-route-a-running-adventure-through-the-italian-dolomites.html

There is no doubt that that would be do-able,staying in the huts. Personally I think the Italian huts are the best. I did a few days walking in the Dolomites going hut to hut a few years ago (broken arm, so original mountain biking idea was a no-no), and it was fab. The hut network is incredibly dense there. Seemed to come accross one every hour or two even at walking pace. And I've never come accross an Italian hut that didn't have a well stocked bar, no matter how remote!

Most huts are half board (i.e. dinner + breakfast) as standard. Not exactly gormet food, but prefectly acceptable considering you don't need to lug it about the mountains. You don't need to bring sleeping gear either. So you can run relatively light as long as you don't need to change clothes every day (and you're not going to like the whole mountain hut experience if you do... likewise if yo think you'll need baggage transported for you).

The UTMB runs along a classic long distance walking route, so it's easily do-able as a multi-day run. It also goes through quite a few towns/villages, so I would presume there would be even more accomodation options.

Back OT... My current thinking on next year is that I'll give the Tor De Geants a go. I had originally planned on doing it this year, but opted for the UTMB again instead. Generally if there's a race I want to do before I die then I'm already planning on when I'll enter it. The only one that I have on the longer term (i.e definitly ruled out from doing it next year) would be the Sri Chimnoy 3100 mile race, which is the longest running race in the world AFAIK. That'll take a bit more planning, at the least, given the holidays required etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Any sign of a race report K?
    The North Face Ultra goes on in the same area in December which could be another good one to do!

Will post up something in the race report thread and link here when I'm back from my travels. T'was quite a dramatic race for for me- food poisoning 2 days out, wrong turns at 48 miles adding 3 extra miles and and additional 800 feet of climbing onto of the scheduled 10,000 ft, dropped iPhone etc etc!! It felt more like a race to do and then die rather than a race to do before you die!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

was scheduled to run at the Caballo Blanco Ultra in Urique, Mexico this year but things fell apart in real life. Two friends ran it and both did not make it. Place is run by drugs cartel and a lot of militia around which made them uneasy, think they are going to try again next year. don't have a huge interest in big city marathons as my energy would be drained before I even started the race! will see when I get my first 100 out of the way next year. Maybe Ice Age Trail in southern Wisconsin, attracts an elite field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

Sub 2:10 in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 nailer76

I would highly recommend this i completed the T141 last month and will hopefully return to it again next year

http://www.irontrail.ch/news-irontrails-1.phtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

The Comrades marathon was first run on May 24 1921. On that day my father was born so it would be an obvious one for me. He's 92 now so maybe I'll run it when they're both 100!

I also watched the UTMB on Eurosport recently and all I could think was 'I want to go'.

Its not a race but would love to do Malin to Mizen someday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭n-dawg

One that was on my list for years but I've now done twice was the Jura Fell race
    http://www.jurafellrace.org.uk/

New additions to my list are:
    1) Scottish Islands Peak Race
    http://www.scottishislandspeaksrace.com/
    2) ö till ö
    http://www.otillo.se/
    3) Celtman
    www.cxtri.com/
    4) A well paced 800m... (I always either finish fresh or blow up after 600, just cant get this distance right)
    5) As others have said, marathon du medoc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭grahamor

Le Marathon du Medoc - 42 kilometres, 23 glasses of wine :D

www.marathondumedoc.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Donadea 50km

I have not received a gratitude payment for this comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

A different direction perhaps, and not a specific race as such, but an event to do before you die would be a decathlon. The two I have done in the Victorian Championships have been easily the most enjoyable moments I have had in athletics. 2 full days with the same 19-20 guys, who genuinely want to see each other do well, offer advice, and just generally have the craic. I haven't seen this in any other event in this, at times, very every man for himself type sport. Real camaraderie and I've made a few good friendships through the decathlon.

I've a low key one coming up in a couple of weeks and already excited about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Just thought of one for middle distance runners:
    New York 5th Avenue Mile

Officially on the bucket list.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    2 full days with the same 19-20 guys, who genuinely want to see each other do well, offer advice, and just generally have the craic. I haven't seen this in any other event in this, at times, very every man for himself type sport. Real camaraderie and I've made a few good friendships through the decathlon.

Now you're starting to get an idea of what ultra-running is like (And that's a genuine comment, just in case you think I'm trying to be a smart-alec)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Its not a race but would love to do Malin to Mizen someday

Oh, it is/was a race :o Expensive!