Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Small short term investment?

• 15-09-2013 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭

Hi all, total novice here so any advice welcome.

I would like to invest a small amount arround €2k in shares preferrably short term.

I know this is tiny to most brokers so who do you reccomend?
    After looking at a few online it seems difficult to findout what fees, charges and taxes are.

I had been thinking BOI or BOI/AIB 50/50.

Does anyone use a share price app?

James

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

jamesbil wrote: »

I would like to invest a small amount arround €2k in shares preferrably short term.

After looking at a few online it seems difficult to findout what fees, charges and taxes are.

James

jaysus stay well away from aib its 99% owned by one shareholder and I would not be a huge fan of boi at its current levels, also shares are a long term investment not a short term investment as the entry/exit charges will eat away any profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭jamesbil

thanks for that, any reccomendations as to who to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Read the BOI forum. BOI as an investment will be for the long term.

As the previous poster said fees, commissions, interest will eat up your profit. so its has to be long term.

If you are thinking hard about it, investing in BOI has a good risk - reward ratio again more preferable in the long term.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I wouldn't say you have to be long term. If you are looking for a short term profit, then get with a broker that will allow you to invest in the US and then make your plays around earnings. Another play would be pharmaceuticals going through FDA approval.
    If you catch the right swing then you are on a winner. Trade options and just go long calls or puts and you will know exactly what you are risking to lose each time.
    Just be willing to lose your money.If this is $2k that won't kill you to lose then go for it, but if you need it for the mortgage, take the advice of the lads above. You have to balance your time frame with your risk sensitivity.
    Good luck!

Thanks,
    I am in the fortunate position to be able to afford it, only reason I am looking to do it really.
    Reason I was looking at BOI is reading old threads when BOI was at 8.5c and lots of people saying not worth the risk, now a year later its at 21c. 147% increace I would have thought to be pretty good in as short a time as a year.
    However likely this is to happen again is another question. I would not expect that sort of increase.

Who are you using for online? Any apps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

With 2K ,a spreadbetting account is the way i'd go,2K is enough to start trading a small portfolio,with about 10 shares in it.
    Risking 50% per share is madness,unless your just doing this for a flutter.
    By using s/b ,you could trade 15/20k worth of shares (with a 10% guaranteed s/l) ,and the most you could lose is your 2K.
    Take a step back,do a little research ,as I said ,2K is enough for a small portfolio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭lucky john

With 2K ,a spreadbetting account is the way i'd go,2K is enough to start trading a small portfolio,with about 10 shares in it.
    Risking 50% per share is madness,unless your just doing this for a flutter.
    By using s/b ,you could trade 15/20k worth of shares (with a 10% guaranteed s/l) ,and the most you could lose is your 2K.
    Take a step back,do a little research ,as I said ,2K is enough for a small portfolio.

Jamesbil, if you are in this for a bit of a thrill, have a bit of time on your hands and want a 2000 euro education in share trading then arrowloopboy suggeestion is the way to go. Its not for the faint hearted though and I'm guessing by your original post you knowledge of shares is fairly low.

Buying shares in BoI is a bit of a step above s/b. If you look back far enough at posts on them here you will see posters tipping them as a good bet all the from 12 euro down to 8cent. If you have read all the posts you will know the risks involved as well. Its still not certain where these will end up but on a positive its unlikely that they will be nationalised so at least you won't loose all your money and over time would have a chance to recover it.

BoI might be what suits you best. Their volatile enough to keep you interested and have potential in the short term to make a few euro(maybe). You can buy them fairly easily (cost 60 to 100 euro) to get started and you will have an option to participate in the rights issue later on. If you like the market you can then move on to a dealing account or spread betting but at least you can educate yourself in the mean time.

To be honest this is exactly where I was a few years ago. I brought both BoI and AiB around €1 and €2 respectively, made a nice bit, sold enough so that I was in with only my profit and reinvested my original capital( plus a bit more) in other companies. Unfortunately, I need BoI to get back to 60c (if ever) to get my profit out and I'm not prepared to average down until after this (3rd)rights issue.

To my mind its a great interest and if you are prepared to loose the 2000 euro at least you will have learned something along the way in return.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

I would like to add my question here, for me "short term" means something like a year or shorter.
    Im new to it as well and would actually like to invest in american companies, can do that as a newbie?
    I guess I have to consult a broker for this or can I just sign up online and start?

celica00 wrote: »
    I would like to add my question here, for me "short term" means something like a year or shorter.
    Im new to it as well and would actually like to invest in american companies, can do that as a newbie?
    I guess I have to consult a broker for this or can I just sign up online and start?

ya you can just sign up and off you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

ya you can just sign up and off you go.

any suggestions for trustworthy sites?
    Im currently browsing and only come across irish sites which only seem to do irish companies?

As above, what sites do you recommend?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 uncle_mick

James

don't buy bank of Ireland , its in overbought territory and we are in a period ( September and October ) where markets tend to be weaker

id buy glanbia , dairy markets are very strong , its up nearly 10% in the past week but is still 10% below its all time high , its not a speculative bet unlike irish banks which are presently built on sand

I don't like recommending sites in case things go wrong.

People around here seem to like saxobank but there are plenty out there like http://www.redmayne.co.uk/ or davys

I can vouch for Redmayne/Bentley in the U.K,traded with them for 5 years hassle free,don't rule out spread betting as a method of investing,its not just for headbangers,if you put a little bit of thought into it ,its ideal for short term plays (3/9 mts).I can vouch for IG.
    Look at some other investment forums,theirs a fetish on here for 2 banks and duster drillers:P.
    Have a look to the east,the u.k seems to be recovering a lot better than us,the FTSE 250 would be a good starting place.

Ok, so after looking at alot of trading sites and their charges I have a question.

A few are charging €14.95 or €15 per trade

Does this mean €15 to buy shares then €15 to sell them?

Lets say I buy €100 worth shares, this will then cost €115, when I want to sell them I will be charged another €15.
    This means that to profit shares will have to be sold at over 30% increase to cover €30 cahrges.

Is this correct? Just trying to make it a bit more black and white.

• Site Banned Posts: 16 steve_wonder

Ok, so after looking at alot of trading sites and their charges I have a question.

A few are charging €14.95 or €15 per trade

Does this mean €15 to buy shares then €15 to sell them?

Lets say I buy €100 worth shares, this will then cost €115, when I want to sell them I will be charged another €15.
    This means that to profit shares will have to be sold at over 30% increase to cover €30 cahrges.

Is this correct? Just trying to make it a bit more black and white.

buying 100 euro worth of shares is a waste of time , commission eats up a tonne of your capital

I wouldn't invest any less than a grand

The €100 figure was purely hypothetical for ease of calculating percent..

buying 100 euro worth of shares is a waste of time , commission eats up a tonne of your capital

I wouldn't invest any less than a grand

That's where spread betting might come in.