Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so when ye cutting the maize

• 16-09-2013 11:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭

As the title says and thought you could tell how crop preformed to other years and difference in yields across the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

about 3 weeks, and thats an early grain variety, wont cut till well over 30%dm. Crop looks good to anyone wanting a tall bulky crop of crap but cobs just are not in the crop. Most plants with 2 and lots with 3 which is a disaster. I consider my crop wont do over 3 ton of maize grain if dried. Last years crop was better on our land anyway, we just didnt get the good weather that most other on here got. Thankfully we didnt put in a much maize as originally planned as the dried maize price was cheaper at planting than growing it so covered our asses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

about 3 weeks, and thats an early grain variety, wont cut till well over 30%dm. Crop looks good to anyone wanting a tall bulky crop of crap but cobs just are not in the crop. Most plants with 2 and lots with 3 which is a disaster. I consider my crop wont do over 3 ton of maize grain if dried. Last years crop was better on our land anyway, we just didnt get the good weather that most other on here got. Thankfully we didnt put in a much maize as originally planned as the dried maize price was cheaper at planting than growing it so covered our asses.

A lot of the lads down here that set early this year under the plastic got a right doing with slugs. Lads that set later are doing very well. That said I'm just looking over the ditches haven't walked any. One of my friends sat 7 acres for himself but ended selling a fair chunk of his stock during the summer. Maize was excess so he sold it. Got 7k for it back in July as a standing crop, must have looked very promising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Neighbour got his in yday, earlier I've heard of maize getting cut, it was under plastic though.

going to have to cut in the next 7 days as I have plenty of leaning maize with chemical damage, will be around 35% dm, its an early grain variety so more advance that most of the bulky yielders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Going at ours first thing in the morning
    Plenty of bulk but not overly impressed with the cob size and grain fill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

2 different farms cut theirs yesterday down here all under plastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

is it that when the plant grows two or three cobs does it mean that these cobs have less feed value that a plant that grows only one cob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

have never grown maize here, would 5 or 6 acres be too small to get a contractor to do, without him charging extra for the small amount of ground

main reason for small amount is that i want to suss out how it suits the land first before you plant alot of it, it would be an expensive mistake if i planted say 15 or 20 acres and it failed or was very bad !

ground is dry with deep brown soil, am about 90 -100m above sea level, but im not on a mountain or a hill or anything like that, land has a slight south west slope

6480 wrote: »
    is it that when the plant grows two or three cobs does it mean that these cobs have less feed value that a plant that grows only one cob

One cob per plant is all thats desired and one cob will return the most energy per plant/ac. Bloody plants this year with 3 cobs, usually plants increase cobs if under stress at that phase
    have never grown maize here, would 5 or 6 acres be too small to get a contractor to do, without him charging extra for the small amount of ground

main reason for small amount is that i want to suss out how it suits the land first before you plant alot of it, it would be an expensive mistake if i planted say 15 or 20 acres and it failed or was very bad !

ground is dry with deep brown soil, am about 90 -100m above sea level, but im not on a mountain or a hill or anything like that, land has a slight south west slope

grow wheat, maize is only suited to the very best of land or else you will have disappointing crops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

going to have to cut in the next 7 days as I have plenty of leaning maize with chemical damage, will be around 35% dm, its an early grain variety so more advance that most of the bulky yielders

how was it damaged Bob?

are you going for ground ear silage or normal stuff?

how was it damaged Bob?

are you going for ground ear silage or normal stuff?

chemical damage affects the top root in maize. Maize has main bottom root and a kinda anchor root up top to give it stability. If you over do it with a post emergence often the top root gets weakened. Big wind around here maybe 2 weeks ago and some of the plants are leaning sideways. Cue birds decided to take a look at what is going on and now you have these shaggers aswell and they will do serious damage to maize. It is just going for forage this year as I have plenty of concentrate and not that much forage

pic of top root
    http://passel.unl.edu/Image/siteImages/CornRootsCBLG.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

leg wax wrote: »
    2 different farms cut theirs yesterday down here all under plastic

Is that counting the lad who was going to sell all?

You're too high speaking from my own experience. I've seen good crops grown no more than a few hundred yards from my ground and the only difference was height. As with bob grow wheat you'll do ok every year. Failing that rent some ground well below the height of your own.

We went to a local pub on Fri for the dinner. A couple of lads working for a local contractor came in.The oul lad asked them had they any maize cut. "Nah the weather is too good at the mo', there'll no-one cut until it gets good and sloppy" was the reply. He was dead on fierce scatter yesterday after the rain on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Is that counting the lad who was going to sell all?
    yes ger

leg wax wrote: »
    yes ger

Ya got me:D:D:D:D.

Freedominacup might have to bite the dust:eek::eek:

cut last monday, reckon about 21t/ac more than i had budgeted for, so happy enough, will be more so when i see some results.
    put westerwolds in straight after it, closed the gate on the fields that evening.

everyone cuts a 20t crop of maize at 30dm 30starch. You would think from the talk that you never see a poor crop of maize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

everyone cuts a 20t crop of maize at 30dm 30starch. You would think from the talk that you never see a poor crop of maize

rented tillage ground in 2010 and put in 20 ac of maize got a really nice even crop cut it about the 10/15 oct cant rem the variety "think" it was schumi what ever it was was ment to be a middle of the road for both quality and bulk every expert that seen it reckoned 20 ton+ an acre weighed every single load and it came in at......................................................................................................................................................................... 14.6 ton/ac:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: mid 30s DM/Starch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

loveta wrote: »
    rented tillage ground in 2010 and put in 20 ac of maize got a really nice even crop cut it about the 10/15 oct cant rem the variety "think" it was schumi what ever it was was ment to be a middle of the road for both quality and bulk every expert that seen it reckoned 20 ton+ an acre weighed every single load and it came in at......................................................................................................................................................................... 14.6 ton/ac:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: mid 30s DM/Starch

do you still sow it?

loveta wrote: »

Experts in their field. weighing loads soon put manners of fellows. its easy get 25t if cutting at 25% Dm, Cut and 35% dry matter and you are down to 16tons.

I was that the demo maize today and they were of the opinion that there was a super crop of maize in the field. I taught differently and it wasnt much better than what I have growing myself which I think is a mediocre crop myself

Pic 1 - Tekni plastic
    Pic 2 - Award plastic
    Pic 3 - Cathy plastic

Pic 4 - Good old justina plastic
    Pic 5 - Beethoven grown in the open
    Pic 6 - Adept grown in the open

Product placement is shown in these pictures !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

looks like a hybrid bob.... what did you cross it with to get the packets of gum to grow off it?!! :pac: God you must have your hands always in your pockets or you've a great nail brush!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

Pic 4 - Good old justina plastic
    Pic 5 - Beethoven grown in the open
    Pic 6 - Adept grown in the open

Product placement is shown in these pictures !!

have you many acres of maize bob?

how do you rate sown in the open crop?

how high above sea level are you and are you west or east of the shannon?

or are you in the south munster area

sure it would probably cost half as much in the open would it? because you'd be able seed it yourself?

Muckit wrote: »
    looks like a hybrid bob.... what did you cross it with to get the packets of gum to grow off it?!! :pac: God you must have your hands always in your pockets or you you've a great nail brush!!

It was either a packet of gum or else whip out me ....... to compare :D it was a family day out so decided the first option was best ;)

have you many acres of maize bob?

how do you rate sown in the open crop?

how high above sea level are you and are you west or east of the shannon?

or are you in the south munster area

sure it would probably cost half as much in the open would it? because you'd be able seed it yourself?

will have just over 30 ac's going into the pit. Took the option last may just before planting to buy maize meal as it was the same price (energy for energy ) for this winter instead of planting the more acres.

If you have loads of acres open maize is grand and the last crops I had were in 2010, costing around 500 an acre including rent, planted myself with grain drill. Maize nowadays is costing around €900 ac under plastic incl land charge

at most 50ft above sea level, might only be 20ft I havnt a exact idea, and south of the Shannon

plastic hasnt gone up much in price compared to the inflation that has happened say barley and wheat. It stacked up when barley was €120t so it definitely stacks up at €180 for barley. Planted early in super fertile sites results in big crops. But soil fertility has to be 110% spot on

Only back growing for the last 2 years previously bought it all weighed into the pit very few crops made it past 20t/ac much to the growers disappointment
    This year only budgeted for 17t but was just over 20 looked one of the better crops around
    We have been at maize 25-30 yrs and seen some disasters of years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

case 5150 wrote: »
    do you still sow it?

No. Its just to chance e with the weather and it is not cheap to grow, I think there is not much difference in concentrate when you allow for all the variables but you know what you have